We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly”

La Plage des Neiges
Ranked #24 of 74 Restaurants in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

A lovely piste side restaurant with a tasty plat du jour Nd really friendly French staff who remembered us and made us feel very welcome. My son got a chance to practice his French, which was nice, and the food was plentiful and very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizzypoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    47
    16
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best stop for lunch”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Sunny days on the terrace cold days inside. Lovely, friendly service and good value food. This is the perfect place to stop for a hot chocolate , a quick snack (best chips ever) or a full meal. Specialises in classic mountain cuisine

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeenBeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bien et sympa”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The French Texans elected to make La Plage des Neiges as our canteen during our last stay in l' Alpe d' huez this week. we loved the excellent food composed either of pizzas or great salads (Montagnard & paysanne are excellent). The portions are very generous (US size :-) ) and the cafe Gourmand is to die for.
A bit pricey but this is one of the trademarks of l' Alpe d' Huez. As for the service, it was quite fast and always done with a smile.
For us, La Plage des Neige is quite a departure from traditional mountain food and this is welcomed!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank French_Texans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I know you can do better”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I went to this restaurant last time I was in Alpe d'Huez several years ago, and it was considerably busier with a bigger outside seating area than before.

Sadly, this expansion appears to have had a detrimental impact on quality of service. The waiter took an age to notice us and take our order, and when the food came, it did not arrive together.

The first order (a pizza) was delicious, but I was able to finish the entire thing before we got the burger we ordered. After waiting about 15 minutes more, we flagged down the waiter who had forgotten we even ordered the burger!

When the burger eventually arrived, it was cold, and almost totally raw and uncooked. When I called the waiter over and pointed this out, he reluctantly took the burger back and a new one was made up (which tasted great when it was cooked properly). The waiter made no apology for either his inattentive or forgetful service, and seemed downright offended we dared to question if the first burger was cooked properly.

Overall, not as good as it used to be :(

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and fab pizza”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Great situation close to green run.
Friendly local dog that likes lots of fuss!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Plage des Neiges also viewed

L'Alpe-d'Huez, Isere
 
L'Alpe-d'Huez, Isere
L'Alpe-d'Huez, Isere
 

Been to La Plage des Neiges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing