We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant - highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence l'Ours Blanc
Reviewed February 24, 2012

WONDERFUL! Great value, basic, but newly refurbished – lovely hot powerful showers which never ran out of water, a godsend in –20 deg temperatures!! The best thing about the ours blanc apartments though, was the staff. One of our party went missing on the slopes, and after us having no luck with the police when late that night he hadn’t turned up, the lovely receptionist called her manager, and within an hour he had a mountain rescue search party, the mayor of the town, the police, and the piste / ski lift management all together looking for him. We eventually located him in hospital, and the next day the manager took two of us there (an hour and a half drive each way!) to go and visit him. I cannot tell you how appreciative of his help we were. Absolutely would recommend, fantastic place!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 312 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

We also arrived after travelling with Crystal ski only to find our room wouldn't be ready till 5:30pm, we had been travelling all day!
Found a pair of thongs pinned to the wall in the lounge and a huge "dildo" hanging from balcony, we usually take our kid and was first year she wasn't with us, thank goodness! We also had party animals above us who partied all night but there is no reception to deal with at night, phone number advertising "if any issues" just tells you they are closed.
No towel changes at all, had to buy our own toilet roll!!!!!!
Too noisy for me when skiing all day, need a sleep!

Room Tip: good for young groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Turner022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We booked through travel agents, we picked hotel as it stated it had been fully renovated and looked lovely. We arrived at reception which looked promising, new and well decorated. However on allocation to our room we arrived to small bunk beds and an old room that hadn't seen any renovation since it was built. We went back to reception who advised they couldn't promise a renovated room and they checked and had no renovated rooms available. We had to pay an extra £70 for a newer upgraded room.....one like in the brochure. Other than this the hotel is ok, just be wary when booking...specify renovated room! Short walk from numerous ski lifts and in the centre of the village for restaurants bars etv

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We paid £1456 euros for a very poor quality one bedroomed appartment sleeping 5. The electrical sockets were hanging off the wall and one of the 3 did not work. The light fitting was falling out of the ceiling. There was only a hand held shower with no hook or shower curtain thus soaking the bathroom everytime someone showered. The fan in the bathroom was so clogged up with mould that it would not work. Walls were dirty and the very basic heaters had large burn marks in them. The double bed was very poor - a thin matress which completely dipped in the middle. There was no safety deposit box available in the room or at reception and it took the reception staff 4 days to finally find a kettle for the appartment (one was promised on the brochure). Everything was old and of poor quality and very limited storage space. On the plus side there was plenty of hot water and the balcony was nice. When we asked to moved we were told it was full. Some friends in our party had a room that was more modern and looked much nicer. The appartment was next to the ice rink and outdoor pool but had no service via the reception after around 8pm and overnight.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LisaShand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence l'Ours Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post an account of your stay on Tripadvisor. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the furnishings in your apartment. We have been updating sections of this resort and unfortunately some rooms are in better conditions than others. Alongside this, we accept that our rooms can be on the small side for any groups traveling together. We advise therefore, that any groups visiting our resort check our website and brochure before booking for specific room measurements. We also advise that groups opt for a bigger berth room to ensure they have enough space to move around comfortably. If a customer is unhappy with a room they are allocated we will always endeavour to find a replacement room that is adequate and we sincerely apologise that during your stay we were unable to do this. We have noted this and will pass the information onto Management of the Residence for further consideration. We will also pass on to the hotel management that you did not have a safety deposit box and that there was no reception service after 8pm and overnight. We hope this apology goes some way to compensating for the negative points within your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

we stayed here for our ski ing holiday, after driving 700 miles to get there we wasnt able to get in our room til 5.30pm as it wasnt ready. when we finally went to our apartment dissapointing is the only word to describe it.The entire floors and sofas were covered in dog hair as they also let dogs stay in the rooms,unfortunately we didnt know that as it was not stated on website or paperwork and my 3 year old has asthma! we asked to move apartments but apparantly they didnt have any others available. They are supposed to be priviledge apartments but i can honestly say that they are no better than a 2 star hotel in england. the hallways were dirty and in need of a revamp, the ski locker area was dated and overall a dirty,dissapointing apartment. a real shame as the ski-ing in alpe d huez was fab!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

no kettle or cups in the 3star rooms other wise ok place have been 3 times before all been ok

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karindarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence l'Ours Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Alpe d'Huez although apologies for the lack of kettle and cups in the apartment upon arrival and hope this was both communicated and sufficiently dealt with by our in-house team. We hope you will stay with us on your next ski holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Just returned from a new year break with my husband and brother.
Booked the resport as it was supposedly 4 star (a rarety for apartments in france) and it actually showed as a one bedroomed apartment with separate sleeping area.....(another rartety in france)...... mmm not sure I'd call two single beds crammed together agaist 2 walls, 6 inches on one side and 12 inches on the other a bedroom.... the apartment was serviceable for a week, although you can't swing a cat..... Definatly didn't deserve a 4 star rating!..... It was in a good central location in the eveining for restaurants, pool etc.... but as others say a very long walk to lifts/pistes and very noisey with drunk revellers every night walking by....... when we opened the door for the first time we discovered the previous inhabitants were very very heavy smokers :-(...... We asked the reception to move us, they said there were no available apartments but they would send the cleaners in the next day..... nothing happended,.... the language barrier became a real issue and we were just ignored....... so eventually gave up, left all the windows and doors open all day and night and brought airfreshners and candles.... but the place was so stained and curtains invested it was a very unpleasant stay all week....clothes and bed linen wreaked of smoke after 24 hours... but suffered and kept the windows open.......won't rush back.....

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SUEDDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence l'Ours Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2011

Many thanks for posting your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the central location of your accommodation. We are sorry that the level of cleanliness did not meet your expectations. Although we are confident our reception team endeavour to resolve any issues for guests who are disappointed with their apartment it is with great regret we were unable move you to an alternative apartment during your stay as the residence was fully booked. We do try to ensure a good level of English is spoken and customer service is offered at all of our reception desks, please accept our sincere apologies if this was not the case during your stay. In regards to the noise level, we do have a "no noise after 10pm" policy at our residences but regret that disturbances can still be caused by excessive noise within the ski resort itself. We have logged your review and passed your feedback on to head office and our management teams. As we are committed to improving all aspects of our service and accommodation we thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#2 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
#5 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Horizons d'Huez
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les ...
#29 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eliova le Chaix
Hotel Eliova le Chaix
#15 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence l'Ours Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence l'Ours Blanc

Address: 65 avenue des Jeux, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Specialty Lodging in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Price Range: $75 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence l'Ours Blanc 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence "Heart of resort"Grandes Rousses area: sun and 248 km of slopes!A renovated residence with comfortable and spacious apartments offering direct access to the rink and shops ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence l'Ours Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Residence l`Ours Blanc Hotel l`Alpe-d`Huez
Pierre And Vacances Residence l`Ours Blanc
Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ours Blanc France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing