We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Step back into a bygone era”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Domaine de Divonne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Domaine de Divonne
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
West Yorks, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Step back into a bygone era”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I love this hotel! The whole place is beautifully decorated in art deco style and feels glamourous, refined and yes, quiet! You could be back in the 1930's, attending a dinner dance after a day at the spa.

The hotel is in the middle of a small spa town which is clearly part of the Geneva commuter belt. It is very pretty and very clean with interesting shops and good restaurants and bars. On Sunday there is a large street Market with food and drink alongside cheap leather goods and the like. Lovely for a mornings browsing.

Divonne is less than half an hours drive from the French side of Geneva airport and it is a regular short break getaway for us. Fly into the main Swiss airport, then follow the signs to the French side which is less than 10 minute walk. Hire your car from the French side, and you will find it much cheaper and more convenient since you don't have to deal with the border when you are on the road.


The casino is fun, and the restaurant in the casino does great value set dinners.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne1y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomainedeDivonne, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Madam,

We do really thank you for your lovely comment.

We will transfer it to the whole staff. It is a real pleasure to read such comment.

We do our best to offer good service, food or atmosfear. We are very happy to know that all our efforts meet your expectation.

We will be very pleased to welcome you for another stay in our beautiful country.

Best regards,

Thomas Berbain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    248
    110
    48
    21
See reviews for
60
392
8
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Hotel Domaine de Divonne is a classic old-fashion hotel, with an attached casino. Divonne-les-Baines is a cute little town but it does not appear there is much going on here. I can only assume the hotel and the casino had had its heyday a few decades ago.

I love my room and bathroom which are immense, and the room even opens up to 2 balconies. But I don't think all the rooms are of the same configuration. Breakfast was quite good. The rest of the hotel is lined with large mirrors and sofas with velvety upholstery and wall-to-wall thick carpeting. The route to the casino in the back of the hotel has ancient slot machines on display.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aycanela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomainedeDivonne, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

First of all we want to thank you for your feedback.

We really thank you for your good review and comment.
Finally, we are constantly looking for ways to improve our guest experience and refurbishment projects should be starting next year.
We would be happy to welcome you back at the Domaine de Divonne and remain at your entire disposal for any further information.

Thomas Berbain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rungsted
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed 1 night at the hotel. As other reviewers wrote .. it is a bit dated and stuck in the 80s. Good and friendly service, our check out time was extended to 15h with no issues.
Strange concierge service we asked for a restaurant recommendation. The first concierge was not really knowledgeable. The 2nd one just booked us a table at a restaurant without asking what we actually want. Nice clean large rooms – and finally lots of mirrors … stayed in the superior suite.
I would have loved to go running and enjoy the grounds – unfortunately it rained. The gym has 4 older Tecno gym machines, TV was broken and I could not spot an opportunity to clean after the training the machines. The sauna & hamman looked nice. Breakfast ok – not over exciting. Good pool.
I remember the hotel from coming here approx.. 15 years ago for conferences – it’s a classic … good price / quality ratio.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petraeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomainedeDivonne, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

First of all, please accept our apologies. We are sorry to hear that we were not able to meet the expectations.

Regarding the concierge service that we propose, we are pleased to inform you that we have fixed our mistakes and have value-added our quality service.

Regarding the fitness center we are thinking about refurbishment for the machine. The technical service has repared the TV. Please note that there are showers in the fitness room (just before the sauna area). Moreover a person is at your disposal to change towels and clean area.

Finally, we are constantly looking for ways to improve our guest experience and refurbishment projects should be starting next year.

We would be happy to welcome you back at the Domaine de Divonne and remain at your entire disposal for any further information.

Regards,

Thomas Berbain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
401 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

unfortunately, Divonne-les-Bains is a bit on the decline. The bling-bling 1980s and 1990s are faded images, a time when the Casino upheld a strict dress code and disdainful Arab oil magnates would throw chips worth 25000 french francs on the roulette table and loose them without the blink of an eye. Behind the casino, the grand hotel still maintains the standards in an art-deco setting. We had communicating rooms for us and the grand children at a very reasonable price. We also had the swimmingpool on more than one occasion all to ourselves. Service is mixed, the majority of helpful staff can shine against a small minority that are not service oriented or simply rude. All in all a great place in a holiday resort that had more on offer than meets the eye at first.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert_bos53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomainedeDivonne, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all we want to thank you for having taken the time to share your feelings about your last stay in our etablishment.

We are very happy to know that the Domaine was able to meet your expectation regarding decoration, facilities and foods. However we note with regret that you have not find smiles in every face and we will bring the improvements that where needed.We will certainly investigate your comments with our team managers and ensure that your experience is not repeated. Please accept our apologies for this.

We will be very pleased to welcome you soon for maybe our Sunday brunch which will start again in September.

Regards,

Thomas Berbain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

A quiet location at the back of the town.

The staff are great and most speak excellent English. (My French lets me down a little!)

The food was lovely.

There is a lgreat looking outdoor pool, but I didn't have opportunity to try it.

Conference rooms are well appointed with flipchart stands and a briefcase of pens, tape scissors, stapelers etc.

The "Salon Jura", where we were based does suffer from tempramental wiring for the data projector. It took a bit of fiddling with the leads to get the blue, or sometimes yellow cast off the images.

Overall it was a great place for a conference.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomainedeDivonne, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are glad to hear that overall your stay with us was pleasurable (even if it was for business and meetings).

We really want to thank you for having taken the time to comment your venue.

We would be happy to welcome you back at the Domaine de Divonne and remain at your entire disposal for any further information.

Regards,

Thomas Berbain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

one of the most beautiful hotels ive ever been i cant explain how good it was nice location
and the service takes only seconds good times! i miss a place like this the room are quiet and cold i loved it i highly recommend this hotel its a really goood place!

Room Tip: all of them are perfect!<3
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahAlsuhaimai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomainedeDivonne, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are pleased to hear that we were able to meet the expectations.

We really thank you for your good review and comment. We will be very pleased to welcome some person to who you have recommended us.

We will be very pleased to welcome you for another stay.

Regards,

Thomas Berbain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

the room is very large the design is very classy. but it's quite old. the breakfast was ok not much variety of food provided. the staff was ok, i tried to request for a late checkout at 1pm they accepted my request the day before i checkout the room but called to ask me to checkout on time in the morning of the check out day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomainedeDivonne, Directeur général at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We should like to thank you for your comment published on our TripAdvisor Page.

We are glad to hear that overall your stay with us was pleasurable.On the other hand, regarding your late check out request, we should like to apologize for the misunderstanding.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at the Domaine de Divonne for a new experience.

Kind regards,

J.F. Largillière
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Divonne-les-Bains
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac
Hotel & Residence La Villa du La...
#4 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau de Divonne
Chateau de Divonne
#2 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree du Parc
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree...
#3 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Terrasse Fleurie
La Terrasse Fleurie
#5 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel La Mainaz
Hotel La Mainaz
#1 of 4 in Gex
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Divona
Hotel Le Divona
#7 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Divonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Divonne

Property: Domaine de Divonne
Address: Avenue des Thermes, 01220 Divonne-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Divonne-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de Divonne 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domaine de Divonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De Divonne Hotel Divonne-Les-Bains
Domaine De Divonne Les Bains
Domaine De Divonne Divonne-Les-Bains, Ain, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing