We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient & comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Geneve Aeroport France
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ferney-Voltaire
GreenLeadersBronze level
Elm Grove, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Convenient & comfortable”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our family of five stayed 2 nights before an early morning flight. We had 2 rooms, each room had a queen bed and a decent sized sofa bed. The weather was quite hot during our stay and the thick comforter on the bed was too heavy: there were no sheets so no option for lighter bedding. That's the only negative though, otherwise everything was fine. Breakfast was pricey so we went to the McDonalds at the other side of the roundabout.

We used the airport shuttle twice with no issues. The nearby town of Ferney Voltaire looked nice with plenty of typical French dining options. Location was convenient and easy to find.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momof4Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    279
    175
    58
    44
See reviews for
270
112
55
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Are flight arrived late at night. As per the hotels e-mail, we took the phone beside Europcar rent-a-car to call. Direct line for the shuttle to the hotel. Excellent service. Friendly staff. Clean property. No elevator!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed for a night coming from Paris and were departing to Doha from Geneva the next day. It is located across the French border in a small town called Ferney Voltaire. The hotel is popular for Geneve Airport overnight stays and conferences.
The rooms are typical Novotel styled - large and comfortable with Minibar and Kettle for hot water. The hotel had a swimming pool too and a fitness club. The restaurant served nice breakfast.
It has just two levels so no elevators but the hotel staff helps you with the luggage if need be. The staff is friendly.
The best part is complimentary airport shuttle for pickup and drop which makes it worth the stay for stop overs.

Room Tip: Lower floor the better!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thisisankit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Checked in at this hotel in the afternoon after arriving by train from luzern, Stayed for one night as we had to catch a flight next morning. Situated across the Swiss border in France around 4-5 kms from Geneva airport. Good thing is that the hotel provides complementary airport transfers however you should call the hotel beforehand and let them know your arrival/departure schedule as they do not operate schedule transfer services. The rooms are on ground floor and first floor however there is no lift and if you are given a room on the first floor you will have to carry the Lugguage yourself via staircase to the first floor. The room size is decent and well appointed. They have a small swimming pool, garden area and a restaurant/bar adjoining the pool and the reception. Overall a good experience. Tips: to reach the city center take the complimentary airport shuttle service from the hotel and after reaching airport take the electric bus from outside the departure terminal to reach Rive high street. Caution: the complimentary airport/hotel transfers timings are from around 6.30am to 10.30pm so plan accordingly.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank heemanshuagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed only two nights but enjoyed every minute.

The hotel is a short walk from the airport, (20 minutes max) and checkin was efficient, the staff very helpful, particularly as I has missed a night due to missing a flight.

Breakfast is plentiful with more choice than anyone could wish for.

The room itself is spacious and modern, bright and airy too.

Bathroom only provided a shower but this will be OK for most people.

The hotel provide a tram ticket for the entire duration of your stay but I walked everywhere as the centre is only 30 minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveBMidlands_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Staying at this hotel during our short stay in Geneva.
The room for our family of 2 adults and 3 children was way too small than expected, there was no room to move at all. The bathroom and toilet were very small and were seperate , which I don't like.Apart from this the bed was comfortable to sleep.
There is a free shuttle from the hotel to the airport which is very helpful and runs on time. We got picked up from the airport by calling the hotel and used the shuttle again to the airport to catch the train to visit Geneva. Visiting Geneva is so easy from the airport and the train hardly takes 10 minute to Geneva and the shuttle takes 10 mts, so Geneva is hardly 20 minutes from the airport and it is better to stay at this hotel which is way cheaper than the city hotels. This hotel is on the French side and in a town called Ferny Voiltaire. We visited this quaint town on the first day , which is about a 15 minute walk. This was an highlight as the town was fabulous with small cafés and restaurants. There was a sushi bar as well and prices were very reasonable. Anyone staying at this hotel should visit the town.
The breakfast was fabulous with Crepes, toast, scrambled eggs, pastries,muesli, fresh fruits, cheeses ,etc. My family enjoyed it.
There is free wifi ,which works very well. There is also a Big Mac desktop for free internet and a X box for kids.
There is a lawn and pool which is closed as it is still cold.
Overall if someone is looking for a reasonable no frills accommodation then go for it.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank zarookShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visit Geneva reasonably often for family business along with other members of her family and, because it makes the logistics easier with relatives coming in from various points on the globe, opt for accommodation near the airport rather than in town. Previously we have used the Holiday Inn Express, which is absolutely fine for a short stay but suffers from not having any dining facilities in the evening. Because of this and because members of our group have in the past been royally fleeced when eating at other airport hotels on the Swiss side we decided to take a punt last weekend on the Novotel at Ferney-Voltaire, and were delighted with our choice.

The hotel is in a much quieter location than thise on the other side of the airport. The building is set back from the rather busy road, but apart from the Leclerc supermarket (handy if you've forgotten your toothpaste or want to stock up on good value French wine or other goodies) and small retail park opposite it is surrounded by open country.

Secondly, and despite the hotel playing host to coach parties in on both nights we were there, the general atmosphere is much more quiet and relaxing than in the Swiss hotels, which are apt to resemble Waterloo station in the rush hour at the best of times.

Most importantly of all, though, the overall standards of accommodation, food and service are very high and represent excellent value for money. Our room was spotlessly clean with an in-room fridge (containing a couple of small bottles of complimentary water) and a small safe. The bed was comfortable and the provision of extra pillows, towels, toiletries, tea-making and other amenities was more than adequate.

We ate in the hotel's restaurant on both nights. The menu offered reasonable choice and the food, whilst generally straightforward in style, was of a very high quality and came in generous portions including unlimited sides with the main course, which I don't think I've ever seen before.

All the staff were efficient, welcoming and professional, but I would like to give a special mention to Stephane on Reception, always courteous, friendly and helpful, and to Jerome in the restaurant, a real character who looked after us very well. Some reviewers have suggested that the airport shuttle drivers can be surly, but we saw none of that at all: it doesn't take any more than a simple "Bonjour" to engage with them, for those who can be bothered to make the effort.

Even though situated some way out of the city and indeed over the border, the hotel works as a base to visit the Geneva. Many people use the shuttle bus to the airport and then take public transport into town, but another alternative - cheaper and possibly quicker - if you need to work off the substantial hotel buffet breakfast and the rain looks like keeping off is to walk the 15 minutes or so across the border into Meyrin and catch the No 14 tram from the terminus there, which will see you in town within 40 minutes after leaving the hotel and a mere CHF3.50 per person each way lighter in pocket.

On the subject of money, do remember if you're using the hotel as a base to visit the city that because you're in France the currency used in the hotel is the Euro. They will let you pay for food and drink in CHF but at a slightly punitive exchange rate.

Getting to and from the airport using the shuttle is fine, but one thing to note is that the Shuttle does pick up and drop off at and from the Swiss and French sectors and not merely the latter, as the hotel website seems to imply.


In summary, this is a most pleasant, relaxing, well appointed and welcoming hotel representing excellent value for money. Even though an airport hotel it's ideal as a quiet base when visiting Geneva, and will certainly be our first choice for future visits.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank wykeman1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferney-Voltaire
0.4 mi away
Campanile Geneve - Aeroport/Palexpo
1.3 mi away
NH Geneva Airport
NH Geneva Airport
#2 of 2 in Meyrin
916 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence La Reserve
Residence La Reserve
#1 of 9 in Ferney-Voltaire
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conferen...
#1 of 2 in Le Grand Saconnex
459 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Geneve Aeroport Hotel
1.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Geneve Aeroport France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Geneve Aeroport France

Property: Novotel Geneve Aeroport France
Address: Chemin des Trois Noyers, 01210 Ferney-Voltaire, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Ferney-Voltaire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ferney-Voltaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Geneve Aeroport France 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Novotel Ferney-Voltaire Geneve Aeroport is located in France, 10 minutes from the airport and 20 minutes from the heart of Geneva. This 4-star hotel is ideal for both business trips (CERN, UN, UNHCR) and vacations in the Geneva region as a couple or with family (Jura, Mont Blanc, Lake Geneva, Voltaire's chateau). This hotel has a restaurant with terrace, outdoor swimming pool, garden, bar and 4 meeting rooms, as well as a shuttle service to Geneva International Airport and Palexpo/Arena from 6:30 am to 10:30 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Geneve Aeroport France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Geneve Aeroport Hotel Ferney-Voltaire
Novotel Ferney Voltaire
Ferney-Voltaire Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing