We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Le Genepi

Le Genepi
Ranked #62 of 74 Restaurants in L'Alpe-d'Huez
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Two of us had a great meal in here last week (chalet staff night off). We were staying in Altiport, but when our rep booked, the restaurant offered to collect us and drive us home. Thanks to Dave ( the bar man), we were spared a long walk in a blizzard (cheers Dave!).
The restaurant was full from 8pm, but very cosy and a nice atmosphere. Food and service were great. We had the hot stone (pierrade), beef, veal and duck, which was served with baked potato, salad and bread, followed by crime brûlée and a myrtle berry tart. Nice bottle of red, and a couple of kir royales, 44 Euros each, which we thought good value. A couple of shots of Genepi provided by the restaurant rounded off the evening nicely. Would definitely come again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cinders70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    56
    32
    22
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
144 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Traditional French Restaurant With Character”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited last week as a party of four. The food was good, as was the value. Service was good and very friendly, although they were very busy, as it was chalet staff night off. It is sited in old Alpe D'Huez, and the building has bags of character. We last came here three years ago, and standards have been maintained.

Helpful?
Thank Ducati50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect alpine feed”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Hot stones, raclette, tarteflette and fondu! What more could you want from a holiday restaurant? It's in the beautiful old village too which was great to walk to and especially back from with full bellies!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Snugs29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere - lovely food - Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great ambience, great service - food was really tasty. We had a lovely evening and Paddy, the Irish barman dropped us back up the hill. Fab night!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank FleurMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level Contributor
160 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“OK, but just OK.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Four of us visited one evening last week. All in all it was OK, just OK. Although there were plenty of available tables, they put us on a small table in the corner. We ordered two plates of cote de boeuf. There was insufficient room for the platters when they arrived and even with an extension table added to one side, the table was very cramped.

The starters were excellent, but the main courses just didn't hit the spot. They were served up as great chunks of beef which was off-putting in itself. Presentation was poor and when ordering a relatively expensive dish, one would expect the meat to be neatly sliced, not served in chunks. Maybe they had cooked several pieces of beef rather than just one, to be sliced, for each dish? We certainly didn't have any problem with the size of the portions - and failed to finish - so maybe they were a little too generous!

The wine list was fine with good choice at various price levels. The owner was an interesting chap who put Jethro Tull's "Aqualung" LP on towards the end of our meal. Just shows how old we are as I don't think many diners would have recognised such an old record!

We were comped shots of Genepi by a friendly younger waiter when we had finished dining.

Probably the one thing which kept my overall rating at three stars was the attitude of the rather portly waiter (you can guess that the remains of our beef probably didn't get as far as the bins!)who had served our meals and had been friendly and reasonably chatty. When we paid the bill (already loaded with the obliglatory 15% service charge), he took the cash & credit card slip, added them together, realised we had not left any extra tip on top of the meal cost and service charge, muttered something under his breath and walked away. It was left to the owner to walk us to the door and wish us a good evening. What a shame! One of our party is going back to the resort in a couple of weeks with friends, but he won't be going back there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pod-from-Sevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Genepi also viewed

L'Alpe-d'Huez, Isere
L'Alpe-d'Huez, Isere
 
L'Alpe-d'Huez, Isere
 

Been to Le Genepi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing