We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Reall Fantastic Little Hotel”
Review of Caprice des Neiges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caprice des Neiges
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Combloux
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Reall Fantastic Little Hotel”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

If you are looking for a really great 2* hotel from which to ski the Domain Grand Evasion (Megeve, Combloux, St Gervais and Les Contamines) this is it. The welcome was brilliant, the food lovely, the views spectacular and all for a great price!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T2KF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    39
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
31
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed here on a recent skiing weekend, the staff were extremely friendly, and the food was great. We had a car which made getting to ski lifts much easier than taking local buses. All in all this is a fantastic, great value 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomhowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here for a ski weekend and the hotel is very nice.The room was a bit small and the bathroom was very old but in general is nicely decorated and the place is comfortable.
Breakfast is great and dinner is really nice but it is a set menu.The views from the restaurant are amazing.
The location is very convenient to La princesse telecabine, 5 minutes by car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ijbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Caprice des Neiges is a lovely, authentic French hotel. Great breakfasts and dinner in the dining room with panoramic views across the valley. Great food in the restaurant in the evenings.
Rooms were spotless and simple, no frills or fuss, but nicely decorated.
Friendly and attentive staff and owner- the minibus to and from the lifts gets you to the slopes quickly!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaktoubX171223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Have stayed here twice now, both times in family skiing groups. Once in Feb 2009 then again in Feb 2012.Thomas, the owner, is very pleasant, friendly and flexible and speaks excellent English.The hotel is a little way from the ski lift but Thomas or one of the staff, will take you there by mini bus and will collect you at the end of your day.It is possible to ski back to the hotel over the fields if there is plenty of snow; there is a boot/ski room under the hotel.The views are excellent; the food is way above average and highly creative from this chef who has worked in some top restaurants before he bought the hotel.The rooms are a little on the small side; some have been refurbished.Ask for a room at the front with a balcony; some also have baths rather than just showers.Small lounge area with TV & comfy seating; no entertainment after dinner.A walk to the town of Combloux will take you maybe a half hour, a short cut over fields is possible but not lit after dark. Would stay here again

Room Tip: choose a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We have eaten there twice and were pleased both times. There is a definite effort at creativity from the chef's - every dish is well presented and flavorful. The servers have been attentive and thrive to please the customers.
Unrelated to the food: the view from the dining room is awesome, it dominates the Arve River valley and its framing ranges - Aravis and Aiguille de Warrens.
My parents will celebrate their 60th wedding anniversary next month; and Caprice des Neiges is the restaurant we have selected for our extended family festivities.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank minusorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Stayed here for a few days in Feb 2010, pleasant staff, good breakfast and dinner, tiny and only just acceptable rooms however, very dated and in need of a makeoever. Location is a couple of miles out of combloux, but convenient for La Princesse telecabine up to the great slopes of Megeve ski area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninthtoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combloux
0.9 mi away
Aux Ducs De Savoie
Aux Ducs De Savoie
#1 of 9 in Combloux
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel restaurant LES GRANITS
1.5 mi away
Residence Goelia La Grande Cordee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Au Coeur Des Pres
Au Coeur Des Pres
#4 of 9 in Combloux
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Aravis
Les Aravis
#7 of 9 in Combloux
46 reviews
3.0 mi away
Les Rhodos
Les Rhodos
#2 of 8 in Cordon
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caprice des Neiges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caprice des Neiges

Property: Caprice des Neiges
Address: 57 route de l Epine, 74920 Combloux, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Combloux
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Combloux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caprice des Neiges 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21 rooms well furnished for this 2 star hotel in Megeve Combloux, french ski resorts in the Alps. Nestled in a Savoyard hamlet, the Caprice des Neiges offers an exceptional view of the Aravis range, the Aiguille de Warens, the Fiz range and the Sallanches valley. In this sunny setting you will relax in the calm of our hotel. All our rooms have an ensuite bathroom, television, telephone. Some of our rooms have communicating doors for the comfort of large families. We are located only 1,5 km from the center of Combloux, a typical alpine village named "pearl of the Mont Blanc" by Victor Hugo. Only 4 km from Megève and 500 m from the " Evasion" ski area (420 km of slopes). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Caprice des Neiges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprice Des Neiges Combloux, France - Haute-Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing