We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best skiing trips ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Ferme du Chateau
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My partner, myself and our 12 year old son have just returned from a perfect week at La Ferme du Chateau. The chalet is beautiful and very well appointed. The food was excellent and the staff all delightful. Christine and her crew could not have been more helpful or accomodating. Even in a full chalet, where logistics could have been a problem, the team moved heaven and earth to meet everybody's needs. We have already planned a return for next year ! Very highly recommended, especially beers in the hot tub.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScreedyCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 57 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2012

On arriving Christine seemed very nice. The food was awful. Too salty and miniscule. Not the hearty food we have had previously in chalets. Breakfast was repetitive the afternoon tea very paltry and not great. Dinners were too fancy and not very nice. Our room wasn't cleaned once and we had to make our own beds. The buses into Chatel are only 2 an hour and they are within 10 minutes of each other so it made it difficult when wanting to go into Chatel. Definitely not value for money and has confirmed that chalets are not always the luxury you think they will be.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ovine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Booked my holiday via Skibreaks as a solo skier, who use this lovely Chalet.
Christine and the staff were very welcoming, and try hard to oblige to your needs.
All the rooms were clean and well heated. Food standard very good, including the wine.
We were given free lifts as a group to/from the slopes. The village is pretty, took a little over 10 minutes to drive us to the main ski lift.
Would very happily go back in the future.
Thanks for an excellent holiday. Al

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frost1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

From the friendly welcome (of a glass of wine) to the comfort of a beautifully furnished and extremely luxurious chalet - this is a very special place. Christine - the hostess- is knowledgeable and helpful and provides great food and wine! What a great place for a large group and a special occasion. Can't wait to go back. Almost makes me want to take up skiing as it must be glorious in the winter!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satisoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Christine the owner is a great host, she is awesome in the kitchen (ask for the morrocan soup) and also easy going so makes you feel very relaxed. The Chalet is done out beautifully, nothing better than sitting in the jacuzzi having a sparking drink looking at the mountains I wanted to stay forever. Location is spot on with a local shop and bar next door. I have to say I can not fault the place at all you have to see for yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beastfromnortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Stunning property just refurbished and extended in the last 3 years.
The farmhouse has been taking chalet groups for the last two winter seasons and the level of care and attention to detail is superb.
Christine the owner is very welcoming and very capable.
The rooms are very well finished. All furniture and fittings are of a very high standard.
Our chalet girl Laura kept the rooms and the ensuites very clean and very tidy.
Amy, who looks after the catering side has a dab hand for all dishes. The food was excellent every night.
All in all,just a wonderful house, looked after by lovely people.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaestheticD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We'd stayed with Christine before and knew she was a fabulous chalet host, we just hadn't appreciated how beautiful her own chalet is - the pictures don't do it justice.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesGoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Chapelle-D'Abondance
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Cornettes
Hotel Les Cornettes
#2 of 7 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
173 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige
0.1 mi away
Les Gentianettes Hotel
Les Gentianettes Hotel
#1 of 7 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
L'Escalade
L'Escalade
#1 of 4 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
10 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Marie Lydie
Le Marie Lydie
#6 of 12 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
3 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chalet Cannelle
Chalet Cannelle
#1 of 12 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ferme du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme du Chateau

Address: Chef Lieu, 74360 La Chapelle-D'Abondance, Abondance, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Abondance > La Chapelle-D'Abondance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
Price Range: $122 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Ferme du Chateau offers exceptionally spacious accommodation in 6 en-suite bedrooms, all of which can be twin or double rooms and extra beds added for family rooms. They have 5* quality hotel beds and linen with lots of little extras. In winter La Ferme offers the perfect retreat for the discerning skier and is fully catered. In summer the rooms are available on a B&B or 1/2 board basis . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Ferme du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ferme Du Chateau France/Haute-Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing