We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low budget, short stay hotel close to Geneva airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stars Geneve Aeroport
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Ferney-Voltaire
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Low budget, short stay hotel close to Geneva airport”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This hotel is not meant for those who appreciate comfort. It is situated just at the French/Swiss border. So actually you are in France!! I stayed here for 3 nights because it was the only thing affordable that was not fully booked for easter. It was the cheapest place available, However there are a few things o be considered before booking this one. If you are on a tight budget, it might seem a good deal., however because of the fact you are not in Geneva, you will not recieve the free public transportation pass you will get in ny other hotel in Geneva!!
The bur drive from and to Geneva takes about 10 minutes and there is a bus stop right in front front of the hotel. You have to take bus line F. ask for a time table at the reception. Bus Y will take you to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RudyRAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    56
    48
    93
See reviews for
17
59
43
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falun, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

When reception is closed (which is often, we arrived e.g. a Sunday at 16:00), there is a very poor instruction that you need to walk to the hotel Median (approx. 200 m) to receive the code. Once there, there are two clerks sitting in the desk having nothing to do. Proposal: Add a communication unit at the door of the Stars hotel. Once connected to the Median hotel, one of the clerks could take a bike to the Stars hotel, for code handover... Poor comfort, however low price. Quick access (approx. 1 minute) by car to the French sector of Geneva Airport. Walking distance (approx. 200 m) to an excellent seafood restaurant we visited, Le Pirate http://www.lepirate.fr .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlocalSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ferney-Voltaire hotels

Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Geneva is not the cheapest city in the world and we were looking for a modest accomodation to spend a night in before continuing our trip to France and then another night before flying home. 37 euro was an exellent price for a double room 10 minutes away from the airport and the city. The room was very compact but clean and with bathroom ensuite.

We arrived at 21:00 and spent a half-an-hour in the dark under the rain looking for the neighbor hotel to get the key. For us it was a funny experience but if you aren't keen on such kind of fun you d' better find out the way beforehand. There was nobody in the street to show us the way, everything was closed.

In the neighbor hotel we get our room code and tried to get something to eat as we were hungry but we were told the the only way to eat something at this time was to walk to a pizza cafe in the center of Fernay Voltaire which was 30 minutes away and closed at 22:00. As it rained we decided to return to our hotel hoping to find a snack machine. We found it indeed but broken. So we only managed to drink a glass of tap water (which was exellent by the way) and went to bed.

Going back we checked in early and had no problems, the staff though looking a bit extravagant was very helpful with all kind of information and printing our boarding pass. Wi-fi is rather expensive - about 7-8 euro for 60 min which can be spent within one or several days. There is a big store 300 metres away from the hotel and behind it a spot with view of runway with several benches and pnotographers with big cameras.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St_Militsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I booked a room at the hotel and asked several times for an invitation letter for embassy to get the visa. The hotel Stars refused always to send it! As the result we had to book another hotel, because without the invitation letter we were not able to come to Geneva! I contacted the hotel Stars and cancelled my reservation. AFTER THAT THE HOTEL CHARGED MY CC FOR THE FULL RESERVATION AMOUNT!!! Now I'm trying to get my money back. Perfect service!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

You get what you pay for here. Very easy to get to direct by Y bus to stop Chemin Colovrex. They go every half an hour. This is an overnighter for airport handiness. Short walk into local village with lots of food options

Room Tip: Look for ones on opposite side to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skowza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonder Lake
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Arrived at Geneva Airport, directed to take the "Y" bus to the hotel, which the driver on boarding told us that we were on the wrong side of the airport to take this bus to Ferney-Voltaire. Took a VERY expensive taxi ride to Stars Hotel to find that they are closed after 10pm with a sign on the door to go to the Median Hotel for check in. The Hotel Median. a good walk in the dark with no signs or light and in the rain, had a seedy lobby, with a clerk who had no idea who I was or what I was talking about in regards to my confirmation with Stars Hotel. The nightmare continues in my review of the Median Hotel in fairness to Stars Geneva Airport (if it indeed is a hotel?)

Room Tip: I would question a hotel that closes for the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Very basic accommodation, with plastic modular (think port-a-potty) bathroom, small and simple rooms, and not so cheap as other places on our trip. Not near to a great range of places to eat, but only a short drive to visit CERN.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieineuropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferney-Voltaire
0.9 mi away
Campanile Geneve - Aeroport/Palexpo
0.3 mi away
Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire
Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire
#4 of 9 in Ferney-Voltaire
149 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Geneve - Prevessin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Geneve Aeroport France
Novotel Geneve Aeroport France
#2 of 9 in Ferney-Voltaire
670 reviews
1.0 mi away
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conferen...
#1 of 2 in Le Grand Saconnex
477 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Geneve Aeroport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stars Geneve Aeroport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stars Geneve Aeroport

Property: Stars Geneve Aeroport
Address: Chemin de Colovrez, 01210 Ferney-Voltaire, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Ferney-Voltaire
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Ferney-Voltaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Stars Geneve Aeroport 1.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stars Geneve Aeroport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stars Geneve Aeroport Hotel Ferney-Voltaire
Stars Geneve Aeroport Ferney Voltaire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing