We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable hilltop village dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Micocoulier

Le Micocoulier
Place des Barrys, 83580 Gassin, Saint-Tropez, France
+33 (0)4 94 56 14 01
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Gassin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Memorable hilltop village dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were a group of 3 adults, a baby and 2 teenagers.

Hilltop dining is one of the great South of France eating experiences and this restaurant didn't disappoint. Lovely views, nice cool breeze.

Food (fish and meat dishes) were excellent, service quick, and we had a particularly helpful server who saw to it that Arthur, 9 months old, was taken care of well.

Arthur did start to cry midway thru the meal but theres a nice little walkway where Mum can take arthur until he goes back to sleep.

After the meal, we walked back to the car thru the old village - a pity the shops were closed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jack m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    108
    28
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
solihull
Level Contributor
580 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Good food and beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Beautiful location with the view of St Tropez bay from the terrace on a lovely warm evening.We were going to have the €29.00 three course menu but it was limited on choice so we paid the supplements from the a la carte which then made it on average to €36 to €40.00 per head and the food was very good.
On arrival the waitress was very friendly and helpful (very keen) to offer a cocktail €12.00 and suggest the local wine €29.00 (once again keen to top up your glass).Bottle of water €7.00,glass of lemonade for my son €5.00 and double of espresso €4.50
Overall we enjoyed the evening and found the food very good and the prices as expected for the South of France.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank busterSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal in a gorgeous setting...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and family (three kids, 14, 12 and 10) and I were in the Saint Tropez area and we stopped here for lunch when exploring the beautiful picturesque village of Gassin. The restaurant terrace overlooks the bay of St Tropez and has stunning views. Although the restaurant is quite elegant the fact that we have three kids was no problem and the request for ketchup was not met with "Quel horreur!!" but rather just a helpful smile...and the ketchup. The food was delicious...I had wonderful grilled sole, which must have been caught that day, and the presentation was nice too. We wanted to linger longer but the beach was calling. A little bit pricy, reflecting the quality, but go in it's work it...you're on vacation after all !!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This was a excellent evening, thanks to a great menu and excellent waitress.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Just a improvised restaurant, arranged a table of 5 without problem (no reservation). Menu rich in choice and excellent food. And very pleasant service. Excellent evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yannickdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Tropez, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wonderful location in unspoilt Gassin. Overlooking vineyards, the bay of St Tropez and Ste Maxime.Very friendly and caring service. The menu is very interesting, imaginative and each course is great value. Combines modern with traditional cuisine including Provençale. Decent portions too. For me this is by far the best restaurant in the immediate area. One comes away having spent slightly more than anticipated but very happy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Micocoulier also viewed

Gassin, Saint-Tropez
Gassin, Saint-Tropez
 
Saint-Tropez, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Ramatuelle, Saint-Tropez
 
Ramatuelle, Saint-Tropez
Saint-Tropez, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Micocoulier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing