We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and atmosphere”

Marche de Ferney-Voltaire
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We go as often as possible to the Saturday food market in Ferney-Voltaire. The quality of the food is much better than what you get in the super markets, but can be a bit expensive. There are many booths to choose from and often you can taste samples before you buy. We also really like the atmosphere, it is usually very busy, but people are friendly and it does not get stressful. Tip: Try the candied ginger and stay away from the clothes market. If you don’t live in town I am guessing parking might be a hassle as there seem to be many cars coming in!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    36
    17
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredibly good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Fantastic fresh food. A wonderful way to start your Saturday morning.Wow, it sounds great. What did you like about it?

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprised by the variety and quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

The market on Saturday was truly excellent. It is a genuine market where locals buy fruit, vegetables, meats and cheeses etc. Many stalls with a wide range of produce.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank D023604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A must-see and not only while staying in Ferney-Voltaire!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

A Saturday open air market with a huge delicious, colourful, excellent quality fresh produce (cheeses, vegetables, breads, meat, fish, herbs and so on) next to some "regular market stuff" (skip that part if you're not into it)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travellerfr0mH0lland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Love it - great diversity and affordable seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Good fun - the providers haven't changed in thirty years so you get to know them and they always have that friendly grocer attitude! We go for the fresh seafood brought by truck overnight from Brittany, Normandy and the Med coast of France as well as the brilliant smoked and cured meats coming from Auvergne, Pays Basque... Not to forget the wonderful cheese from all around Europe. My green-grocer - Alexandre - I have known since he was a boy helping out his brother on his stall. He is now a ground man and we have a camaraderie which means I will never buy a lemon from anyone else. A relaxing, fun and mouthwatering thing to do on any Saturday morning!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marche de Ferney-Voltaire also viewed

 
Ferney-Voltaire, Ain
 

Been to Marche de Ferney-Voltaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing