We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“En route to Italy from London...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Annemasse Porte de Geneve
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gaillard
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stopped overnight at this Hotel en-route to Italy from London. Had previously stayed there with better satisfaction. It appears Mercure Hotels in France are slowly losing their quality touch. I suggest they need more effort to supervise conditions.
No recognition of my Accor Club status upon arrival. Bathroom cleanliness less than satisfactory. Plug in the tub leaking , so impossible to take a bath. Air Conditioning system climate control not working properly either too hot or too cold, obliged to sleep with heating on and windows open.
On the positive side good restaurant experience, friendly staff and good food/wine.
Took 1/2 hour to checkout as only 1 lady manning the reception/cashier desk so continuously interrupted by phone calls and by enquiries from passers-by.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Annemasse Porte de Geneve
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 391 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Check in was quick and easy. We had a twin and a double room and both were clean, well-presented. The service in the bar and restaurant was exceptional with a very efficient team than really impressed us. The meal was very good - too often major chains let you down and you wish you'd gone elsewhere for dinner but not this time. The meal choice was good and varied with nice 'specials' and it was very nicely presented. As a stopover we would give top marks.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were incredibly disappointed when we stayed here;
The hotel is in a truly awful location,
The staff were exceptionally rude,
Our rooms smelled horrible,
My bathroom was dated,
Staff continually entered my room despite having the 'do not disturb' sign up,
Clothing went missing from my room,
The bar was tacky and very limited range.

If you're having breakfast there then I hope you like stale bread!

After two nights of bad sleep and extortionate taxi fares, I left and went to the hotel Tiffany which was wonderful!

This hotel is the worst I have ever stayed at!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hjpkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Hmmmm...mixed feelings about this hotel as Mercure are usually quite good.

The room was definitely up to their usual good standards, reasonably quiet (could hear people clonking around above), clean and more spacious than the cheaper Ibis, etc. The staff on reception were very good (English spoken if required) and there was good free WiFi.

However, the restaurant was a different matter. The evening meal was average for quality and value for French cuisine and breakfast at €17 was not good value at all.

Me and my colleague arrived for breakfast at 08:30 only to be told that the scrambled egg had all gone, "désolé". The coffee was from a coffe maker with those little sachets, which only worked for some selections, ie espresso, or cafe au lait. Cappucino?.."désolé, non". There was another hot drinks machine, which wasn't even plugged in..."hors service" I think. We did manage to get a coffee in the end, although this was after rejecting 3 unclean coffee cups set up on the tables. Each one had been through the dishwasher, but were still stained and grubby inside.

We mentioned this at checkout and the receptionist gave us a 50% discount on the breakfast and also called over the person responsible to ensure "communication", which was quite re-assuring that the hotel are aware of their failings and maybe making ammends for future clients. There were other people complaining too, so ours was not an isolated incident.

So, in conclusion. Good nights sleep, spacious clean room, good parking in quiet area, free WiFi but let down by the restaurant.

Shame really....50/50 if I will stay there again before looking at other options in this area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerculesC130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Looking for a cheap deal, I found this place.
Very convenient, for both work and vacation.
Outside of the center fever, however a bit complex to find when not knowing the place, even with GPS.
Once there, rooms are very clean and great.
There is a outside swimming pool very relaxing after work hours.
Restaurant is also very convenient in the hotel.
For any other need however, you would need a car to reach other places as restaurants, shops, ...

Room Tip: No real difference from one another.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flying_Teddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnonBushey
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

On our stop to Italy we were forced to stay in this hotel because the neighboring budget hotel for only sleeping was full. Well, we thought then let's pay a bit more (..more than double) and have a meal and a drink so tomorrow we'll have a relaxed continuation of our journey... We should have taken a pizza like the people of the budget did. What makes hotels like these serve meals while there's only a microwave in the kitchen? To make things worse, the beer was straight out filthy, probably the pipes were not properly cleaned or something like that. There was only one waitress and she couldn't do much with our complaint letting us know that she absolutely knew nothing about the quality of beer... Big hotel chains like these could improve not by putting a impersonal welcome/remarks note on your pillow but by taking care of enough and qualified personnel to give their guests a decent welcome!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keesvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaillard
1.1 mi away
Campanile Annemasse Centre - Gare
0.4 mi away
Hotel Porte de Geneve
Hotel Porte de Geneve
#1 of 5 in Gaillard
281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Annemasse
Ibis Annemasse
#2 of 2 in Ambilly
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Annemasse Geneve
0.6 mi away
Appart'City Geneve Gaillard
0.7 mi away
Atalante Hotel
Atalante Hotel
#4 of 19 in Annemasse
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Annemasse Porte de Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Annemasse Porte de Geneve

Address: 9 rue des Jardins, 74240 Gaillard, Annemasse, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annemasse > Gaillard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gaillard
Price Range: $89 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Annemasse Porte de Geneve 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the lakes and mountains and just a few minutes from the centre of Geneva, the Geneva Palexpo Exhibition Centre and Geneva International Airport. 78 rooms including 21 renovated comfort rooms, restaurant with terrace, bar, outdoor swimming pool and meeting rooms. Free outdoor parking. An ideal stop over en route to the ski resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Annemasse Porte de Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Annemasse Porte De Geneve Hotel Gaillard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing