We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alpe D'Huez stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maeva Residence Les Melezes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maeva Residence Les Melezes
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“Alpe D'Huez stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Very nice stay for Families and good value for your money. It looked a bit empty in July when we were there, but I can imagine that this is not the case in busy winter season. Definitely worth to stay and visit though. We will come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs

Helpful?
Thank Petra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    31
    32
    6
    14
See reviews for
59
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

These apartments are in a great location, ski in and virtually ski out (just cross the road and climb up a bank). Our apartment had a fantastic view too. They are compact, there's no denying that, and I would advise not having to reply on the sofa for sleeping, otherwise you'll have to make up a bed every night. And space in the bedroom was definitely on the tight side (less than 12" around the bed). But, if like us, your aim is to ski all day then they are prefectly adequate. We would advise taking some basic cleaning supplies, such as dishwasher tablets and toilet rolls, so you don't have to buy it all, althought the supermarket (5 mins walk away) does sell individial dishwasher tablets.
So, if your ideal holiday is to spend a lot of time hanging around in a luxury apartment, then these are probably not for you But if your aim is to ski, ski, ski and enjoy good value for money then you should certainly consider these apartments.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hungary
Level Contributor
209 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

We arrived to Maeva les Melezes early, at about noon (you can in priniciple ask for your apartment from 5 p.m.) and we immediately got our keys from Laurie at the reception, which was very welcome as we were tired after 15 hours of driving.
We also got information brochures about Alpe d'Huez.
The studio was nicely furnished with a balcony looking south with a wonderful view.
In the afternoon there was a welcome drink organized by the staff which was nice too.
Everything was fine during our stay there, the staff was very friendly, they even organized a "pancake party" the last evening of our stay.
The apartment house is very well situated just near the main ski slopes and when you come back from skiing you can ski as far as the house.
Everywhere in Alpe d'Huez I felt the same thing as at Maeva: they care about guest in Alpe d'Huez and everybody is nice (tourist information, restaurants, shops etc...) There is real good atmosphere and always nice weather and snow with wonderful slopes!
We would definitely go back again! (it was our third time there!)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beabrigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Apartments very in terms of decor and furniture so some are more modern and stylish than the outdated photos on some web sites. Try and stay in one with a double cabin bedroom if you want a bit of space. It's dog friendly but there is a surcharge even though we rented the apartment on a self clean basis. Helpful reception staff but the hours are limited.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SalisburyWelshgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

You book the apartment through a rep who then has a contact in Alpe d'Huez that meets you with the key and information. We had never done anything like this and were pretty apprehensive. Didn't matter! The contact in Alpe d'Huez was super nice, spoke English, and was very helpful. The pictures you see on most websites are old. This apartment has been updated and has a nice sofabed in the living room. The bunkbeds and bedding are from IKEA. Small kitchenette with stove (4 electric burners), dishwasher, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, water cooker. Side table with plates, bowls, glasses, cups, and cutlery. Kitchen has a couple of pots large enough to cook macaroni or rice, and Tefal non-stick pans. Bathroom small but adequate. Regular tub with shower. Bedroom with bunkbeds also small with a small closet.

You will need to bring bath and kitchen towels and essentials like coffee, tea, etc etc can be bought at a super marché that's nearby. We also took our own bedding so we didn't have to worry about getting the apartment's bedding cleaned. You can pay a cleaning service when you leave and they will do that but we didn't and cleaned the apartment before we left.

The apartment was just right for 2 people, 4 would be very tight! We were there for Le Tour de France and were glad that we were in this apartment which is on the edge of the resort as it was quiet! If you want to be in the middle of the nightlife this isn't it...but it's a 10-minute walk to everything. There is a bar just below the apartment.

We really had a great time!! Shopping is close by, a bar and a cafe are also close. There is a golf course which the apartment looks out over in addition so the beautiful mountains. The altiport is on the other side of the gold course.

We are not skiers but it seemed that there were ski lifts very close-by. While there you MUST go up to Pic Blanc!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilieHettenvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

just returned from les melezes,we arrived at 1 pm with the rep expecting to find our room key in the safe, no such look ,we had to leave our cases etc in a insecure room until 5pm,so one of our party missed a afternoon skiing. not a good start. its one big plus is its position near the main lifts. other than this and the fact its warm with hot water it has few other plusses. the rooms are small, beds old and uncomfortable. all you get are your sheets, no towels ,no cleaning fluids or cloths , not even a toilet roll. during the stay the kettle broke but we were unable to get a replacement as reception was closed all day,as is often the case. the hotel is a good 10 mins walk from the busy part of the town.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Maeva Residence Les Melezes, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Many thanks for you response following your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the central location. We are sorry to hear that you had trouble accessing your accommodation and apologise for the inconvenience caused. We are also sorry that you were disappointed with the furnishings and size of your apartment. Our website and brochures outline room dimension, sizes, furnishings and equipment available. We do encourage that bigger groups upgrade to bigger rooms to ensure they have enough space to be comfortable. Our website and brochures also list the additional costs for "bolt on" extras such as towels, cleaning kits, parking etc. This allows customers to work out a total budget prior to booking. Again, thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review. We are committed to improving our standard of accommodation whenever we can therefore your comments are very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels

Belfast
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2010

These apartments are the worst I have ever stayed in in my entire life bar a hostel in Istanbul that cost £8/night when I was a student. Crystal Ski have them as a 3 rating in their brochure and price them accordingly yet when we arrived we found P&V's own brochure rated them as a 1 grade; so buyer beware. Our apartment was dirty to the extent of being a health hazard. My son and husband both got tummy bugs. The public toilets were filthy; the locker rooms were like a rat warren and smelt like one too; bring plenty of anti bacterial wipes if you are brave enough to stay in the unrefurbished part of the block which we ended up in and despite pleas to be upgraded at our expense we couldn't escape as everything else was fully booked. The location is good for families because you are away from the busy part of town so it was quiet at night, there are a few restaurants nearby but bear in mind that anything else is a bus journey away and these are very infrequent at night. Unless you pay £35 per head for the comfort plus you have to bring your own towels and make up your own beds and clean the apartment yourself on departure.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MickyBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Maeva Residence Les Melezes, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Many thanks for posting your review. We sincerely apologise for the incorrect listing in the Crystal Brochure and we will investigate this further with immediate effect. We are so sorry that the level of cleanliness at the resort during your stay was unacceptable. Please accept our sincere apologies and know that you review has been logged and has been passed onto our head office for immediate review. We do endeavour to rehouse any customers that are not satisfied with their room but this is subject to peak times. We're so sorry this was not possible during your stay. The exact location from facilities is listed on our website but we appreciate this may have been difficult for your family. Our website and brochure does also listed the prices for additional packages to have beds made on arrival, towels provided and additional cleaning. We do apoligise if this information was not made clear to you priort to arriving at the property. We strive to improve our level of serviuce at every oppotunity and will pass this onto head office for further consideration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers
0.6 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Horizons d'Huez
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les ...
#28 of 32 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Odalys Le Christiania
Residence Odalys Le Christiania
#25 of 32 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Club MMV Les Bergers
Hotel Club MMV Les Bergers
#2 of 32 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#5 of 32 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Petit Prince
Hotel Le Petit Prince
#18 of 32 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maeva Residence Les Melezes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maeva Residence Les Melezes

Property: Maeva Residence Les Melezes
Address: 236 route de l Altiport, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France (Formerly Résidence Maeva Les Mélèzes)
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maeva Residence Les Melezes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of “The Grandes Rousses” ski area. Direct access on skis. .A residence with south-eastern exposure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Maeva Residence Les Melezes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maeva Residence Les Melezes Hotel l`Alpe-d`Huez
Maeva Residence Les Melezes France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing