We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great and historical spot outside of Stress ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Mas de Chastelas
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Gassin
Certificate of Excellence
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great and historical spot outside of Stress ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We enjoyed this place of piece and silence outside of little bit snobby and crowded St Tropez. Nice ambience and smell of history not been destroyed with "modern" restoration an re-building. We stayed in main building. Rooms were lovely and with some local touch. Very nice and professional staff. Being world travellers, this was one of the most organised places, where we felt all staff works as a Team. And not because they have to ...., we felt they like the job they are doing. Lucky manager having such a great Team.
The best is to use hotels offered transfer to the city and the beaches. This is much easer than go with your car (avoid of traffic jams) or have quite pricy taxi.
Food in the hotel is nice. But if you would like to dine outside of the hotel, I would recommend Restaurant La Verdoyante located 5 minutes by car towards the village Gassin.

Room Tip: Higher floor may give better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dainis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OValentin, General Manager at Le Mas de Chastelas, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Danis K,

We thank you for your positive and interesting feedback about Le Mas de Chastelas.

It is a pleasure to read that world travellers like you have appreciated your stay in our hotel and the work done by all of our staff. We feel very honoured.

We have been happy to have you here as guests and we hope that we will be able to welcoming you again on your next visit to Saint-Tropez.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    20
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
57
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zermatt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was looking for a place nearby St. Tropez and booked it on the Internet few days before, without searching too much. The stay was full of great surprise... the hotel is located just at the entry of St Tropez, which is very convenient in avoiding the inner-city traffic jam in summer. The hotel is rather small, with a nice pool and offers a great oasis of quietness for guests. By arriving, I had the nice surprise of being upgraded to a suite.
I had a great breakfast at the pool with a very attentive staff. Rooms were big and clean.

The hotel is offering a car service to most beaches, which is great and relaxing.
Bit expensive, but it was high seasons

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baodai999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OValentin, General Manager at Le Mas de Chastelas, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Baodai999,

It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Le Mas de Chastelas.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future. May be another occasion for you to discover also the pleasures of the Saint-Tropez peninsula outside high season…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I was expecting a charming, artistically renovated farmhouse-type hotel with an overdose of luxury. I envisioned a gorgeous pool nestled around palms and flowers, chic interiors with perfectly placed antiques and art, and a fluffy four-poster bed with views of a magical vineyard. I mostly got this; however, I will say I am a bit disappointed in the room. We stayed in a separate building that I approximate to have been built in the 1990's and hasn't been thought about much since. I wanted thick stone walls and maybe the feeling that a ghost could be lurking, but what we stayed in was something similar to a higher-end condo with a shabby chic finish. Maybe the rooms in the main building are better. The service was friendly; the food was not bad enough to complain, not good enough to rave about. The pool is very pretty, as is the reception and bar area. I think they could work on the ambiance of the dining room, it felt a bit stuffy in a not grandiose way. All in all, I enjoyed the stay and would recommend it for a few nights as an almost-luxury hotel close to St Tropez.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if there ARE good rooms...????
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HauteTravelBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We booked le mas de chastelas on the day we arrived as we had had enough with our more budget style accom on the beach and it was just the tonic we needed.

The pool and welcome drinks area was beautiful and relaxing. The service and hospitality was outstanding - our 3 year old loved the blow up dinosaur that was brought to her in the pool.

The deluxe room was very spacious - even with 3 beds and it was nice to have bath with occitane products. The room was in the original house and nicely decorated in provincial style.

Our dinner next the pool was fabulous and good value - again the service was impeccable.

Even though we checked out the next morning we were able to keep our car there and use the shuttle service to st tropez which removed the stress of driving/ dealing with crowds ourselves so very much appreciated.

We didnt have the breakfast - 30 euros seemed a bit steep - although judging by dinner is probably good if you are hungry.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danlewsca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

It was our first stay in St. Tropez and we don't regret at all choosing Mas de Chastelas. The hotel is located in a very quiet area not far from the center (some 5-10 min drive) and Pampelonne beach (15 min drive). The staff is VERY attentive. The hotel has free parking which is convenient. I can identify two negative points only. Rooms are pricey, but if booked through hotel by phone, they are even more expensive than through their own website. Second point is that the room at Toscana villa is 'overdesigned'. The bathroom is not separated at all from your bed. In fact, if the two of you take your shower before going to bed, make sure that you have your windows open for some 10 minutes to get rid of humidity.
The other things with the hotel are really great and we would recommend it for those who don't mind paying a bit extra.

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms in the main building are more 'Provence style'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aran_bako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valbonne, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

I often go to saint tropez for weekends and holidays but this hotel is the best one in the area. It is located in a quiet, charming venue! The only negative point is the price. The prices are much to high but other than that all of our stays have been simply wonderful with no further complaints. Make sure to go as I would highly recommend it!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank clarkiyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

We felt at home in this very charming hotel but with all the luxury you expect from a 4stars. we stayed in tastefully decorated and wide suite with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms perfect for a family with 2 kids, spent lazy time around the fireplace and even enjoyed the beautiful garden in December. Very friendly staff. We definitely want to come back.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gassin
1.1 mi away
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
#2 of 13 in Gassin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Belrose Hotel
Villa Belrose Hotel
#1 of 13 in Gassin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Cosy
Hotel Villa Cosy
#2 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
La Bastide de Saint Tropez
La Bastide de Saint Tropez
#9 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Bastide d'Antoine
La Bastide d'Antoine
#3 of 13 in Gassin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
#5 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas de Chastelas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas de Chastelas

Property: Le Mas de Chastelas
Address: route Saint Tropez | Quartier Bertaud, 83580 Gassin, Saint-Tropez, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez > Gassin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Gassin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Mas de Chastelas 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened at the end of the 60’s in an authentical 18th Century Provençal mansion, this exclusive and confidential hotel has become today a high-end Boutique-Hotel complex, nestled in the heart of 3 hectares of Mediterranean gardens overlooking the vineyards of the Domaine Bertaud-Bélieu. Ideally situated at the beginning of the peninsula, Le Mas de Chastelas offers the luxury of its wide spaces and as well as a restful tranquillity, just a few minutes away from the excitement of the magical St-Tropez. Three universes are combined on a single domain. Next to the swimming pool, La Bastide, the Provençal mansion of origin, proposes 10 rooms and 3 suites of unique luxury, reflecting the historical character of the house. La Villa Palladienne, facing the park, offers 2 rooms and 4 suites decorated in an elegant yet relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Mas de Chastelas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing