We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only meeting facilities are ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Only meeting facilities are ok”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I spent a week at La Villa du Lac for business meetings. The meeting facilities were ok and much lower priced vs. what you would get in Geneva. I would go back to this hotel for that purpose only. The hotel rooms are outdated, showing a lot of wear and not well maintained. The restaurant is probably the worst part of the hotel, with very limited menu, high prices for average food and poor service. I would recommend going to other restaurants in town vs. the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunrise11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    188
    125
    48
    26
See reviews for
70
204
20
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Website looks good and there are some nice facilities. Rooms are quite basic and the service is not great. The restaurant leaves much to be desired.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

. . . is good quality staff who want to help. I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times. It is nothing remarkable in itself. It reminds me of a concrete hotel of the type you so often see up in the alps. Dull architecture, flat atmosphere (in a pretty town) but very competently delivers what you expect. Acceptable room, clean bathroom, adequate food, coffee and - contrary to what one reviewer says - a breakfast which includes some very English elements (bacon, sausage, egg and a cup of tea). All perfectly adequate. Not cheap but nothing this close to Geneva is and, at this time of the year, there are many visitors from the Middle East all enjoying the facilities, and the pleasures of Divonne.

What earned the hotel the extra tick for me is that all the staff I dealt with seemed to want to help out and to be proactive about it. I especially commend Fatima on the front desk. I had spent the previous night in a very exclusive Geneva Hotel which is very up its own backside. Boy, could they do with a few Fatimas. So, well done to Hotel Villa du Lac for exceeding expectations by having good staff.

Room Tip: Ignore the room and enjoy a walk round the lake. Very relaxing even in the winter time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

My family stayed four days at the apartment in early July this year. The dinner served at the restaurant was good and reasonably priced. My only problem was after the first night, we woke up with insect bites all over our bodies. During the duration of our stay , we started collecting more and more bite marks. It's been 10 days now and the bite marks are still red and the itch is unbearable. We are not sure if we were bitten by bugs or mosquitoes but I am keen to find out if anyone encountered the same bug attack ! When we stayed last September 2011, we did not have this problem.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor because noises can be heard from the floor above. If you need to replenish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liewho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

I have stayed on business many times. The hotel is close to the town centre and close to the lake. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is not inspiring at all. The rooms are basic with cable internet, TV (90% french), a large bathroom (cold in winter), no tea/coffee and plastic cups for water. The air conditioning seems to be ok. The public areas are what you would expect from a 2/3 star. The food in the restaurant is ok but don't get excited. The bar is part of reception. There is a spa-the pool, steam room and gym are free. The gym is very poor and not worth the effort. Breakfast is a little disappointing for choice. Overall very average, but it is close to the town which has several places to eat (not on Sunday though). It is just in France, so a cheaper option than staying and eating in Switzerland.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room close to the lift - it goes bing-bong loudly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamPitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel if you are here for business. Nice location. Lot's of good restaurants at walking distance from the hotel. Rooms are good. Very good bed and important...quit.
Breakfast is OK. You will not find the fat unhealthy English Breakfast over here.
If you like sport, then you can have a run around the small lake (3km). Hotel also has a Spa.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Avoid - we stayed in an apartment which was quite simply without any warmth or welcome, basic, functional and clean is the best I can say. No effort has been made to create any kind of atmosphere. The buildings, apart from the fancy railings on the balconies, are more student halls than hotel. Never again!

Room Tip: Use the hotel not the apartments and fact our to the lake but avoid being above the restaurant terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Divonne-les-Bains hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Divonne-les-Bains hotels
0.5 mi away
Domaine de Divonne
Domaine de Divonne
#1 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree du Parc
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree...
#3 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences La Versoix
Zenitude Hotel-Residences La Ver...
#5 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chateau de Divonne
Chateau de Divonne
#2 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Terrasse Fleurie
La Terrasse Fleurie
#6 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Appart'City Confort Geneve Divonne-les-Bains
Appart'City Confort Geneve Divon...
#9 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac

Property: Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac
Address: 93 Chemin du Chatelard, 01220 Divonne-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Divonne-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa du Lac is a unique and residential complex in a green environment and nearest Divonne lake. An ideal place to relax and host private dinners, business meetings and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Fastbooking, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Du Lac Hotel Divonne-Les-Bains
La Hotel Du Lac
La Hotel Divonne Les Bains
Hotel & Residence La Villa Du Lac Divonne-Les-Bains, Ain, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing