We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would certainly go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Short 4 day stay for us which we thoroughly enjoyed.
Hotel was basic and in need of refurbishment, but this did not detract from the fact that the staff were wonderful, and the food quite superb.
Transfer from Grenoble airport was straight forward with meet and great at the airport and a 1 1/2 hour trip by mini cab to resort.
Check-in very straight forward, with room being small & comfortable, if basic. Mattress was good.

The staff made the place, brilliant!

We didn't book our skis through hotel (but we should have for the convenience).
Ski school (inclusive for the whole day) was certainly worth it. Christian B (our instructor who was more of a guide than an instructor, which we preferred) was brilliant. You know the snow is good when the instructor is cheering the loudest on the powder runs.

Overall, excellent place to stay, combined with the brilliant service & food, fantastic pistes, snow and guides, we only wish we'd booked for longer.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 925 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had a wonderful family ski vacation at this hotel. One of its biggest pluses is the mini-club - they keep your kids busy and entertained (with both ski lessons and other activities) from 8:30 to 5, and if the kids are interested - in the evening as well, keeping the kids extremely happy and allowing the parents to enjoy full days of skiing themselves. The staff at the kids' club is amazing - very friendly and child-oriented, and enthusiastic to keep the kids busy. The service at the hotel is excellent in most parts, with the exception of the ski school (but this problem exists in most ski schools in France - most ski instructors speak very little English, and many of them prefer to do skiing than to teach).
Some of the downsides of the hotel: (1) Rooms are extremely small, and the bathroom and shower are tiny. (2) While there's a huge variety of food, and in most meals there were some delicious dishes - there were a few meals during the week when food was average or less. (3) the nightly shows were quite a disappointment.
Overall however, if the goal of your trip is skiing - you will have a great time at this Club Med.

Room Tip: For a good room go elsewhere - all rooms here are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ogol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great place, the kids have a lot of activities all day untill 17:00.
Very comfortable. Very nice stuff.
There is a bus station near by.
well placed on its sunny slope.
Very nice area.
Very good service.
Big rooms for a family.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

First time we went on a ski vacation. We were a family of beginners.
That was an excellent place to start.
Food was great, very tasty and a lot of selection.
Rooms were on the small, dated side, but clean and functional and had the best beds. In that kind of vacation you don't spend a lot of time in the rooms.Also we had connecting rooms which fitted us perfectly
Service at the reception was for the most part helpful and good.
The G.O'S were amazing! Those in the mini club especially.
The drinks and the bar were very nice.
All the staff was friendly and pleasant.
All the views were fantastic!
As for the ski school- just great!
In one week absolute beginners as us turned into confident skiers!
Great slopes as well.
The absence of Jacuzzi and the little pool were a little disappointing.
All in all in was a perfect vacation. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

What a fantastic place to stay - the service is spectacular as each and every member of staff want you to have a great time (and they seem genuine too!). From the little touches like providing water for you to drink on the transfer to the 'bonjour' and 'bon apetite' said with a smile each time they see you to members of staff actually taking the time to approach customers and have a 'chat' if they see you in the bar or restaurant.
The hotel rooms have fantastic views across the snow and have been well planned for skiiers with plenty of places to hang your gear at the end of a long hard day. The TVs have lots of channels in lots of languages so you'll find something to watch if you've got time as The 'team' have always got something organised for you to do downstairs.
The rooms also have enought toiletries to last the week as well as fresh towels as often as you want them and hairdryer (something I would have loved to have known before we travelled).
The food is of an excellent standard - buffet style with loads of choice - something for even the fussiest eaters.
The gym is basic but good enough for a quick workout and the pool is just what is needed at the end of a long day's skiing.
Minus points are the lack of baths in the rooms and no jacuzzi but apart from that a brilliant place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Having read the trip-advisor reviews before coming over helped a lot to know what to expect. We spent from 23 to 30 Dec 2012 at L'Alpe D'Huez. The skiing was absolutely outstanding especially being able to ski in and ski out and having so many slopes to choose from, but our ski instructor Jean-Paul really made our stay, he took us all over and gave us so much interesting information about the area and improved our skiing immensely! The club med staff were all very helpful and friendly and the food was outstanding especially considering the vast number of people for whom they cater. The hotel is, however, a bit run down and definitely needs a make over albeit perfectly comfortable. The rooms are small and we really could not believe the size of the bathrooms they made aeroplane bathrooms seem large, but I have to say they were perfectly adequate when you got used to them and in fact we were incredibly impressed with the clever usage of space? Our major complaint was the smell of cigarettes in the room from previous smokers, this really annoyed me as I am sure they can have non-smoking rooms alternatively there must be products available that can get rid of the gross smell of smoke we really found this offensive! We found the ski room where we collected our skis and boots was very efficient and ran smoothly. The varied entertainment each night was wonderful and most importantly everything being included was the best for us! We would definitely recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Make sure if you are a non-smoker you get a smoke free room perhaps staying (although they cost more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were to Club Med La Sarenne in december 2012 after going to the Club Med in Avoriaz (France) for 5 years in a row. We decided to try a change and I must say we did not regret it for a second! The hotel is what you would have expected if you know the Club Med concept for a ski resort. But what was most important was the team: it is a great team, always ready to help, always so close to the clients, always having a smile.And the evenings are so fun at the club, with all those shows prepared by the team. I wish to express my special Thanks to Samuel, the Chief of the team who was omnipresent and has the skills for a manager without showing it off. BRAVO SAMUEL!
The restaurant is very good and the food is tasty, the public space and the rooms are very clean. My only observation would be that the hotel needs refurbishment.
The skying domain is 250 km and has all the slopes from green ones to black. The monitors from the ESF (Ecole de Ski Francaise) are most competent and taking good care of the groups.
I most certainly recommend it and will try to return next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side have a better view. Rooms in "Les Marmottes" building are bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamiBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#2 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
425 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
#5 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Club MMV Les Bergers
Hotel Club MMV Les Bergers
#4 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers
0.9 mi away
Hotel le Caribou
Hotel le Caribou
#6 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne

Address: Club Med L Alpe d Huez la Sarenne, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Price Range: $407 - $953 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the meeting point of the six valleys of the Oisans, the resort of Alpe-d'Huez stretches out surrounded by the former alpine pastures of a mountain village. Dominating this suntrap spot and well placed on its sunny slope, this Club Med Village invites guests to launch out and revel in the thrill of the longest black run in Europe, while those who prefer to take it easy enjoy the panoramic view. Parents and children share the joy of new sensations as they zigzag around the skating rink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med L 'Alpe d'Huez la Sarenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med l `Alpe d`Huez La Sarenne Hotel l`Alpe-d`Huez
L'alpe-D'huez Club Med
Club Med L 'Alpe D'Huez La Sarenne France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing