We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort and skiing. Poor hotel.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Hotel Mariandre
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great resort/skiing. Usual excellent staff from Esprit - always helpful. Hotel shabby - clean but needs a full makeover. Meals - average. Location, v. good - nearest lift 50m and just about ski-in. We use Esprit for their childcare and we weren't disappointed.

A few pointers which may help:

Ski hire for children is competitive through Esprit but not for adults. Esprit use Altitude Sports (Skimium) which is directly under the hotel so book on the internet before you leave.

Lift pass - if you have more than 10 days before you arrive, book a family pass over the internet. Otherwise buy in resort. There is a lift pass sales office next to the hotel in the Tourist Office. Do not use Esprit, they charge in euros then process the credit card transaction in sterling using a poor exchange rate and a transaction fee. Office opens at 8:45. One thing that really hacked us off and a number of other guests is that if your children are in ski school (Esprit use ESF), ESF sell heavily discounted lift passes. We complained to the hotel manager but they have only just found out, apparently. We were there in March towards the end of the season, I don't think so!

Overall rating is poor due to hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keepers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EspritHolidays, Manager at Chalet Hotel Mariandre, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

It is unfortunate that, despite our weekly communication with them, the ESF did not advise our resort team of the offers in respect of lift passes that they offer as part of their own ‘learn to ski’ package, which would be available to all nationalities, with a designated meeting place within the resort, which obviously differs from our own Sprite children’s ski classes and all that they entail.
The Chalet Hotel Mariandre has always been well received by our guests so it is disappointing that ‘Keepers3’ felt the property to be shabby and the catering average. Feedback to date from our guests has been positive in respect of the meals served to both our adult and child guests, as it has for the child care that our experienced team have provided, which we are pleased was well-received by this family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Hotel Mariandre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 67 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a great week in Alpe D'Huez thanks to ski esprit. As has been said in a lot of these reviews, the hotel decor & furnishings are tired & shabby but comfortable & the hotel is warm & welcoming with plenty of red hot water & good showers & baths! We had room
108 which has an adjoining bunk room for the two kids & was great (one bed was very creaky though & there were some sharp screw ends sticking out of my bed! But the latter was fixed mid holiday)

Our main issue was with communication - the welcome meeting (where all the info was given) was at 7pm with dinner at 8pm - we had two tired & over excited kiddies to settle to bed and so there was no way we could get to a meeting! What a crazy time to give all your info when EVERYONE has kids to put to bed!?! We were therefore on the back foot all week & there was no folder available with all the info printed in case you missed the meeting!

Esprit.. Please change your welcome meeting times to after dinner or during dessert?!

After that we got conflicting info depending on which staff member we asked - we were late for our 5 year olds ski lesson on day one because the assistant manager told us the wrong time & I was told by the hotel manager I needed to take said 5 year old with me to the tourist office to get his ski pass (as they needed a photo of him) & so rushed him to get ready early & it turned out they didn't need to see him at all .. Little things, but frustrating

Also we were really disappointed that we just didn't get shown out children's diaries at the end of each day.. The childcare team seemed tired & had let this paperwork slip (we spoke to the childcare manager about this & he apologised)

This would've been a fantastic holiday had it not been for these little gripes.. These things are easily fixed with a little thought & creativity so lets hope esprit refurb the management behaviour when they refurb the hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Girldymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EspritHolidays, Manager at Chalet Hotel Mariandre, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

We are pleased that, overall, this reviewer was satisfied with their holiday with us in the Chalet Hotel Mariandre and that our management team in the property reacted well to issues that were brought to their attention. Naturally the recommendations that have been made have been passed to the hotel management team, though it can of course be difficult for a welcome brief to be scheduled around the differing arrival times of guests and at a time when it does not disrupt enjoyment of the evening meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was the first time that we have used Esprit and we would definitely use them again. The hotel is nice enough and in a pretty good location - you can ski almost to the door. The food was really good but the staff are the ones that make it great! They were extremely helpful and couldn't do enough for you. It was also clear to see that they genuinely loved what they were doing and working with kids etc. This was my son's first skiing holiday (aged 4 1/2) and he loved every minute of it which was in part down to the staff here as well as the ski instructor (who was great too).
So thankyou Esprit and will no doubt see you next season!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Really good holiday here. Staff are great and do their best to ensure you have a great time. The hotel itself is a little tired but it is clean and warm and everything works. Comfortable beds, powerful hot showers, nice relaxed bar area. Great crèche and nursery for kids which they really enjoyed and were brilliantly looked after.
Dinner was fine, a little bit of style over substance but generally tasty and well prepared. My only criticism was the breakfast which was a bit too budget for me. I was quite happy with baguette and cheese but the other options were not great. This included cheap bright pink salami on the buffet and processed white bread for the toaster. The cooked options were often poor including budget sausages I wouldn't eat, inedible porridge made with water, cold stodgy pancakes and uncooked boiled eggs. You know what though in the scheme of things it didn't matter as the staff were a delight.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukproptoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just back from a wonderful week ski-ing with Esprit.

From the start to the end it was wonderful!

From the moment Esprit greeted us at the airport they couldn't have tried harder to make us happy. The coach journey was good (if a little twisty!). Once at the hotel the staff grabbed the bags and took them to our rooms whilst we had afternoon tea!

We got our skis etc from next door - all arranged and waiting for us, same with passes etc.

We had our girls (6 & 7) and first timers) booked into the Ski club and snow club. We dropped them off on the first morning and they had their 2 hour lesson and then played all day (games, bum boarding, sledging etc) - we picked them up exhausted (them and us) at 6pm after their dinner. They had such fun that they refused to spend any more time away from the club than they had too! They were desperate to go to Night Club too!

One of the biggest attractions for us was the small ski class sizes. I really noticed it on the slopes when stalking (in disguise) our kids. We had one who was in a class of 4 with an instructor and an Esprit minder and the other in a class of 3, with instructor and minder. Some of the other companies (Club Med) had upwards of 10 kids with only the ESF instructor. It really did make the difference for them - they got so much more from the ski instructor....as he didn't have to worry about toilet breaks or accents etc....

One of the best things about Esprit is the staff! They really do make you feel like they care and its not just another week with another group! Everyone from the bar staff, childcare, managers and wait staff all go out of their way to make you feel special.

During our trip it was Australia Day. The staff really did go above and beyond.....with a painted flag and a wonderful picture of a kangaroo.......really made the kids feel like they didn't miss out on the big day........

The food was fantastic! Each meal was really really good. Getting the menu at breakfast and choosing your evening meal was great - we had trouble choosing what to have! The chefs do a really good job.

My girls are not too picky eaters and they found the kids food pretty good. If they didn't like something on offer they were always given something else so they didn't go hungry.

The accommodation........well its skiing so we don't expect too much. Its fine. It is getting a huge re-verb this year. The rooms are ok - nothing special and nothing horrid....just ok. BUT we didn't do anything other than crash at night so it was ok. The water was ALWAYS hot - so plenty of easing sore muscles!

The ski-ing was everything we wanted and more.......the kids now have the bug to sk (great as we live SOOOOOO far from snow);.

I would book to go with Esprit again in a heart beat. The kids programme is great - if the kids are happy and well looked after then the parents can ski and ski and ski.......the food was good, the wine plentiful.....what more can you ask for.

Thank you all for a wonderful holiday!

Room Tip: We had roomm 108 which was a twin with a connecting bunk room (with own WC) - worked really well for...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theperthharmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at the Mariandre for a week in July and had a fantastic summer holiday! We had previously skied with Esprit and loved their childcare, the quality of the dining, in fact, pretty much everything about the trip! I can now confidently say that their summer holidays are just as good, with a a much less hurried pace and a relaxed and friendly atmosphere throughout the hotel all week.

Yes, the Mariandre could do with an upgrade to its decor and furnishings, but I think this has happened in the lounge area and all areas are kept clean which is a higher priority for me as a mum. Focus instead on the amazing cuisine (thanks to Chris and his team), the quality childcare and the stunning views. Alpe d'Huez is alive and kicking during the summer months thanks to the biking fraternity(mountain and road), this made for plenty to do out of the hotel and plenty of choice for eating out.

The week we were there, most families had driven out but we opted to fly/drive through Geneva and this worked well. All in all a great trip which we hope to repeat again next year. Thank you Esprit!

Room Tip: Book early for a suite or inter-connecting rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EasyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Booked after much research taking my 10 year old daughter on her first skiing trip.
lets start with the flights and transfer. Gatwick to Chamburey was delayed and after an early start this was frustrating but not the end of the world, Arrived a few hours late to be met by a very efficient Esprit rep. First class and guided us to our coach for a 1hour 45 min journey to the resort. Not a bad journey and a relief that the transfer time was short. The rep organised the essentials for the week on route i.e ski passes, hire equipment etc. very organised.
The Hotel itself was clean and tidy and the room was fine for the 2 of us with 2 single beds small bath with a shower. Plenty of hot water. Could have done with some more chest of drawers and the decor was looking a bit tired. However it was clean and tidy and the reception area which includes the bar was comfortable. Food while not Michelin standard was good with only a few hit and miss courses with free wine, Watch out for the bar bills though. While not silly it was easy especially with a young one to rack up a fairly high bar bill . Booked with Esprit as I wanted half board and lessons and cover for my daughter. What can I say but excellent. One could see that the staff were chosen carefully to ensure that they could entertain and mix with the children exceptionally well. When my daughter went on her lessons not only was all the skis transported but a ski ranger from Esprit went with them for extra cover and the normal things like slapping on extra sun tan lotion. My daughter loved the children's club which gave me the opportunity to ski from 9am to 2pm and then meet up with her and by midway through the week we were skiing together albeit only on blues but hey my legs are getting older. In the evening most of the children joined the club which went from 7.30 to 10am .I had to prize her away .
In terms of child care,safety and brilliance I cannot recommend Esprit highly enough. Make sure though you book lunch for your child if they are old enough and the evening club. One word of warning if you need some lessons book in advance for morning ones as when I arrived all the ski schools were full. Ski Ecole is not the only one in France. Look online in advance. Apart from needing a refurb and I am being a bit niggley here the holiday was fantastic and my daughter loved it. I have created a very expensive passion for her. I did travel in term time late Feb and got a very good deal with half board, ski equipment and passes. Final note the Hotel location is very good close by to the lifts and chairs and I mean close by. Easy to launch your tired legs and body for another days full on skiing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Graeme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these L'Alpe-d'Huez hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#2 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alp'azur
Hotel Alp'azur
#14 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Castillan
Le Castillan
#7 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
Hotel-Spa Royal Ours Blanc
#5 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Petit Prince
Hotel Le Petit Prince
#16 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Mariandre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Mariandre

Address: Place Joseph Paganon, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > L'Alpe-d'Huez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Specialty Lodging in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Price Range: $63 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Chalet Hotel Mariandre France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing