We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a lively bar”
Review of Smithys Tavern

Smithys Tavern
Ranked #11 of 75 Restaurants in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: Mexican, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Smithy's only serves the best quality food in our Tex Mex and Grill restaurant. Humongous homemade burgers, stacked tall with toppings, nachos piled high with melted cheese, guacamole, homemade salsa, sour cream and jalapenos. Tender fillet steaks, sticky BBQ ribs and crispy southern fried chicken wings. We also offer a wide variety of vegetarian and gluten-free options as well as a menu for the kids.....
UK
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Fine for a lively bar”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This bar is great if you want a few beers without breaking the budget and some atmosphere in a very British centric place.
The staff are friendly and the bar offers music, sat tv and some atmosphere.
Food nothing dazzling, fine for those that don't appreciate the French cuisine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank docscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    35
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good fun”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Spent many a night during my week long trip in there dancing on tables. Great place, good atmosphere and way better than the local club Igloo.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ross_drew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overrated food but reasonably good fun”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Dark and gloomy atmosphere with Sky TV , cheerful staff serving sizzling plates of peppers and onion described as fajitas, cheapish and cheerful and might suit some as an alternative to hotel fare or as in our case , there was nowhere else with a table free.
Feb 2013.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simonnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We ate here during our recent ski trip, the food was excellent, really big portions but great value for money.

Highly recommended - try the Burgers!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Londontrip2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Good atmosphere, good value food and drink. We were a large family with kids...you are very lucky to get a table if you are not eating. The one time we went (out of 3) we couldnt get a table, so had a drink and left.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rocko69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithys Tavern also viewed

L'Alpe-d'Huez, Isere
L'Alpe-d'Huez, Isere
 
L'Alpe-d'Huez, Isere
L'Alpe-d'Huez, Isere
 

Been to Smithys Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing