We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
somerset, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Conveniently located for both ski lift and town. Excellent food (although the chef left the same day as us with a skiing injury so this may change.) Superb afternoon cakes & biscuits and staff who were friendly & helpful. Basic but clean and functional bedrooms and shower rooms, nice balconies. If they could make good coffee - it veered between so weak that the milk barely changed colour and turkish strength complete with the grounds- and get the coffee pots and mugs clean the rating would have been higher.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derylanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    152
    77
    46
    20
See reviews for
245
55
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

0The rooms were decent and the location was ok. It's close to lifts but a 10 minute walk from town. However, asking the staff even the simplest of local questions was pointless as they didn't know or care to answer.

Even worse, on our last day we check out shortly after 10 and leave our bags in luggage storage. We return at 1 (2 o'clock bus). And the reception is closed from 12-4. No on thought to tell us. I call am emergency number posted but that goes to an answering machine. I searched the whole hotel for cleaning staff, but there's no one. I try the number again and get the answering machine again. Finally on my 3rd try someone picks up and tells me how it's my fault that I didn't know the reception closed. Finally she agrees to make a phone call On my behalf, but not before making it clear that she's not at my disposal. Finally someone comes down to open the room and comments that there are signs everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stringerbell1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. We are glad that you found your room and the location satisfactory. However, it is with deep regret that you experienced difficulties with the team in the residence and offer our sincere apologies that you were inconvenienced by the closure of the reception in the afternoon of your departure. Although we make every effort to advertise the closure of the reception during these hours our team should have ensured this was communicated to you personally at the time of taking your luggage to the storage room. We make every effort to ensure our resort teams are of the highest quality and regret that on this occassion you have been disappointed. We hope this apology goes some way to compensating for the negative points within your review, please rest assured that your feedback has been logged and passed on to the Management of the Residence to ensure no such situation arises in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

My boyfriend and I just stayed here for a triathlon in Alpe d'Huez. I would not recommend it. The room desperately needed refurbishing and the bathroom looked like something from a hospital. No shower curtain made showers difficult without getting the floor all wet. Not surprised that the floor was warped. Carpets were stained and old looking. We were shocked at the amount of money it cost to stay here given how shabby things were and could not possibly understand how the hotel could receive a four star rating. Two stars is more accurate. The only bed for us was a trundle bed - which was not stated in the information given when we booked it. The good things were the location - right near the race finish and the small kitchen was good for cooking.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfrance2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Thanks for posting your review following your stay with us. I wanted to apologies for the negative aspects of your stay, particularly the comments regarding the furnishings and upkeep of the apartment you and your partner were allocated. We are sorry that in this instance, our usual standards were not up to scratch and would like to personally reassure you that the residence is scheduled for refurbishment. Customers should be informed both at point of booking, and on the website, the layout of their rooms- this includes the location and type of bed in each room. Again, I can assure you that the negative aspects of your review have been noted and will also pass onto Management of the Residence for further investigation. Please accept our apologies and we hope to see you at one of our residences again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels

england,minehead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Cannot think of the language to describe the service from French staff, including a made up charge of £500 for damages upon departure of a spotless room. shocking stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Site Manager for Les Bergers at Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers, responded to this review, July 27, 2009
Dear ed11111,
I'd like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us.
Unfortunately you haven't included much information about your stay and incurred fees so I can't address your stay in detail. Please do register a complaint via our website and one of our staff at head offices can deal with your complaint individually.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Stayed in apartments for 6 people, there were four adults and two teenage children in our party. We had enough sleeping space for all of us. bunks in the entrance hall, bed settee with pull out bed underneath, in living area and separate room with double bed.
Had enough room for luggage.
Thought that cooking facilities were good, plenty of saucepans, cups plates etc. all clean. Found that four solid cooking plates heated up quickly, we ate in everynight and cooked quite substantial meals easily. Only one of us drank coffee, so had to boil water in a saucepan to make tea, as there was a coffee maker but no kettle, there was a teapot, which didnt make sense.
Bedlinen and duvets were clean, beds were comfortable, but one pillow per person is not enough. Apartment was warm, perhaps too warm at times. Felt that overall there was a good level of equipment eg clothes airer, retractable clothes line over bath, plenty of hanging space, vacuum cleaner.
Great location, close to some lifts and shops, although the stock in the supermarket wasnt good midweek. We went to the Spar in the centre of the town, using the free bus, there are stops close to the apartment. Kids used the outdoor pool, which they said was warm. Great views from our balcony, got the sun for most of the day, which was good for drying gloves.
Felt that in general the whole building is in need of a really good clean, tidy up and redecoration.
The reception area wasnt particularly clean when we arrived, this was the only time we were in it. Didnt use the restaurant or bar.
Had read other reviews that had mentioned about a smell from the toilet, this hit you the minute the apartment door was opened on arrival. You needed to keep the toilet door closed at all times. Unfortunately for our 13 year old son, he got locked in the toilet on arrival, as the lock on the door stuck and he couldnt get it open. This was sorted out very quickly by the reception staff, who sent someone to fix it.
Some of the furniture had seen better days, the curtains certainly needed replaced they had holes in them and were hanging off the windows. The carpets had stains on them. The whole apartment needed a good clean and redecorated, but we put that down partly to it being close to the end of the season. We had only one settee, which doubled as a bed that was comfortable to sit on. It was big enough for two adults and the two kids to sit on, which meant that two others had to sit on hard chairs. After a days skiing it is nice to have somewhere comfortable to sit, so mostly two of us resorted to lying on the beds. It would have been better to have less chests of drawers, which were never used and had two more comfortable chairs to sit on in the living area.
Some nights we washed our one bath and hand towel, that you get per person, in the washing machine in the laundry. didnt find this a particular problem, but there was a picture on top of the machine that showed free soap powder, didnt find it. Had brought soap powder tablets with us. Cost 5 Euro for machine, didnt use tumble dryer, hung the towels over chairs and they were dry the next morning.
Would definitely stay here again, but would be god if the apartments were refurbished.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aep0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Site Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers, responded to this review, June 1, 2009
Dear aep0,
Thank you for your positive review, we're glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

In regards to your brief points on cleanliness, I can assure you that we have high standards of cleanliness and a strict procedure in place to ensure that all of our apartments are cleaned thoroughly and appliances checked before new guests arrive.

In addition to ensuring that all rooms are spotlessly clean for new guests, it is our policy to check that all facilities and furnishings work correctly. We apologise that, in this instance, the situation was not resolved to your satisfaction. We appreciate that sometimes problems arise outside of our normal reception hours. We are happy to report that we now have a member of staff ‘on call’at all times who can deal with technical difficulties and customer queries swiftly

I hope you choose to visit one of our residences again soon.

Very best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed at the P&V Les Bergers last week for a family ski holiday, and found that the sub standard accommodation on offer at this hotel really put a dampener on the whole trip.

If you are travelling with small children, then please take great care whenever using the main entrance doors, as they are extremely heavy, spring loaded, and could very easily cause serious harm.

On entering the reception area, you will get your first glimpse of the dilapidation that is rife throughout the hotel. You could easily be forgiven for thinking that you had been transported back to the 1970’s!

We were checked in to room 217, only to find that the radiator in the bedroom was hanging dangerously from the wall at a 90 degree angle, and presenting a serious safety issue.

I tried to explain that this was not acceptable to the Relceptionist, but he refused to even come and look at the problem, or initially offer us an alternative room. After much heated discussion on my part, we were eventually offered room 302.

Unfortunately for us, things just went from bad to worse. On entering the new room, we were hit by strongest smell of cigarette smoke imaginable. The carpets were badly stained and threadbare, dirt and dust was everywhere, and the toilet stank of urine. The top of the fridge had completely melted, and the oven hob was filthy. Rubbish had also been left in several drawers.

At breakfast the next morning, we quickly realised that all of the cutlery and crockery needed washing, as it was encrusted with food from the previous occupants.
During our stay we had to call for maintenance to appliances on 4 separate occasions. Twice for a faulty cooker, and twice for a blocked drain & broken plugs in the bath, which resulted in us being unable to take a bath for the first two days (just what you don’t need after skiing).

Despite buying 2 scented candles, an air freshener, and leaving the balcony doors open at every opportunity, we were unable to get rid of the smell of smoke for the duration of our stay. Needless to say all of our clothes and belongings were affected as well.
We were also unable to do anything about the smell of urine in the toilet, despite buying bleach to try and eradicate it. We also had to endure the awful stench of drains every time we ran the bathroom taps.

The locker room was mainly wet, smelly and damp. If you left your ski boots in it overnight, then they were unlikely to dry out.

There is a restaurant within the hotel, but given the low levels of hygiene that we had already encountered, we didn’t bother to patronise it.

Overall, we found this hotel to be in a very poor state of repair, and witnessed no evidence of any Management. The 4 stars shown on the front facia are utterly farcical. If you spend any time around the reception area, then you are likely to witness other guests with complaints.

The only good things that I can say about this hotel are that it is well located – the “Les Bergers” area is handy for the slopes, supermarket and restaurants. In addition, there was always a supply of hot water.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matttScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2009

This was our first time in Alpe d'Huez and we would return to the resort and to the hotel. There were three of us in our party and we had a room on the ground floor with a view of the pool and the mountains. The room had two single beds in an alcove off the hallway and a sofa bed in the living area with an other bed underneath. The room would have been cramped with the other bed pulled out.The room was warm and clean. Our main complaint would be that the pillows were really flat and there was only one pillow per bed. There is a small cooking area - 2 rings and a microwave - adequate for cooking pasta etc and a table and chairs.
You get a ski locker in the hotel's ski room and this was fine although we kept our boots in our room after we couldn't get them on the first day and the man in the hire shop said it was because they were cold and we should keep them in the room..

There is a shopping centre just across the street with a supermarket, restaurants and ski hire and the slopes and the ski-school are just behind that.

We didn't have any problems with the hotel, it's location can't be faulted and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPJ31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#4 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maeva Residence Les Melezes
Maeva Residence Les Melezes
#24 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Club MMV Les Bergers
Hotel Club MMV Les Bergers
#2 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Horizons d'Huez
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les ...
#27 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenrose Hotel
Alpenrose Hotel
#9 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
#5 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers
Address: 336 avenue des Marmottes, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in L'Alpe-d'Huez
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in L'Alpe-d'Huez
#7 Luxury Hotel in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Grandes Rousses ski area, just 100 metres from the ski lifts.Heated outdoor swimming pool overlooking the valley. Savoyard speciality restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers Hotel l`Alpe-d`Huez
Pierre And Vacances Residence Les Bergers
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing