We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Long Weekend”
Review of Chalet Le Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Le Dragon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Just got back from a long weekend at Le Dragon. The chalet is lovely. Very well looked after with good rooms, beautiful location, views and of course a great jacuzzi. All coupled with the EXCELLENT service provided by Emma and Matt. Emma and Matt take so much pride in what they do - and unlike some other chalet owners - they do it all! Cooking, cleaning, driving, organising kit and tourist information. We were four adult (arguable) men and two young teenagers. We were very well looked after. The food is excellent, home-made cakes superb - look out for the cheesecake - but the personal relationship and the sheer perfectionism of the hosts really made it outstanding. We had three rooms, one with large en-suite bathroom, one with en-suite shower and one with separate bathroom - all were comfortable, clean and well looked after. The location and views are breathtaking. If you are looking for lively apres-ski, lifts can be arranged to Chatel but we didn't do that as we were too tired! The village is a good 10 minute walk downhill and a tad longer coming back. Great for families who want to focus on skiing (as opposed to apres) and stay in affordable, comfortable accommodation with chalet owners who are genuinley lovely and who take so much pride in what they do. Thanks again Emma, Matt and of course your children!

Adam, Tony, Daniel, Gideon, Ben and Sam

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 164 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2012

Matt and Emmas beautiful Chalet and service they provided was top class and ticked all the boxes.Constant delicious baking of cakes and willingness to run us all to the slopes and times of our choice was amazing and I really felt they wanted us all to have the best time possible.As they live in the Chalet attached next door they are always on hand but you feel able to treat Les Dragons as your home and really relax with the delicious food and drinks.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Thank you Matt and Emma for such an incredible time at the Chalet Le Dragon. We stayed in in a really romantic and confortable room with a really big and confortable bed! The chalet is charming and decorated in a confortable and simple way. There is free wifi and the level of service and commitment from Matt and Emma is really something special. We looked forward to breakfast every morning as well as dinner. Both hosts are excellent cooks. The village is really cozy and it has everything you need: Ski shops, nice restaurants and a lively enough bar/pub. We were there as a couple but also met a fantastic group from England that made our stay even better. They also have good contacts for ski equippment hire and ski lessons. Obrigado, Inês and Bernardo (Portugal)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BernardoDeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We enjoyed our short stay at Matthew and Emma's dragon chalet in June 2011 very much and were delighted with the nice room, particularly the superb beds, the fine meals and the magnificent environment. it invites you to come here and stay for some time in all the seasons.
Our hosts, together with their children, are really wonderful people.
Monika and Werner

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werner B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had great snow and an excellent short break.
Matt & Emma made us very welcome and comfortable. Highlight of the trip was our night out with the group of 4 Americans…I am still smiling now!
Good luck with your endeavour. I am sure it will succeed and we will see you soon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I visited Chalet Le Dragon at the end of September for a much needed break. From the moment I arrived at the chalet, the owners Emma and Matt were so helpful and welcoming. The chalet is very comfortable and offers fantastic mountain views from the bedrooms, living area and balconies. Chapelle D'Abondance is well-known as a skiing and winter sports location but I was really surprised how much it had to offer outside of the main skiing season. I went on many walks directly from the chalet, one of which was to a beautiful waterfall. The weather was really hot...in the 80's....while I was there so I managed to top up my tan too.
Montreux in Switzerland is worth a visit...it's directly on Lake Geneva with a lovely chateau. Also worth visiting is the mediaeval village of Yvoire which was very quirky with cobbled streets full of pavement cafes and craft shops. Matt and Emma recommended so many activities and places to visit. Way too much for me to do in just one week....so I will have to return this year!!
I would recommend the chalet to anyone looking for the perfect summer break.

Room Tip: I chose the room on the ground floor which I loved!...had a peek in the others too...they all looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Lovely chalet - very friendly, good food, hot tub,and nothing seemed too much trouble for Matt and Emma. Skiing close by and ski hire and lift passes all arranged for arrival, lifts too and from slopes so no lugging skis around. All six of us had great time both on the slopes and back at the Chalet for relaxed meals with plenty of good quality food and wine.

Would definitely come back.

John & Caroline

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Chapelle-D'Abondance hotels
0.6 mi away
Les Gentianettes Hotel
Les Gentianettes Hotel
#3 of 7 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Cornettes
Hotel Les Cornettes
#1 of 7 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Esprit Montagne
Hotel Esprit Montagne
#5 of 7 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Ferme du Chateau
La Ferme du Chateau
#5 of 12 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Escalade
L'Escalade
#1 of 4 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
9 reviews
0.5 mi away
L'Ensoleille
L'Ensoleille
#2 of 7 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Le Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Le Dragon

Address: Le Rys, 74360 La Chapelle-D'Abondance, Abondance, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Abondance > La Chapelle-D'Abondance
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
Price Range: $117 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Le Dragon is an owner run luxury ski chalet located on the mountain-side in the beautiful French village of La Chapelle d'Abondance and is less than 10 minutes walk from the numerous restaurants and apres ski bars. The chalet has 5 large superking bedrooms, wifi, sunny south facing gardens and terrace, large comfortable lounge for 10 adults, ensuite rooms, 32 jet hot tub and feature open fire. For skiing, the chalet stands opposite the main connecting ski lift to the Portes du Soleil ski area (650km pistes) and it is the perfect choice for your ski holiday offering luxury accommodation for up to 10 adults. The chalet also has a private minibus and offers a "call and collect" service for all guests. For all summer activities the chalet is centrally located in the Valley d'Abondance. Within minutes the choice of activities are endless...Including mountain biking and bike park, rafting, fishing, hiking, parapenting, bob-luge and the Fantasticable (100kph zip wire!!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chalet Le Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Le Dragon France/Haute-Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing