We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for one short night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Median Geneve Aeroport
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Ferney-Voltaire
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK for one short night”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here in December 2012. Originally booked at the Stars Geneve but it was closed. It has excellent location close to the airport and shops (lidl is literally next to it while one of the big supermarkets a 5-10 min walk). room was clean and simple but that's what we really needed. the corridor carpet was dirty and worn but who cares. The only thing that disappointed me was the bed. It was old and very a mean very soft. In the end i preferred this hotel to Formule 1.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafaelmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    19
    23
    91
See reviews for
11
35
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

First of all you're greeted by the unhelpful French guy who refuses to speak a word of English even though he is stood next to a sign claiming all the languages spoken by the hotel-which was about 10, and he sees my French is poor to say the least. Then I want some information and he tells me to use my iPhone to find it out and rudely dismisses me. No wifi- "use Swisscom, but you need you're carte bleu for that Monsieur". A horror story.

Then I go upstairs to find my room is in a state of disrepair, the toilet refilling up all night long, people screaming in the corridor waking you up through the paper-thin door, the worst bed I've ever slept in and a TV from the 80s mounted on top of a 1.8m high wardrobe less than a meter away from the bed! Unreal.

Something tells me they're not taking things very seriously here at all.

Seriously, DON'T even think about booking yourself in at this dump.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divine_wind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ferney-Voltaire hotels

St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Arrival:
I got to Hotel Stars Geneva which I had booked and learned through a sign on the door that I was to walk to the Median around the corner to check in. I was checked in to the Median because the Stars was under repair. The receptionist checked me in quickly and spoke good English, he was friendly but only the most basic of friendly.

Location:
The airport could be walked to along a service road and through a carpark in about 25 minutes [it is much easier to cut through the airport's French and Swiss sectors than you may think] and driven in <5 minutes. Regular busses (F) to Ferney and to Geveva Cornavin / UNOG and (Y) to CERN. To bus to the airport requires a change. There's a carrefour (supermarket) 3 mins away and a lidl <1 minutes walk for cheaper food and drinks.

Grounds:
Very basic. Flight path but I only heard any noise when the window was open.

Room:
very basic but it is fine for a base to explore Geneva. There were dodgy looking stains on the carpets of both the room and several corridors, the room (105) had twin single beds, a desk, wardrobe and en suite bath, toilet, basin and shower. The decor was shabby with some marks on the walls and a dent in the plaster. The bathroom was fine and the general cleanliness of the room was high [found an insect trap behind the bedhead, it was not marked as checked regularly but it was there and had no signs of a problem - see picture]. Slept really well and the beds were comfy, heat/AC worked well.

Staff:
I only saw reception and maid staff. The maids were very thorough and the beds/towels were replaced daily, the bin empties and the room cleaned and hoovered.

Food:
I did not eat.

Bars etc:
The hotel offers an overpriced and basic bar until 11pm.

Excursions:
N/A

Facilities:
I wished to use the room telephone, after putting down the E20 deposit it would not work (the automated wake up cal did not work either). The receptionist could not fix it so he lent me his mobile to make my call to England. This was really good service.

Price:
Compared to staying in Geneva anywhere except the youth hostel, you will find this hotel at least half the price. Compared to another hotel of similar standards you may feel overcharged. It's a 1-star at best.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

First of all, this is not in the airport. It is a bus away from the airport, which is not cheap and only takes coins. When we arrived, we were told check-in was at 14.30, rather than 13.00 as advertised. The man on the desk did not apologise for this. A silver-lining to this disappointment was that we had some time to relax in the park just next to the hotel, which is well worth a look. When we got back to check-in, the same 'never heard of customer service' guy took us to our room, only for it not to have been cleaned yet. Yet to produce an apology, he trudged downstairs to find us another room. Once finally in the room, it was adequate and fairly clean. It was another bus to get into Geneva (our tickets were never checked), so getting a hotel in the centre makes far more sense.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I had no choice but to stay 1 night due to a lack of rooms in Geneva. I was shocked at how dirty and poorly maintained this hotel was. There was a bucket outside one of the rooms due to water dripping from the ceiling. The carpet surrounding the bucket was soaking wet. The room had a constant dripping noise all night.

I'm not saying this is in any way connected to this hotel but, but the credit card I used to pay for the room was used in a number of unauthorized transactions the following day and had to be destroyed.

The room charge was 130 Euros!!!

Room Tip: Book way in advance of any Geneva trip so that you don't have to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Where to start??

Ok ill start with the good point! (yes there is only one)!

The young lad who now works here, he started a couple of weeks ago, however he seem's to have some sence so i cant see him staying here very long!

Now the bad!

i arrived here at 1.30pm yesterday afternoon, and i was informed by the rude guy on reception i could not check in until 2pm, i said ok this was fine, and could i get a beer while i waited, to this point he finally looked up from his paper, huffed and walked over to the small grimey bar, they had run out of draught beer so i settled for a small can.
When i finally was able to check in i was told i was in room 003!
The room was small but not a problem as i was travelling alone.
Now the room it's self was a compleate dive, stains over the carpet, iron burn marks over the carpet and it must of been 100oc in there! But this all was not a problem until i walked into what was called the bathroom, no bath but a little shower basin, ok i can deal with this however when i decided to take a shower unless i was a smurf there was no way i was getting any water on my head, im only 5"10 and it did not even reach my sholders!
I then went to use the toilet only to find there was no water in the bowl or system!
I walk down to reception and find the rude guy had finished and the young american had now started...he could not have been any better changing my room as the handy man had finished for the day.
The noise from outside it awfull, im not just talking about the runway noise, the bottom floor odd numbers all back right onto lidil car parkwith cars parking in front of your window, until 8pm when it closes, then you just have to deal with the plane noise and the local vandals!

Would i ever stay here? not on your life, if it was up to me id burn it down!!

Room Tip: Never stay here even if desperate!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank villaman1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Bouveret, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I clearly cannot understand how terribly trained some workers are.
Staff has no interest in helping guests, doesn't care at all and always believe they are right. there was not one thing that we asked for, that was given to us.
Seriously, not a good experience, the room seems dirty and the bed, well, the bed one of the worst I've ever slept in. Next time, will definetly go with the Tripadvisors advice...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuciannePessoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferney-Voltaire
1.1 mi away
Campanile Geneve - Aeroport/Palexpo
0.5 mi away
Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire
Citadines Geneva Ferney-Voltaire
#4 of 9 in Ferney-Voltaire
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence La Reserve
Residence La Reserve
#1 of 9 in Ferney-Voltaire
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Novotel Geneve Aeroport France
Novotel Geneve Aeroport France
#2 of 9 in Ferney-Voltaire
654 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premiere Classe Geneve - Prevessin
1.1 mi away
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conferen...
#1 of 2 in Le Grand Saconnex
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Median Geneve Aeroport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Median Geneve Aeroport

Property: Median Geneve Aeroport
Address: Chemin de Colovrex, 01210 Ferney-Voltaire, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Ferney-Voltaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Ferney-Voltaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Median Geneve Aeroport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Median Geneve Aeroport Hotel Ferney-Voltaire
Median Geneve Aeroport Ferney Voltaire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing