We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience but - expressed politely - very poor food”
Review of La Verdoyante

La Verdoyante
Ranked #5 of 25 Restaurants in Gassin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Saint-Tropez, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great ambience but - expressed politely - very poor food”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Wonderful views of the Bay of St Tropez and vineyards. Very nice welcome. BUT the meal was a huge disappointment. It was as if the chef was a complete amateur. Our two starters were drab and dull. The foie was very ordinary, lacking in flavour and served with just three sprigs of salad leaf, By contrast the liver starter was served with lots of salad leaf but the concoction of minced liver (apparently an old Provencal recipe) was tasteless. For the main course it appeared that the chef had forgotten to include the cod in the brandade de morue! And this dish was served without any vegetable or side dish whatsoever. The lamb consisted of five very small slices of meat - about an inch square - three of these were just gristle. Inedible. Of the remaining two slices about one and a half were edible. The most ordinary bar in France, which also served food, would have been embarrassed to present such a dish.On seeing the lamb was hardly eaten the waiter offered a complimentary cheese dessert!
Two thirds of the rose offered was vintage 2011. Sadly rose generally does not last beyond a year and the bottle we unwisely chose was no exception.
For sure we will not visit this restaurant again and despite the Michelin BIB it was not at all cheap.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    117
    32
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We booked this restaurant for Sunday lunch the day before, and were politely asked to be on time, so we ensured we arrived 5 minutes before our booking. We were greeted with a smile and led to a lovely table for 5 on the vineyard edge of the terrace so we could sit in a horseshoe and all see the view over the vineyards and bay of St. Tropez.

The food was excellent, I had a memorable crab starter and then magret du cannard on a bed of potato and vegetables which was one of the best duck dishes I've had. The sea bream was equally good. Coupled with first rate bottles of local wine and rose wine and desserts the meal made for a very enjoyable Sunday lunch. The only slight disappointment was that the cheese had obviously been left out and on a hot day had gone quite dry.

Though the lunchtime menu at 42 euros may seem a little dear the total quality and service well warranted the price. I would recommend going at lunchtime to take advantage of the wonderful view over the vineyards and bay, plenty of shade is provided on the terrace so no worries about being in the sun. As a family we will definitely be returning in the reasonably near future.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NigelB48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant for lunch or dinner in a very pretty setting”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We went for dinner and the dining room is beautifully decorated, not too large and really quite cosy. The staff were most attentive and welcoming and could not have been more helpful. The food was delicious and the menu was very well balanced.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.Devon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Keep this our secret!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

If you are staying anywhere need St Tropez and fed up with the moules and frites restaurants that abound book a table at this family run restaurant tucked away surrounded by vineyards down a track. We sat on the beautiful terrace with views over St Tropez bay watching a wild boar snuffling about in the vineyard below. Run by a husband and wife team, he is the chef and his beautiful wife Bernice is front of house and runs a an excellent calm and relaxing restaurant. Our delicious meal cost the two of us about 110€ and was worth every penny, sorry cent. Go and enjoy but keep it a secret, OK.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShaldonBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb, don't miss it!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This must be one of my favorite restaurants anywhere. The situation is truly incredible, set among the vines of Ch Minuty, with a view down to the bay of St Tropez. It does't get much better than this! We eat here every summer, and usually at lunch time with our young children (5 and 7 this year). The food it great - not a huge menu, but all great dishes, with local produce and flavours. The wine list has 3 different cuvee's from Ch Minuty, which are great wines and nice to drink sitting on the edge of the vineyard. Service is always great, led by the charming wife of the chef patron.
Book early, and closed Monday lunches and all day Wednesday.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Verdoyante also viewed

Saint-Tropez, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Gassin, Saint-Tropez
 
Gassin, Saint-Tropez
Gassin, Saint-Tropez
 
Saint-Tropez, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Verdoyante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing