We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What else can be said.....?”
Review of Chalet Rustique

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Rustique
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our second visit to Chalet Rustique, 5 years since our last & we were made to feel like we`ve never been away. Paulo`s fantastic food, the ambience, the attentiveness & helpfulness of Ian & Jill all added up to a fantastic experience, one we hope to repeat soon. Nothing was too much trouble & any & all food issues were catered for without any problems.Thanks guys for a fantastic week.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnduffield71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 157 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is our 2nd visit to Chalet Rustique and again everything was perfect. Paolo was there to make us feel at home. Always on hand to drop us off at the slopes and pick us up in the afternoon, never too much trouble. The thing I really like is the evening meals, it’s like dining at a top London restaurant, great flavours and amazing wines to match. We will defiantly be coming back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Well what can I say as soon as we arrived at the stunning Chalet Rustique we were so impressed. Paolo, Lindsay, Ian and Jill were so welcoming and really took care of us. We travelled with our two children aged 8 and 5 and Paolo made sure that they had a fantastic time too, he cooked for them separately and their food was just as delicious as ours. We really looked forward to dinner which was exquisite every evening. The skiing was amazing with so many runs to choose from and loads of fresh snow. And then after a long day the beds were the most comfortable we have ever slept in. Already looking to book next year. Thank you to all at Chalet Rustique for the best holiday ever x

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoWalderBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in February and had a very enjoyable time. The Chalet was full with other couples of various ages and we all got on really well.

Paolo is a brilliant chef and the food was a gourmet delight each evening, he can make an average meal become something so delectable its untrue.

The Chalet is not very old and in very good condition with all rooms ensuite, comfortable and quiet with large windows from the dining room giving a good view. Our room had a very low ceiling so you after a few bumps you soon learn to be a bit careful, it was a reasonable size but the rooms at the front are better. Breakfast was mainly continental but you could order eggs/porridge etc to be freshly made by Ian.

The bus stop is nearby but a little infrequent, Paolo however would drive you where ever you wanted to go including the brewery just down the road.

The skiing when we were there was excellent as there had been loads of fresh snow, there are lifts a short drive away but we mainly went to Linga or Pre La Joux.

I could certainly recommend Chalet Rustique and Paolo who is chilled and an excellent host.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The food was fantastic and the snow was equally good for the week ten of us stayed in March. Paolo's attention to detail both with his cooking and the care he gives to the enjoyment of his guests is second to none. We will certainly be coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have been staying with Paolo for the past six years and there have been countless reasons to keep coming back! The food was absolutely fantastic, with 3 course meals every night. Paolo and the staff have always been really hospitable, frequently going above and beyond to ensure all of my family's needs were met. In addition to an amazing chalet and great food, the skiing was phenomenal!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angusmilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Everything has been said already! Beautiful, clean and comfortable Chalet. Paolo's food is absolutely amazing and along with team Ian and Jill everything is run so smoothly and nothing is too much trouble. This made our stay so special (we were a group of 8 adults). It was lovely to meet Lindsey and the children too. The skiing was fantastic - it is a huge area. Would definitely recommend staying here and we look forward to going back next year!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Chapelle-D'Abondance hotels
0.6 mi away
Chalet Le Dragon
Chalet Le Dragon
#2 of 11 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
164 reviews
1.2 mi away
Les Gentianettes Hotel
Les Gentianettes Hotel
#1 of 7 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
238 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Les Cornettes
Hotel Les Cornettes
#3 of 7 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Residence La Joly
Residence La Joly
#9 of 11 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
11 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Chabi
Hotel Le Chabi
#4 of 7 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
74 reviews
1.0 mi away
L'Ensoleille
L'Ensoleille
#2 of 7 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Rustique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Rustique

Address: la Ville du Nant, 74360 La Chapelle-D'Abondance, Abondance, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Abondance > La Chapelle-D'Abondance
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
Price Range: $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catered ski chalet offering ski holidays outside Chatel with a personal touch and amazing food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Rustique France/Haute-Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing