We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Divonne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau de Divonne
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed for 3 days of business meetings staying overnight with the meeting room package. Absolutely stunning views and the chateau is beautiful in an old world charming kind of way. Some of the inside is in need of a bit of modernising and it did feel a bit twee but I quite liked that. The outside terrace where you can sit and have a drink overlooking Mont Blanc is very special. I found the location useful with it being a short ride from Geneva Airport and good value for money compared to the higher prices of meeting packages in Geneva. I was happy with my spacious room and nice touches of chocolates etc left, however some colleagues weren't very happy that they didn't have a window. So I would look out for this. The large meeting room we hired was down in the cellar it was atmospheric and full of character. It had small windows so a little dark when in there for a few days but there are other rooms you can hire upstairs. The bar is good as the night porter happily kept it open till the early hours. On balance we were quite a demanding lot but we did need the flexibility for our meetings so the staff didn't always see eye to eye with us. We were in fact met with quite a bit attitude at times, which I didn’t expect with how much business we were bringing. Although they probably required a lot more notice for things due to French employee/work rules and some of the staff were great but some others not so. It's ok for having very formal meetings if you don't require flexibility and everything is set in stone or if you’re passing through and fancy a romantic break, in that respect having also stayed elsewhere in the area. I'd say the Chateau is probably the best place to stay in Divonne.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelliemurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    70
    27
    16
    5
See reviews for
33
110
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I have stayed many times on business. I like the feeling of seclusion and getting away from the big hotels. The rooms tend to be a good size and and always quiet and comfortable. The food is very nice but I cant comment on the prices as it alwasy goes on the company credit card! Service is good too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateaux_hotels_gef, Responsable Réservations at Chateau de Divonne, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Madam, Sir,

We wanted to thank you for your feedback regarding you many stays at Château de Divonne.
We are very happy to see that our clients realize our chance to have such position close to Geneva.
We looking forward to welcom you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferney-Voltaire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We started our meal at the Chateau de Divonne with champagne. My husband's glass of Brut was fine, but my Rosé was obviously flat. I complained and the glass was replaced with a fresh one, but at €18 a glass I shouldn't have had to ask.

As for our food, what we had didn't taste bad, it only looked bad. My langoustine ravioli was flavorful but looked like a bowl of mud. It was the worst dressed plate I've ever had in France. A sad sprig of green parsley couldn't help that overwhelming brown. My husband's lobster medallions, which should have had pride of place, were buried under lettuce leaves.

Next plates - again, good taste - horrible presentation. My husband's veal and eggplant purée was meat swimming in a beige mush-like sea (and mush is a nice comparison). My dorade with mushroom risotto was yet another monochromatic study in brown.

They redeemed themselves somewhat with the desserts. My Grand Marnier souffle was excellent, my husband's chocolate fondant equally so, and their presentation was better.

For a restaurant in this price range how the food is presented is as important as how it tastes. I can't say this was the worst tasting meal I've ever had, but I have to say it was the least attractive.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I stayed there for 1 night and also had dinner with clients. It sells itself as a bit of old fashioned luxury, but in my view it was a bit more old fashioned and a bit less luxury. I realise you cant have it all, but I have stayed in plenty of old placed that also have a modern touch tastefully done. This place needs modernising and thats a fact.

The dinner was really good quality and you get a fantastic view over the lake from the dining room. The night porter kept the bar open until the early hours as we were residents and that is always a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrb72_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We had a wonderful experience staying at Chateau de Divonne. The location is great away from the busy Geneva, but still less than 15 minute drive from the airport saving you some money compared with similar hotels in Switzerland. Our room was small but cosy and quiet. The restaurant is excellent with a wonderful terrasse for summer dinners. The staff including the management is first class, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bastad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
164 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

the hotel is in the middle of the forest, very "chateau style". with very good service, views, and very nice to relax after a long flight, close to Geneva airport, city and close to Lac Leman if you are interested in make a tour around it

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pfl0res
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Went for some business meetings. First off, a beautiful location. Great views. The hotel and rooms are very old -- if you are looking for some charm, then this is the place. If you are looking for working Internet and a modern feel - go elsewhere. There is also a bit of an attitude here, as they wouldn"t recommend any outside restaurants to us, or allow us to order food in, as they only wanted us to eat in their restaurant...Also, smeels old and musty, but kind of cool and retro that way - in a mid-evil way...Beware of getting a windowless room...

Room Tip: Get one with a window! some dont have windows!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpolatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Divonne-les-Bains
0.3 mi away
Domaine de Divonne
Domaine de Divonne
#1 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 stars 529 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac
Hotel & Residence La Villa du La...
#3 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree du Parc
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree...
#4 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Jiva Hill Resort
Jiva Hill Resort
#1 of 2 in Crozet
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Appart'City Confort Geneve Divonne-les-Bains
Appart'City Confort Geneve Divon...
#10 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Terrasse Fleurie
La Terrasse Fleurie
#5 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Divonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Divonne

Property: Chateau de Divonne
Address: 115 rue des Bains | pres de Geneve, 01220 Divonne-les-Bains, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Divonne-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Divonne 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant XVIIIth century castle is 15 kilometers from Geneva, between Lake Geneva and the Jura, close to the casino, golf and fitness center. This hotel, relaxing and gastronomic stage in the heart of a park, enchant nature lovers with its breathtaking panorama of the Mont Blanc and Lake Geneva. In the dining room of the Chateau de Divonne, you will enjoy the special atmosphere of a beautiful family home converted into a restaurant. Authentic floors, fresco by Jean Debaub representing the banks dreamed of Lake Divonne in the romantic style, family portraits, soft colors combine to create a rare setting near Geneva. The dining room "Duchess Vendôme" is located on the ground floor, windows provide light and stunning views of the mountains. From the first lovely days, the terrace facing Mont Blanc chain is very appreciated for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Divonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Divonne Hotel Divonne-Les-Bains
Le Chateau De Divonne Hotel
Chateau De Divonne Divonne-Les-Bains, Ain, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing