We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant is not bad, pity about the rest.”
Review of Hotel Christiania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Christiania
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in La Clusaz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one week from 16th March on a package holiday with Crystal Ski. The skiing was good, and the service from Crystal to their usual high standard, but the hotel leaves a very great deal to be desired. There was often no-one at the reception desk and the area itself smelled very strongly of a mixture of toilets, drains, disinfectant and perfumed candles used to mask the other smells. The lift was barely big enough for two people and their luggage (and also smelled) and there was no offer of assistance with luggage. The stairways, like all the public areas except the restaurant, were badly in need of decoration and the stair carpets, where present, were so badly worn as to be dangerous. Our room (15) was fairly clean, but very small, and again in need of decoration. Storage space was just about adequate, but there was nowhere to put damp clothing after a day skiing. The bathroom was extremely small, not even enough room to dry oneself after a shower. Both the toilet pan and washbasin were cracked. The room was very well heated, but the radiator thermostat did not work, so it was impossible to turn the heat down. As a result we had to leave the balcony door open all night. Unfortunately the snow ploughs started work at 3 am, the bottle bank (right outside the window) was emptied at 5 am, and deliveries to the hotel started at 4 am, so we did not get a single night of uninterrupted sleep during the week.

The restaurant was in much better decorative order - we were told by another guest that it had only recently been refurbished after a change of ownership. The buffet breakfast was fine and dinners (we stayed half-board) generally well-presented. There was no choice of menu, although we were offered an alternative on the one occasion we did not want the dish of the day. There was a reasonable selection of wines. Drinks at the bar are extremely expensive and there is no lounge or other area to chill out after a day's skiing.

Overall the ski slopes are excellent but the town is lacking in facilities and the hotel Christiania was very disappointing, even allowing for the fact that it has only 2 stars. We will not be back.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P_and_JF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 131 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked a last minute weekend get away at this hotel and the reviews on tripadvisor are pretty accurate - so we knew what to expect. For 110 euros, it is good enough for a short stay in La Clusaz. Location is very central and if you're lucky you can park your car right outside the hotel.

It does smell really bad as you enter the hotel reception however it thankfully didn't smell in our room!! The bathroom was small but clean and the shower was strong enough with warm water.

Bed was comfortable.

Overall a pleasant stay and we would return for another short break at this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 8 had a terrace, was clean, did not smell and on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandeelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed in Christiania hotel 5th January 2013 for one week with Crystal ski and thoroughly enjoyed our ski week in la clusaz. Our hotel room (room 18 on the 2nd floor) was on the small side but storage sufficient. A few more hooks on the walls would have been helpful. Our bathroom smelt dreadful of drains, which obviously made our bedroom smell awful too,we didnt bother to complain, just opened the French door. The overall state of bathroom,no bath,was tired and in need of attention. The tv was an upto date model, sadly no English channels at all. Wifi connection in room was very poor on my iPad, however much better on our "netbook".

Room was very warm without the use of radiator,had to open balcony door often at night. Mind you this did not help with noise from late night revellers!! Comfortable beds. No safe in rooms.

The maids were excellent, however my partner did find the reception staff a little surly at times (I found them helpful and pleasant).The smell in reception is dreadful, and it goes all the way up the first flight of stairs to where the restaurant is located.

Ski locker room was very small,unfortunately our locker had no lock, reception unwilling to offer us an alternative with a lock ( despite there being available lockers). Reception telling me skis are safe. Sure enough they were safe. More benches under the carport would be helpful. Also the little slope down to the locker area from the road could be gritted,as very icy and slippery.approx 5 min walk to piste area, then a 3min walk over the snow to the gondola.

The half board food was on the whole excellent, breakfast usual continental food, but fresh and plenty. The evening meals were awesome,I don't eat meat and staff were happy to provide fish alternatives. We found table service friendly, efficient staff and good humoured.

We loved la clusaz, ski lifts efficient and pistes were a good mix for all. I'm a nervous intermediate and managed ok. First 4 ski days were sunny, last 2 heavy snow which I found difficult to ski in, visually and technically.moutain restaurants were very good,average Europe prices.
We hired our skis online with snorental before departure, saved us loads of money and they were great skis.

Crystal ski rep Dougal was lovely,however we felt he was a little inexperienced as to the responsibilities expected as a rep ( it was his first season and it did show).

I know this review sounds negative in places, however we would defiantly go back to la clusaz and stay at hotel le christiania again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 18, bathroom is very smelly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were excited to spend a week skiing at La Clusaz (which is a wonderful ski field) but were sorely let down by this hotel. The location of it was good but there are alot of other hotels in the same area so no need to book just for this location. Reception is only open between 9-5 and you cannot get into the hotel without a code! Arrivng there at six pm in the snow we were left knocking on the door for 20 minutes before someone happened to walk by, only to be let into a lobby that smelled like a toilet. The room was small, the bathroom mouldy. Not a pleasant stay would reccommend to other travellers that you go to one of the many other hotels that are situated around this one.

Room Tip: Never stay here. Many other hotels are in the same area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christianialaclusaz, Directeur général at Hotel Christiania, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for the time spent to let us know your feeling about your stay at the hotel Christiania. The quality of service and confort of our guest are one of our priority. So, I'd like first, to appologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay. However, I would like to had some more informations. The reservation department and reception desk are open from 9am to 6pm (sometimes more during week-ends or holidays). But, we are always able to check-in or check out from 7am to 11pm, as the staff of the restaurant of the hotel are in charge to organise check-in and check-out during closing time of the reception desk. As you should have seen on the door of the reception, there is signage inviting you to check-in directly at the Restaurant "Le Bistro" which is located right in the hotel. So the access to the hotel is possible anytime even without code (except during the night of course, from 11pm to 7am, for safety reason). Also, we are the only 2 stars hotel located right in the center of the village and less than 100 meters from the ski lift.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Nice hotel in an excellent location. However, space in the bedrooms was a bit tight.
The staff were very friendly and we would go there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christianialaclusaz, Directeur général at Hotel Christiania, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel Christiania and glad to see that you enjoy your stay with us. We hope to get the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2009

Initially selected this hotel because of its location, the hotel's website was down and we had no information or pictures. But from the first friendly telephone contact with the owner, we knew we had made the right decision. The hotel is very comfortable, rooms though small are modern and well-heated and the breakfast is generous and tasty. Staff are very pleasant and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is ideally situated, only a few minutes walk from the main ski lifts and also just a short walk from some great restaurants and the must visit "Le Grenier" bar. The hotel really fits into the spirit of La Clusaz which is an unpretentious, friendly and laid-back ski resort. We were a party of 5 who had skied in various other resorts in France, Italy and Austria but we are all determined to return to La Clusaz and Hotel Christiania next year.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MargaretWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Choupie_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Clusaz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpen Roc
Hotel Alpen Roc
#4 of 20 in La Clusaz
754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beauregard
Hotel Beauregard
#3 of 20 in La Clusaz
1,271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
#1 of 20 in La Clusaz
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prestige Odalys Le Chamois
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#6 of 20 in La Clusaz
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beaulieu
Hotel Beaulieu
#5 of 20 in La Clusaz
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christiania

Address: 77 route du Col des Aravis, 74220 La Clusaz, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > La Clusaz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in La Clusaz
Price Range: $145 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Christiania 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the village, close to the skilifts, charming hotel of 26 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Christiania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing