We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Appart'City Geneve Gaillard
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gaillard
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Chose this hotel for it's reasonable rates and was not disappointed. Comfy beds,great having the kitchenette and pleasant staff especially Seline on reception. Walk down the road and across the border and get the tram into Geneva City Centre for 3 CHF/Euro. Just take Euro and Swiss Francs although you can use either for the tram tickets. Spa shop down the road, market on Saturday and the Peking resturant 2 doors away do a great buffet for under 20E. Loved the whole trip.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 175 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2011

On arrival in Geneva (now accessible with Easyjet) and after collecting your luggage, don't forget to collect your free travel pass from the machines, which enables you to travel for up to 80 mins to your accomodation using train, bus or tram, or all 3.(the city is 6 mins away by train)
Its far more expensive to stay in Geneva, so we opted to stay just over the French border in Gaillard, at a 1/3 of the price.
My Suites, also known as Park and Suites (Booking.com).
I cannot fault this property, all rooms (more like a private flat) are the same and are clean and spacious with a bathroom, seperate toilet, kitchenette small dining area and 2 bedrooms.
Its a great location to explore Geneva.
Situated 300m over the French border (passport not required whilst on foot)
walk to the border and ride the modern street tram to the city (15-20 mins)
There are endless buildings, parks, museums, shops, markets and of course the views of the Swiss Alps to discover.
This was a 3 day city break, room and flight booked seperately
Give it a go, you'll love it.
SEE PICTURES.

Room Tip: very clean, very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ffbjc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We did a one night stop over here. The photo's make it look better than it is. The window was broken in our bedroom so we heard every vehicle go past on this busy road. (We live on a major route so we are used to traffic niose). We didn't sleep well. We didn't have breakfast or use the lounges there. The mountains looked good in the distance, and if we stood on a chair we could see the Jet d'Eau. The nicest thing about it is the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The hotel is good value for money, but it was old and tired. There is NO free tram service you have to pay. The secure underground car park they charge at 9 euro per day, the lighting in the garage is very poor, but the car is secure with passworded entry.
The buffet breakfast is not bad,its 13 euros, the food runs out quickly and sometimes takes a while for them to replenish.
The Staff are nice and helpful,they also speak English.
The rooms are old and tired, the aircon never worked, shower curtain was old,badly in need of upgrading.
The surrounding area is not great but perfectly safe, great Chinese restaurant 100 metres away (Peking).
Tram is 500 metres away same direction.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the front of the hotel,great view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Stayed for 6 weeks in December and January. Because of the cost of services appartments in Geneva, this seems like good value.

The room bears no resemblance to those shown on their website. They are dingy and dark. There were numerous stains on the carpet. On numerous occassions, the corridors on my floor smelt as if some of the residents enjoyed smoking a bit more than cigarettes.

The sheets provided were extremely thin, making for a cold night, and the aircon/heating isnt adjustable (doesnt work).

In my time i had two rooms in the hotel, both had safes, neither of which actually worked.

From time to time, drippings sounds from rooms above made sleep particularly difficult.

They advertise ADSL internet. It's pretty much unusable during the week when there are a lot of guests (1 minute+ to load a basic web page), although over the weekend it became almost usable. There was a notice in the room that explained that they were trying to improve this, but an earlier revierw from over 1 year ago mentioned exactly the same notice.... Obviously they're not trying that hard.

When I moved in, as the stay was for longer than 28 days, they also wanted a deposit of 700 euros. Despite the fact that they completed an inventory on my departure and noted that the room was in perfect condition, they informed me that the deposit could take anything from 3 weeks to 4 months to be returned! They refused to give me the head office details when I asked for them to complain about this, and insisted that any complaints go through this Gaiilard office.

Moral of the story.. If you can put up with all the above and dont mind roughing it, them by all means stay there.. the prices are very good value compared to Geneva. If on the other hand you prefer not to live in what is essentially a run down student dorm, then try looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BxTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

I stayed for a month in the Park & Suites Appart-Hotel Elegance for 50 euro a night for a two room apartment. Short stays are more expensive. It was the perfect sleepover spot for me, close to work, 10 mins walk to border followed by a choice of three trams anywhere in Geneva within 15-30 minutes. It's rather dull brown decor rather than Elegant, but all I wanted was a place to sleep & cook some of the produce from the Saturday local Savoyard farmer's market.
They have free wifi internet access but it's very slow, OK for email not for Skype.
They have a laundry facility in house but the dryer is underpowered and you're better going to the laundry next door. A supermarket across the street, dry cleaner, boulangerie, flower shops etc, all cater for your needs.
I'm going back next month. If I was staying there longer I might look around for an apartment in Geneva but I've read about hassles with landlords and estate agents and just want one less problem to handle.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GYWX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

The hotel itself is ok, but do not confuse it's location with the one close to the airport - this costs e70 by the hotel's taxi to the airport or just e50 if you hop in a taxi off the rank. It advertises on the website as 24hr reception Monday to Friday, however, when my flight was delayed and I arrived at midnight, there was no one to check me in - or let me into the hotel. The phone number outside didn't work and the woman who answered the phone number that was inside reception, was very rude and unhelpful. Luckily, one of the few helpful French men in existence assisted me and I finally got the safe code, where my key was thankfully waiting!
If you don't want to be near the airport, and you're checking in within business hours, hotel would probably be fine. (apart from the hair in the bed)..

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonandJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaillard
0.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Annemasse - Gaillard
1.1 mi away
Campanile Annemasse Centre - Gare
0.8 mi away
Hotel Porte de Geneve
Hotel Porte de Geneve
#1 of 5 in Gaillard
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Annemasse
Ibis Annemasse
#1 of 2 in Ambilly
248 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Annemasse
Ibis Budget Annemasse
#11 of 19 in Annemasse
342 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Annemasse Geneve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appart'City Geneve Gaillard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appart'City Geneve Gaillard

Address: 102 rue de Geneve, 74240 Gaillard, Annemasse, France (Formerly Park & Suites Geneve Gaillard)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annemasse > Gaillard
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gaillard
Price Range: $58 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Appart'City Geneve Gaillard 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Appart'City Geneve Gaillard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing