We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence l'Ours Blanc
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not for kids”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We also arrived after travelling with Crystal ski only to find our room wouldn't be ready till 5:30pm, we had been travelling all day!
Found a pair of thongs pinned to the wall in the lounge and a huge "dildo" hanging from balcony, we usually take our kid and was first year she wasn't with us, thank goodness! We also had party animals above us who partied all night but there is no reception to deal with at night, phone number advertising "if any issues" just tells you they are closed.
No towel changes at all, had to buy our own toilet roll!!!!!!
Too noisy for me when skiing all day, need a sleep!

Room Tip: good for young groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Turner022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    97
    87
    41
    40
See reviews for
188
38
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We booked through travel agents, we picked hotel as it stated it had been fully renovated and looked lovely. We arrived at reception which looked promising, new and well decorated. However on allocation to our room we arrived to small bunk beds and an old room that hadn't seen any renovation since it was built. We went back to reception who advised they couldn't promise a renovated room and they checked and had no renovated rooms available. We had to pay an extra £70 for a newer upgraded room.....one like in the brochure. Other than this the hotel is ok, just be wary when booking...specify renovated room! Short walk from numerous ski lifts and in the centre of the village for restaurants bars etv

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We paid £1456 euros for a very poor quality one bedroomed appartment sleeping 5. The electrical sockets were hanging off the wall and one of the 3 did not work. The light fitting was falling out of the ceiling. There was only a hand held shower with no hook or shower curtain thus soaking the bathroom everytime someone showered. The fan in the bathroom was so clogged up with mould that it would not work. Walls were dirty and the very basic heaters had large burn marks in them. The double bed was very poor - a thin matress which completely dipped in the middle. There was no safety deposit box available in the room or at reception and it took the reception staff 4 days to finally find a kettle for the appartment (one was promised on the brochure). Everything was old and of poor quality and very limited storage space. On the plus side there was plenty of hot water and the balcony was nice. When we asked to moved we were told it was full. Some friends in our party had a room that was more modern and looked much nicer. The appartment was next to the ice rink and outdoor pool but had no service via the reception after around 8pm and overnight.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LisaShand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence l'Ours Blanc, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post an account of your stay on Tripadvisor. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the furnishings in your apartment. We have been updating sections of this resort and unfortunately some rooms are in better conditions than others. Alongside this, we accept that our rooms can be on the small side for any groups traveling together. We advise therefore, that any groups visiting our resort check our website and brochure before booking for specific room measurements. We also advise that groups opt for a bigger berth room to ensure they have enough space to move around comfortably. If a customer is unhappy with a room they are allocated we will always endeavour to find a replacement room that is adequate and we sincerely apologise that during your stay we were unable to do this. We have noted this and will pass the information onto Management of the Residence for further consideration. We will also pass on to the hotel management that you did not have a safety deposit box and that there was no reception service after 8pm and overnight. We hope this apology goes some way to compensating for the negative points within your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

we stayed here for our ski ing holiday, after driving 700 miles to get there we wasnt able to get in our room til 5.30pm as it wasnt ready. when we finally went to our apartment dissapointing is the only word to describe it.The entire floors and sofas were covered in dog hair as they also let dogs stay in the rooms,unfortunately we didnt know that as it was not stated on website or paperwork and my 3 year old has asthma! we asked to move apartments but apparantly they didnt have any others available. They are supposed to be priviledge apartments but i can honestly say that they are no better than a 2 star hotel in england. the hallways were dirty and in need of a revamp, the ski locker area was dated and overall a dirty,dissapointing apartment. a real shame as the ski-ing in alpe d huez was fab!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

no kettle or cups in the 3star rooms other wise ok place have been 3 times before all been ok

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karindarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence l'Ours Blanc, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Alpe d'Huez although apologies for the lack of kettle and cups in the apartment upon arrival and hope this was both communicated and sufficiently dealt with by our in-house team. We hope you will stay with us on your next ski holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Just returned from a new year break with my husband and brother.
Booked the resport as it was supposedly 4 star (a rarety for apartments in france) and it actually showed as a one bedroomed apartment with separate sleeping area.....(another rartety in france)...... mmm not sure I'd call two single beds crammed together agaist 2 walls, 6 inches on one side and 12 inches on the other a bedroom.... the apartment was serviceable for a week, although you can't swing a cat..... Definatly didn't deserve a 4 star rating!..... It was in a good central location in the eveining for restaurants, pool etc.... but as others say a very long walk to lifts/pistes and very noisey with drunk revellers every night walking by....... when we opened the door for the first time we discovered the previous inhabitants were very very heavy smokers :-(...... We asked the reception to move us, they said there were no available apartments but they would send the cleaners in the next day..... nothing happended,.... the language barrier became a real issue and we were just ignored....... so eventually gave up, left all the windows and doors open all day and night and brought airfreshners and candles.... but the place was so stained and curtains invested it was a very unpleasant stay all week....clothes and bed linen wreaked of smoke after 24 hours... but suffered and kept the windows open.......won't rush back.....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUEDDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence l'Ours Blanc, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Many thanks for posting your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the central location of your accommodation. We are sorry that the level of cleanliness did not meet your expectations. Although we are confident our reception team endeavour to resolve any issues for guests who are disappointed with their apartment it is with great regret we were unable move you to an alternative apartment during your stay as the residence was fully booked. We do try to ensure a good level of English is spoken and customer service is offered at all of our reception desks, please accept our sincere apologies if this was not the case during your stay. In regards to the noise level, we do have a "no noise after 10pm" policy at our residences but regret that disturbances can still be caused by excessive noise within the ski resort itself. We have logged your review and passed your feedback on to head office and our management teams. As we are committed to improving all aspects of our service and accommodation we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We spent several days in Alpes d'Huez as several family members were undertaking the tough annual triathalon. The room/suite is extremely well designed and thoughtout with cupboards and hooks in all the right places. The kitchen facilities were good, the bathrooms OK and the beds hard! Notionally the suite sleep 7 adults, but that is definitely a squeeeze, but four was very comfortable. The hotel has no other facilities and front desk service is limited to a few hours a day. As the property is very well located, restaurants, provisions and general access to everything is on the door step.
Good value both winter (ski in/out) and summer, but nothing fancy. We had no problem with noise and had a great panorama across the Alpes valley.
Security an issue!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels
0.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers
0.6 mi away
Maeva Residence Les Melezes
Maeva Residence Les Melezes
#24 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpenrose Hotel
Alpenrose Hotel
#10 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#2 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Caribou
Hotel le Caribou
#8 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alp'azur
Hotel Alp'azur
#16 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence l'Ours Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence l'Ours Blanc

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence l'Ours Blanc
Address: 65 avenue des Jeux, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Specialty Lodging in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence l'Ours Blanc 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence "Heart of resort"Grandes Rousses area: sun and 248 km of slopes!A renovated residence with comfortable and spacious apartments offering direct access to the rink and shops ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence l'Ours Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Residence l`Ours Blanc Hotel l`Alpe-d`Huez
Pierre And Vacances Residence l`Ours Blanc
Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ours Blanc France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing