We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 stars ..... more like 1”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stars Geneve Aeroport
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Ferney-Voltaire
Newcastle Upon tyne
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“3 stars ..... more like 1”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

A very basic hotel, in the hot summer no aircon.... so didn't benefit from the noise reducing qualities of the double glazing for the end of runway noise. Depressing rooms and a poor breakfast.
On the plus side is the hotel location and price; the hotel is on the French side of the Swiss/France border at the end of the Geneva airport runway. There is a regular bus service directly outside the hotel (F & Y services) that take you to the Station and Airport.
If you book this hotel don't expect anything other than a bed for the night, but is lower in price than central Geneva prices.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattHarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    55
    47
    92
See reviews for
17
57
42
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

More like a prison cell than a hotel room, damp, dirty and depressing. This has to be the worst hotel I've ever had the misfortune to check in to (booked by my Company). It's located over the border into France so you need to exchange to Euro's and Swiss Francs. Taxi ride was 25CHF. The hotel does not have a restaurant or bar and there is nothing nearby other than a Petrol Station, which has the basics in snack food. There is no lift and most guests seemed to be directed to the second floor, up a spiral staircase.
The first room I was offered was vile, the second and third were no better, all smell of cheap air freshener which is used to hide the musty damp smell.
Unfortunately it was late afternoon and due to a UN conference there were no other rooms available in any other hotels, so I had to stick it out. Rooms at the front overlook the busy highway and are very noisy. The 'bathroom' is a moulded plastic unit similar to a public toilet.
The walls are all stained and dirty, sticky carpet, no wifi, no tea/coffe facilities, no hairdryer.

Room Tip: Rooms by the staircase are very noisy as are those which overlook the main road. Best to book anothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ferney-Voltaire hotels

Portsmouth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

My partner and I plus 2 friends checked in for one night as we had an early flight the next day. We arrived at the hotel to find that check in was closed and wouldn't open for another half hour, not too long to wait but we had to do so outside in the cold as the doors were locked until check in time!
The rooms themselves were a little unclean and looked a bit dingy. The receptionist was very helpful and friendly, giving us information about buses into Geneva, and he booked a taxi for us. Despite the cleanliness the hotel was good value for money and was perfect for an overnight stay before continuing our travels, however I would not recommend people stay here for a longer holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lotty02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

The main reason I chose this hotel was because of its location: I read somewhere that it was easy to get to from the train station and the airport. In my case, I was arriving to Geneva by train and I had a flight to catch the next day. I was traveling alone so I really did not require much more than easy access and a clean room.

My room was clean although the room and hotel did look neglected in the sense that it could use a facelift and some tender loving care. The room was a decent size but the bathroom was small.

Noise from the road and the airplanes taking off and landing were not an issue. I think there was more noise coming from the neighboring rooms (but not enough to keep me awake). If anything, the electric heater was a little noisier than it should have been.

The hotel does not have much to offer:
- only breakfast was offered (at an additional cost)
- it did not have a vending machine so come prepared if you need a snack, water or other refreshments
- WiFi was available but it was an additional charge
- No lift/elevator so if you have heavy luggage keep that in mind
- The only English TV channel was CNN
- The reception desk is not open 24 hours a day so if you don’t want to walk to the neighboring hotel for access, arrive during the hours that reception is open

You may be interested in:

- If you are hungry, Buffalo Grill is a 5-minute walk from the hotel. The food is OK and they offer free WiFi
- Also close by is a grocery store where you can get just about anything you need for an overnight stay

As mentioned, the best part of this hotel is that it provides easy access to the Geneva airport and train station (Cornavin station).
- To get to the hotel from Cornavin train station, take the F bus. You can catch the F bus across from the post office (you will see signs directing you to the bus and post office once outside the train station). The hotel’s stop is the first one after you cross the border (the hotel is on the French side, in case you already did not know). You get off practically at the front door of the hotel. You can purchase bus tickets at the train station or on the bus (from a machine). The cost of the bus ride from Cornavin to Stars Hotel was 4.80 Swiss Francs.
- To get to the airport (or back to the train station) from the hotel is just as easy. There is a bus stop across the street from the hotel. To get to the airport take the Y bus (you can purchase your ticket from the machine on the bus). The bus ride to the airport is about 10 minutes. There is a printed bus schedule at the hotel’s lobby that you can reference.
- See http://tpg.ch for information on trains and buses in the area

Room Tip: The hotel does not have a lift/elevator so keep that in mind if you have heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank mexexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

This hotel is not meant for those who appreciate comfort. It is situated just at the French/Swiss border. So actually you are in France!! I stayed here for 3 nights because it was the only thing affordable that was not fully booked for easter. It was the cheapest place available, However there are a few things o be considered before booking this one. If you are on a tight budget, it might seem a good deal., however because of the fact you are not in Geneva, you will not recieve the free public transportation pass you will get in ny other hotel in Geneva!!
The bur drive from and to Geneva takes about 10 minutes and there is a bus stop right in front front of the hotel. You have to take bus line F. ask for a time table at the reception. Bus Y will take you to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RudyRAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falun, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

When reception is closed (which is often, we arrived e.g. a Sunday at 16:00), there is a very poor instruction that you need to walk to the hotel Median (approx. 200 m) to receive the code. Once there, there are two clerks sitting in the desk having nothing to do. Proposal: Add a communication unit at the door of the Stars hotel. Once connected to the Median hotel, one of the clerks could take a bike to the Stars hotel, for code handover... Poor comfort, however low price. Quick access (approx. 1 minute) by car to the French sector of Geneva Airport. Walking distance (approx. 200 m) to an excellent seafood restaurant we visited, Le Pirate http://www.lepirate.fr .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P_Funck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Geneva is not the cheapest city in the world and we were looking for a modest accomodation to spend a night in before continuing our trip to France and then another night before flying home. 37 euro was an exellent price for a double room 10 minutes away from the airport and the city. The room was very compact but clean and with bathroom ensuite.

We arrived at 21:00 and spent a half-an-hour in the dark under the rain looking for the neighbor hotel to get the key. For us it was a funny experience but if you aren't keen on such kind of fun you d' better find out the way beforehand. There was nobody in the street to show us the way, everything was closed.

In the neighbor hotel we get our room code and tried to get something to eat as we were hungry but we were told the the only way to eat something at this time was to walk to a pizza cafe in the center of Fernay Voltaire which was 30 minutes away and closed at 22:00. As it rained we decided to return to our hotel hoping to find a snack machine. We found it indeed but broken. So we only managed to drink a glass of tap water (which was exellent by the way) and went to bed.

Going back we checked in early and had no problems, the staff though looking a bit extravagant was very helpful with all kind of information and printing our boarding pass. Wi-fi is rather expensive - about 7-8 euro for 60 min which can be spent within one or several days. There is a big store 300 metres away from the hotel and behind it a spot with view of runway with several benches and pnotographers with big cameras.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St_Militsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferney-Voltaire
0.9 mi away
Campanile Geneve - Aeroport/Palexpo
0.2 mi away
Residence La Reserve
Residence La Reserve
#1 of 9 in Ferney-Voltaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire
Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire
#4 of 9 in Ferney-Voltaire
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Geneve Aeroport France
Novotel Geneve Aeroport France
#2 of 9 in Ferney-Voltaire
3.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Geneve - Prevessin
1.0 mi away
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conferen...
#1 of 2 in Le Grand Saconnex
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stars Geneve Aeroport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stars Geneve Aeroport

Property: Stars Geneve Aeroport
Address: Chemin de Colovrez, 01210 Ferney-Voltaire, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Ferney-Voltaire
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Ferney-Voltaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Stars Geneve Aeroport 1.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stars Geneve Aeroport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stars Geneve Aeroport Hotel Ferney-Voltaire
Stars Geneve Aeroport Ferney Voltaire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing