We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellet services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Petit Prince
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Spend a week skiing in Alpe d'Huez . Excellent skiing and wonderful hotel with an enormous view over the Rhone Alps! Thanks to Lnagleys wonderful staff - especially Sara!

Room Tip: High up in the corner - gives you two spectacular views over the alps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommycosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 209 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

We chose this hotel as part of a package with Crystal based on reviews on Tripadvisor, despite initially wanting to go self-catering. With hindsight we have no regrets at all.

The hotel is situated away from the main town but a free bus is available, and it's only 15 mins walk away. We were actually glad to be away from the busier parts of town anyway. It is possible to ski from next to the hotel to the GDE Sure chair lift as well.

The hotel is in very good condition as described by recent reviews, and the staff are indeed excellent. If we could remember all their names we'd name them all, but Jesper in the bar was great, as was Caroline on reception. All the staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming - it's a very relaxing hotel to stay in as everyone seems very happy with their lot.

Crystal reps deserve a mention as well: Tom and Dan, well done. The pub crawl was good fun!

We also booked private lessons for the two of us through Tom as well. Natalie Bouquet from the ESF took our lessons and we highly recommend her.

Back to the hotel: set menu was excellent and we only ate out in town one night (having looked around it's just as well as it's quite expensive!). Only slight niggle is that the sauces had a similar taste most nights (honey) which does get a little repetitive - but this shouldn't detract from what was excellent food well served. The house wine for €18 a bottle was really quite good as well.

Bar prices are quite expensive, approx €4 a 33cl (guessing) beer, but not really out of keeping with the rest of the resort. The bar is a great place for a drink when you get in from the slopes, great balcony and inside a log fire and a pool table. Just what you need!

Room was surprisingly good and was made up every day, towels changed once during stay.

They seem to have got the business model and the staff spot on here, we would thoroughly recommend Le Petit Prince. A big thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable, hence why we feel the need to write a review.

Christian and Kim.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChristianKimK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Just back from a week booked via Crystal at Le Petit Prince in Alpe D'Huez , At first glance this appears to be just another dull looking hotel at the far end of resort but appearences can be deceptive . Inside it is very homely with very comfortable rooms superb bathrooms and cozy bar with roaring open fire . The staff are all scandanavians as you would expect from a Langley run Hotel , they were all polite and friendly and seemed to be hand picked for their looks !
The breakfast was good, with cheese , ham and boiled eggs and of course cereals .
But the evening meals were fantastic every one faultless and well presented .

The Hotel itself is just a 2 minute walk to the piste which leads to one of 2 lifts which lead to the main ski area , though not ski in ski out , as near as damn it .
Fantastic holiday in ridiculous temperatures but this season because of early heavy snow everything open .

Room Tip: Good for groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Although we were with Crystal Ski for this trip we chose the right place, this hotel is run by the Langley travel company of Sweden for any English skier this was a major plus.
As I said we went with Crystal Ski but the girls from Langley took us under there wing as if we were one of there own, this made for a super week.
The rooms were cleaned every day, the view from our room was one of wonder looking onto the Alps and the fresh cold air was great.
The food was out of this world, the menu did not do the food justice when it came out hats off to the team in the kitchen, the waiting staff were fantastic each and every meal time.
The Ski resort of l'Alpe-d'huez is great you can never get board with all the different runs each and every day was different.
You need to ski this is the place to stay and do it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fresh and new
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank He11hound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Had a super week at the hotel petit prince. friendly staff. clean and spacious comfey rooms. There was 28 of us including families. the food was superb. Breakfast was well set out simple & plenty to choose from. The children had a choice at dinner & we didnt really need a choice as the food the chef prepared & cooked each night was excellent!!
Would have been nice to have tea & coffee facilities in the room or near bye.
I would rate this hotel one of the best i have stayed in.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed here over new year 2012. Staff were excellent, great kids club 4-8pm in the evening (for only 40euros), and the food was fab - we looked forward to what delights we would be served each evening. The resort didn't have much Apres Ski but the hotel bar was a good place to relax & there was a quiz or two in the evenings over the week - the kind of hotel you don't mind spending a lot of time in, and the views are awsome. You can also ski virtualy to the door. We would not hesitate in going back to this hotel 10/10. Thanks Langley.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troonroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Le Petit Prince had a makeover in 2010 and all reviews before then are largely irrelevant. It is a very good budget hotel which gives excellent value for money, is warm and comfortable with wonderful food and staff. The rooms are large and have plenty of storage space. There are no phones, TVs or safes in the rooms. A hairdryer was provided on request. The rooms have wet-room showers but no baths. The dining room is very noisy and could do with some measures to deaden sound - like carpets, curtains, etc. There is no ski/boot room to speak of but you are allowed to walk to your room in your ski boots(!) and leave your skis on the balcony and your boots in your room overnight. There was an odd smell in the stairwell and this was virtually the first thing noticed on entering the hotel - rather off-putting.
Langley, the Swedish owners of the hotel, provide ski guides for the first few days of your holiday. They show you around the slopes to familiarise yourself with them - a great (and unexpected) boon. The entire staff seem to want you to enjoy your holiday , are extremely pleasant and helpful. All in all, Le Petit Prince is a credit to the Langley organisation and a great no frills base for a skiing holiday for groups, couples and families.

Room Tip: Room 101 is apparently a bit small. Try to avoid rooms in close proximity to the bar area if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Caribou
Hotel le Caribou
#7 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#2 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Christina
Hotel Le Christina
#10 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Au Chamois d'Or
Hotel Au Chamois d'Or
#9 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
105 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel L'Ancolie
Hotel L'Ancolie
#21 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Petit Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Petit Prince

Address: Route de la Poste, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Price Range: $88 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Petit Prince 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Langley hotel Le Petit Prince is, with its friendly Scandinavian staff, personal service and delicious food, the perfect hotel for all ages.´The hotel is located a five minute walk from town centre and everything you might seek can be found just around the corner. The closest lift is located 50 meters below the hotel, which gives you the possibility to “Ski in and Ski out”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Le Petit Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Petit Prince Hotel
Hotel Le Petit Prince France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing