We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed at Les Bergers for 2 nights on a summer visit to Alpe D'Huez. Apartment was clean and seemed to be well equipped although we only used the self catering facilities for breakfast. Reception staff were welcoming and helpful. Ideal location both for both Summer and Winter holidays.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tkette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    159
    77
    48
    22
See reviews for
252
60
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cestas, France
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Apart'hotel, good compromise between hotel and apart rental.
The pros: near the ski lifts, pool/sauna in the residence, chimney with billiard and sofas, apartment quite big for winter apartment, services for food at arrival (optional) and cleaning products kit at arrival quite convenient, restaurant, reasonable price
The cons: noisy, a little bit old, maintenance of the apartment very poor
Ask for an apartment in the south side for winter.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Garcia33610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay with us. We are glad that you were happy with the resort location, the size of the apartments, the facilities including swimming pool and sauna, and the reasonable price. We are sorry that you experienced noise during your stay, we have a "no noise after 10pm" policy at our residences but regret that there can still be disturbances caused by noise outside the ski resort. We also accept that there are some rooms in our residence which need updating and we're pleased to confirm that refurbishment is scheduled to start next year. We have logged your review on the resort and its facilities and will pass your comments onto head office and our management teams. We are committed to improving our guests stay whenever we can, therefore your feedback is very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

This is our second visit to this hotel/self catering apartment. We like this because of the location. It is literally 200 meters from the hotel to the shops/ski lifts/ski school. It's a great base for the holiday, especially for kids.

The hotel is functional and reasonably comfortable. It is a skiing holiday. The apartments are clean and has got everything you need. The beds are basic but clean and reasonable comfortable to sleep on.

They have a heated outdoor pool which is great after a day's skiing. It is nice and warm too. It is really strange swimming outdoor whist it is snowing but it was fun, especially for the kids.

Will definately return.

The local supermarket (350 meters away) stock most things that you may need to cook or if have forgotten to bring anything (e.g. toiletries).

We hired our skis through Alpiski (Les Bergers) which is 200 meters from the hotel. If you booking in advance on line, they offer 40% discount.

There are lots of restaurants to choose from if you want to eat out. The town centre is only a 15 minutes walk.

If you intend to go ice skating, the leaflets tell you that it opens everyday from the morning till 10pm. You should check first because this is only true for 2 nights a week. For the others, they have other activities in the evening.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewFromEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset, England
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Conveniently located for both ski lift and town. Excellent food (although the chef left the same day as us with a skiing injury so this may change.) Superb afternoon cakes & biscuits and staff who were friendly & helpful. Basic but clean and functional bedrooms and shower rooms, nice balconies. If they could make good coffee - it veered between so weak that the milk barely changed colour and turkish strength complete with the grounds- and get the coffee pots and mugs clean the rating would have been higher.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derylanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

0The rooms were decent and the location was ok. It's close to lifts but a 10 minute walk from town. However, asking the staff even the simplest of local questions was pointless as they didn't know or care to answer.

Even worse, on our last day we check out shortly after 10 and leave our bags in luggage storage. We return at 1 (2 o'clock bus). And the reception is closed from 12-4. No on thought to tell us. I call am emergency number posted but that goes to an answering machine. I searched the whole hotel for cleaning staff, but there's no one. I try the number again and get the answering machine again. Finally on my 3rd try someone picks up and tells me how it's my fault that I didn't know the reception closed. Finally she agrees to make a phone call On my behalf, but not before making it clear that she's not at my disposal. Finally someone comes down to open the room and comments that there are signs everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stringerbell1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. We are glad that you found your room and the location satisfactory. However, it is with deep regret that you experienced difficulties with the team in the residence and offer our sincere apologies that you were inconvenienced by the closure of the reception in the afternoon of your departure. Although we make every effort to advertise the closure of the reception during these hours our team should have ensured this was communicated to you personally at the time of taking your luggage to the storage room. We make every effort to ensure our resort teams are of the highest quality and regret that on this occassion you have been disappointed. We hope this apology goes some way to compensating for the negative points within your review, please rest assured that your feedback has been logged and passed on to the Management of the Residence to ensure no such situation arises in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

My boyfriend and I just stayed here for a triathlon in Alpe d'Huez. I would not recommend it. The room desperately needed refurbishing and the bathroom looked like something from a hospital. No shower curtain made showers difficult without getting the floor all wet. Not surprised that the floor was warped. Carpets were stained and old looking. We were shocked at the amount of money it cost to stay here given how shabby things were and could not possibly understand how the hotel could receive a four star rating. Two stars is more accurate. The only bed for us was a trundle bed - which was not stated in the information given when we booked it. The good things were the location - right near the race finish and the small kitchen was good for cooking.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfrance2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Thanks for posting your review following your stay with us. I wanted to apologies for the negative aspects of your stay, particularly the comments regarding the furnishings and upkeep of the apartment you and your partner were allocated. We are sorry that in this instance, our usual standards were not up to scratch and would like to personally reassure you that the residence is scheduled for refurbishment. Customers should be informed both at point of booking, and on the website, the layout of their rooms- this includes the location and type of bed in each room. Again, I can assure you that the negative aspects of your review have been noted and will also pass onto Management of the Residence for further investigation. Please accept our apologies and we hope to see you at one of our residences again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels

england,minehead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Cannot think of the language to describe the service from French staff, including a made up charge of £500 for damages upon departure of a spotless room. shocking stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Site Manager for Les Bergers at Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers, responded to this review, July 27, 2009
Dear ed11111,
I'd like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us.
Unfortunately you haven't included much information about your stay and incurred fees so I can't address your stay in detail. Please do register a complaint via our website and one of our staff at head offices can deal with your complaint individually.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Alpe-d'Huez
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#2 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maeva Residence Les Melezes
Maeva Residence Les Melezes
#24 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpenrose Hotel
Alpenrose Hotel
#9 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
121 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mercure Les Deux Alpes 1800 Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
#5 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers
Address: 336 avenue des Marmottes, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in L'Alpe-d'Huez
#7 Luxury Hotel in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Grandes Rousses ski area, just 100 metres from the ski lifts.Heated outdoor swimming pool overlooking the valley. Savoyard speciality restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre And Vacances Residence Les Bergers
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers Hotel l`Alpe-d`Huez
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Bergers France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing