We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveler rating
213
144
34
9
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
213
144
34
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews would happily go back ski lift casual bar enjoyed the live music small pool only criticism would be outdoor terrace the half board option alpe d huez staff on reception family ski trip heated boot fabulous hotel three children rooms are spacious family room thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 412 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

Returning for a third year our family has clearly enjoyed Hotel Grandes Rousses. What brought us back?
1) great skiing and location within Alpe d’Huez
2) lovely rooms - family suite with two separate rooms for our three children was perfect. We had two balconies with stunning views.
3) delicious food - lovely breakfast buffet, high end dinner in evening (but we ate elsewhere a lot as it is pricy and took a long time for our children). Nice casual bar food (I think this is new or much improved this year).
4) Lovely bar and reception area with live music.

However we initially booked Hotel Grandes Rousses because of the pool so that, in the event of poor weather or ski fatigue, we could spend some time swimming - for the first two years this worked a treat but the hotel is NOW MUCH LESS CHILD FRIENDLY. The Spa (lovely as it is) is now only open to children for one hour in the evening between 6 and 7pm (there is another time slot mid morning but clashes with ski school so useless). Even in that hour they really are not welcome: on our first evening when we asked about alternative times we were politely told that they had to consider the needs guests who pay for treatments and don’t like having children around. The third evening - our only greeting (not from the regular spa manger) was ‘you quiet’. 6pm is too late for young children and one hour is a very short window for the large numbers of children who stay in a hotel with lots of family suites (there were more than 20 crammed into the very small pool between 6 and 7 on more than one evening).
It is also surprising what a high staff turnover there is - each time we returned we recognised only one member of staff from the previous year. They were welcoming and polite but we won’t be returning next year and I don’t think anyone will care or even notice.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank AIskienthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2019

The rooms are spacious and the view is stunning. breakfast is ok and Spa is great!
Reception was very friendly and gave me the feeling to be an honoured guest.
Only minus was the service staff at the bar and breakfast. They were a bit lazy.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fxlabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2019

This was our first visit to this Hotel and we loved every minute of it.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful and their English is excellent.

The rooms were great, very clean and comfortable.

The restaurant is wonderful, lovely food on offer, A "must" is dinner in one of the "Bubbles", what a great experience. I would definitely recommend the half board option.

Ski In / Ski Out in spot on and the bucket lift is literally across the road. Everything is extremely close by - the Village, Medical Centre, shops, restaurants etc.

We really had a great time and are already planning our return visit for next year.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crackerjack2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2019 via mobile

We booked this hotel through Crystal Ski and had our daughter who is 2 and my parents with us. This meant we needed to cater for a range of needs and experiences.

The hotel is currently undergoing a large extension however this did not impact our stay. The main communal areas downstairs seem to have been recently renovated and have a lovely chic, cosy atmosphere with neutral Alpine decor.

The bedrooms unfortunately do not share the same decor and which is a shame as they do not match the rest of the hotels aesthetic and feel somewhat dated in comparison. Despite the decor the bedrooms are large and light with nice bathrooms and plenty of space around the bed. Our bed unfortunately was very hard and uncomfortable meaning we didn't sleep very well and woke up with shoulder and back ache most mornings. The bathroom however had a fabulous waterfall shower which was heaven after a long day on the slopes! The hotel also provided branded toiletries which smelt divine.

As we had out little on with us we were slightly nervous about the amenities however the hotel provided and very comfy cot and baby monitor free of charge which meant we had freedom in the evening to sit and enjoy ourselves with peace of mind. It was great that she could also use the spa between certain times meaning we could have a family swim in the evening.

Because we booked through crystal we were on half board basis and ate in the L'esperance restaurant every day. The breakfast was great with lots of fresh options and also cooked breakfast. The coffee machine will be sorely missed as it made an amazing latte! As for the evening meals, we honestly enjoyed everything we ate. The food was always amazing and they catered for our little one too!

The bar is also a lovely space to relax, the atmosphere is calm and cosy. They had live music every night and the cocktails were good although as a rule the drinks were overpriced.

The spa was gorgeous and both couple's received a complimentary €40 voucher to use on a treatment which was a lovely surprise. I had a massage on our last day and it was very good.

Lastly I'd just like to say a huge thank you to the staff. There was not a single member of staff who didn't go above and beyond our expectations. The reception team made you feel no request was a hassle and were always willing to help with night time milk requests and organised for us to be driven to the ski rental shop. The driver at the hotel is so lovely and genuinely warm hearted, he was always happy to drop you somewhere if you didn't know the way and would wait if needed to bring you back. The restaurant staff were lovely and anticipated our needs most nights meaning everything ran smoothly even with a tired 2 year old. The staff here are wonderful, even the cleaning team were happy and engaged when you met them in the hallway.

I can't recommend this place enough for the experience we had. I just wish the bed had been comfier! Thank you for a great week!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank jessiv1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2019 via mobile

After last years ski trip with too much snow to ski!!!..... we decided to come back to Alpe D’Huez and there was only one place to consider. Les Grandes Rousses. Simply one of the nicest ski hotels we have stayed at over many years.

The place is fantastic - lovely cosy rooms, very friendly and pleasant staff. The food is just amazing - great options matched with a good wine list. We stayed half board.

We had an issue with a noisy room, but after politely mentioning this to reception, the manager moved us to a quieter spot. Great customer service.

The hotel is expanding to include a lot more rooms, facilities and eating spaces. I am sure they will be able to replicate the top quality standards and service. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would happily go back.

Thanks to all the staff.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank SiFiLuKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews