We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for a meeting not far from Geneva”
Review of Domaine de Divonne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Domaine de Divonne
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for a meeting not far from Geneva”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

How enjoyable to have a business meeting not at an Airport Hotel but rather somewhere with character and attentive staff. As some people have commented maybe the hotel has become a little tired but the room I stayed in (246) was spacious, clean and had a window (that you can open) with balcony overlooking the gardens. Free WiFi is provided everywhere in the Hotel and teh meeting room we use was again spacious and well set up for the two days we spent in it. We had dinner in the Casino restaurant and also enjoyed lunch in the main hotel restaurant.
definately a venue I would recommend for business meetings due to its convienience (25mins from the Airport), relaxing environment and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Sir,

We thank you for having taken the time to share your opinion about your meeting's stay in our etablishment.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed our services and facilities.

All the Team join me to thank you for your warm comments and hope to welcome you soon.

Regards,

Thomas Berbain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    260
    115
    49
    21
See reviews for
64
407
10
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I've been going to Domaine de Divonne for their Sunday brunch buffet regularly in the past few years, and I've always been impressed with its food and service. Granted, the spread pales in comparison to what one would find in 5-star Asian hotels, but by European standards, this one is quite sufficient.

The price has crept one consistently and is now 45 euros for adults, including coffee/tea, mineral waters and fruit juices. You only pay extra for alcohol. Fresh oysters, shrimp, and other seafood. Good and wide array of dessert. Children's corner with kid-friendly food. In fact, this place is very oriented towards family. In the adjacent lobby area, they have an excellent Monsieur who makes fabulous balloon animals, as well as a Madame who does face paints. So, count on lots of kids running around.

Plenty of free parking on site.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

First of all we want to thank you for having taken the time to share your opinion about our Sunday Brunch.

We are very pleased that this service meets your needs. We try our best to provide our customer fresh buffet and a good child animation.

Please note that the Brunch is closed for summer until last week-end of august.

We will be very pleased to welcome you for the next reopening.

Regards,

Thomas Berbain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I have held several training sessions for business at the Domaine de Divonne. The meeting rooms have a lot of natural light and the staff does its best to accommodate your requests. Meetings on the main floor are better than in the "basement". It is a nice peaceful get away from Geneva. The grounds and gardens are lovely in the Spring and the large pool is refreshing in the summer. The sleeping rooms are a bit larger than normal European accommodations. Some even have balconies facing the mountains. They have several levels of room size. The front desk staff speaks adequate English and are friendly and try to help. Overall their food is fairly good for both large meetings, as well as smaller dinners in the hotel restaurant. The fitness center is small. The hotel is within a few blocks of the town and close to many other restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Ask for a rom with a balcony facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights for business. the room is typical older European, clean and comfortable but not modern. It has free wifi!! a big plus to me, the grounds appear attractive altho i didn't spend much time there. and the restaurant at the hotel is fine, as are some of the local places at which we dined. room was a very comfortable size and there is a balcony with easy access..
It was very convenient to Nyon where my company has an office. We used the local ABD taxi service to get around and it is only about 20 minutes to Geneva airport
so overall was acceptable for a business trip

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endersgame29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ginevra
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I have to say that took me a while to find a good place to go for a brunch in Geneva area. I went to the Domaine for family brunch and I was pleasantly surprised.
Nice relaxed atmosphere and very welcoming of kids. Children have a dedicated buffet and animation, so you can enjoy your break while the staff take care of them.
Huge variety and great food. A good variety of cheese and deserts as well.
Far better value than everything else similar I’ve tried in that area.
Just very old fashion, but I highly recommend for Sunday brunch with kids.

Get a reservations some days before to be sure you’ll have seats.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank balzerain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Hotel is impressive when seen "from a distance". Unfortunately, up close it all starts to "fall apart". I believe last remodelling was done in the 80's and you can tell. It all looks very old and unfashionable. Tapestries in rooms look worn, brown marble in the bathroom looks really bad taste. Elevators are old and shaky. This hotel's grandeur times are well over.
As to the service it is very uneven and I've seen very good service and awfully bad.
When ordered goat cheese salad in the bar it arrived cold. I sent it back and it came to me with cheese barely reheated and greasy. I was expecting they would prepare the whole salad again. Reheating cheese makes it very greasy and it tastes bad.
Free wi-fi stopped working one evening and they couldn't fix it until the morning, because there was no engineer on duty.
I was yelled at by the hotel shuttle driver because my colleagues were late (not me, but I guess he did not care and just wanted to vent his frustration). I don't understand what was the fuss all about, since the driver told me he did not need to be anywhere else in particular. The evening before shuttle just left without us because they did not bother to find us.
Spa and gym are worn out and old. Treadmill skips and is actually a h&s threat. Equipment is very old and scarce. Just one of each kind and only cardio. In the spa (there's no way this term can be used here to the full extent) there's a sauna, hammam (steam room) and a whirlpool. Sauna was switched off and cold. Why bother?
To top it up, we got an apology letter and cookies from sales manager for the situation with the shuttle leaving without us. The letter was full of typos and bad English grammar. It was actually appalling. English is not my native language, but I use spell-check. If I were to write a note like this I'd make damn sure it is written properly.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel. Villa du Lac is much better value without all the pretence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dadasko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomainedeDivonne, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
First of all, please accept our apologies. We are sorry to hear that we were not able to meet the expectations.
Regarding the pick-up service that we propose, we are pleased to inform you that we have fixed our mistakes and have value-added our quality service.
Concerning the bad experiences you had within our restaurants, we have brought the improvements that where needed.
About the bad English grammar, we should like to apologize. We now rely on an English person who is part of the team and will take care of this type of responsibility.
We will certainly investigate your comments with our team managers and ensure that your experience is not repeated. Please accept our apologies for this.
Finally, we are constantly looking for ways to improve our guest experience and refurbishment projects should be starting next year.
We would be happy to welcome you back at the Domaine de Divonne and remain at your entire disposal for any further information.

Thomas Berbain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Had several colleagues staying here last week for meetings. Rooms were nice, clean and quiet but everything else was horrible. They ran out of breakfast each morning, told us just to come earlier next time. Shuttle was booked but driver decided to go home early instead of picking us up, restaurant took our reservation for large group at 1930 but didn't open until 20h. When we showed up they asked us just to wait 30-45 min. Etc, etc, etc. Too bad since hotel has nice interior and Divonne is pretty french village.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smcollum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomainedeDivonne, Revenue Manager at Domaine de Divonne, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
First of all, please accept our apologies. We are sorry to hear that we were not able to meet the expectations.
Regarding the pick-up service that we propose, we are pleased to inform you that we have fixed our mistakes and have value-added our quality service.
Concerning the bad experiences you had within our restaurants due to the legal opening time at the Casino we have improved our website description and from now all restaurant's reservation are confirmed by a written form with the schedule.
Finally, we are constantly looking for ways to improve our guest experience and we would be happy to welcome you back at the Domaine de Divonne and remain at your entire disposal for any further information.

Thomas Berbain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Divonne-les-Bains
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac
Hotel & Residence La Villa du La...
#4 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree du Parc
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree...
#3 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
151 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel La Mainaz
Hotel La Mainaz
#1 of 4 in Gex
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chateau de Divonne
Chateau de Divonne
#2 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences La Versoix
Zenitude Hotel-Residences La Ver...
#6 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Terrasse Fleurie
La Terrasse Fleurie
#5 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Divonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Divonne

Property: Domaine de Divonne
Address: Avenue des Thermes, 01220 Divonne-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Divonne-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de Divonne 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domaine de Divonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De Divonne Hotel Divonne-Les-Bains
Domaine De Divonne Les Bains
Domaine De Divonne Divonne-Les-Bains, Ain, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing