We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ski Holiday Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet Rustique

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Rustique
Leicester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ski Holiday Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

As this was our second visit to Chalet Rustique the question on anyone's mind when returning somewhere is likely to be "Will I enjoy it as much as the first time?" Without hesitation the answer is yes.
If you're reading this review out of interest because you've stayed in Paolo and Lindsey's chalet then you don't need me to tell you how good it is. All the usual superlatives have already been used in describing the accommodation, food, hospitality and overall level of service.
If you're reading this review because you're thinking of booking a stay at Chalet Rustique then don't hesitate - do it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosecski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
67
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is our 5th time skiing over the Xmas to New Year period in Les Portes de Soleil and staying with Paolo. I think the fact that we keep going back is the testament to the quality of this catered chalet and the care and attention from Paolo, Lindsay, Ian and Jill. The food as ever was superb as was the accommodation and Paolo still meets and greets at Geneva airport and ferries guests to the ski lift of your choice. He arranges ski hire, lift passes and lessons in advance so everything is in place for a carefree holiday. This year we had a fortnight of superb weather to boot. Also Paolo accommodated one extra this year so the chalet was totally full but he still managed to produce beautiful food. As the chalet sleeps 10 it is an excellent opportunity to get all the family together and just relax together after the skiing. Thanks Paolo for a great holiday.
Cross country skiing is available across the road for those who don't want to downhill ski or there is always snowshoe paths around for walkers so everybody's preferences can be met.

Room Tip: Low beams in front bedrooms so watch your head. Each bedroom has bathroom. Front double has plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our second time visiting Chalet Rustique and once again we had such an amazing time.
This seems to be the only ski holiday were you can save all your energy for skiing, as Paolo would drop us off and pick us up every day.

The Chalet itself is super clean, spacious and very cosy, with a lovely log fire lit in the evenings. The kids loved relaxing and watching dvd's after a hard day's skiing.

In the afternoon, when we got back to the Chalet, there would be a lovely homemade cake and tea waiting for us, and in the evenings we would have an amazing four course meal.

Paolo has a real passion for cooking and it showed in the quality of the food he produced everyday. Looking forward to going back again.

Thank you Paolo for looking after us so nicely and to Gill and Ian for making my daughter's birthday cake. Hopefully see you next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmahindru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Once again we celebrated the New Year with friends and family in the best chalet in the French Alps. Paolo and Lindsey have continued to be amazing hosts year after year. The scenery was incredible and you are only a short drive from the slopes. The comfort and ease of this holiday was really enjoyable. The food speaks for itself (INCREDIBLE). Thank you Chalet Rustique for another wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Ask Paolo or Lindsey (the owners). They will help you in any way they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank douglasmilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have just returned from a 6 night stay. It was fantastic. I cannot fault it in anyway. Paulo and Lindsey (Chalet owners) and Jill and Ian go to great lengths to ensure that your stay is comfortable. The food is amazing and the chalet is clean and comfortable. The service offered within the price is outstanding. Takes all the worries out of travel. I highly recommend this property and the resort to anyone whatever season and whatever you are planning to do. We loved our ski experience but would be keen to return in the summer to see what the resort has to offer in the sunshine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livelifeHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Paolo and Lindsey and the most gracious hosts that you could ever wish for. The food is out of this world and the beds that you sink into at night are so comfy! This is our second time to Chalet Rustique and we would come back again and again. It is truly the best vacation that our family has been on. Paolo is always ready to shuttle you back and forth to the slopes - which are great for all level of skiers/snowboarders. The chalet is spotless and has everything you would need for a wonderful week of fun and relaxation. I personally do not ski or snowboard and have had plenty to do while the rest of the family are on the slopes!
I would highly recommend Chalet Rustique if you are looking for a wonderful week of skiing in the French Alps! 2 thumbs up!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smilne64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were hoping for a really special family Christmas ski trip, and that is exactly what we got. A beautiful, spotlessly clean chalet, wonderful hosts, amazing food, and we all felt thoroughly spoilt. As a party of various needs, we were so lucky to have Paolo and Iain to shuttle us around the resort with such willingness and flexibiliy. Thoroughly deserving to be right up there on the Trip-Advisor ratings,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LissieCranham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Chapelle-D'Abondance hotels
2.1 mi away
Les Gentianettes Hotel
Les Gentianettes Hotel
#3 of 6 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Esprit Montagne
Hotel Esprit Montagne
#5 of 6 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Les Cornettes
Hotel Les Cornettes
#1 of 6 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
L'Ensoleille
L'Ensoleille
#2 of 6 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel l'Alpage
Hotel l'Alpage
#6 of 6 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chalet Le Dragon
Chalet Le Dragon
#2 of 9 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Rustique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Rustique

Property: Chalet Rustique
Address: la Ville du Nant, 74360 La Chapelle-D'Abondance, Abondance, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > La Chapelle-D'Abondance
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catered ski chalet offering ski holidays outside Chatel with a personal touch and amazing food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Rustique France/Haute-Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing