We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what value for money - fantastic!!!”
Review of Hotel Le Verseau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Verseau
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Brides-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“what value for money - fantastic!!!”
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Just returned from a ski weekends break - two friends with our two daughters and couldn't have been more impressed. What a smooth operation the staff run. Everything went like clockwork down to room and breakfast on arrival, shuttle bus to gondola and evening meal. The staff were always pleasant and very helpful, the ski service the hotel provided was excellent and we had three very full days of skiing - what we wanted from the start. i had read some of the other reviews and been quite surprised by the negative comments- what more could you ask for ,for your money , skiing in the three valleys!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mogs10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    73
    22
    12
    9
See reviews for
40
36
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2009

Arrived by air all full of high spirits for the Chritmas break and although given a welcome pack, no representative welcome briefing was given by the staff. One morning at 1045 we were part of a group waiting for the complimentry minibus to take us to the lift when a rep came out and said that the transport would be there in a minute. We were then told 10 minutes later that it stopped operating at 1030 as briefed at the welcome briefing!...... (which like I said there never was).
The food was average and service was disorganised with the staff constantly apologetic as if waiting for a compaint. This echoed from the management down as they seemed disinterested and as a result of overbooking / delays with coach holidays the restuarant could not handle the amount of customers requiring feeding and I personnely witnessed several meals being returned to the kitchen!
The day before we were due to depart the hotel, we enquired about what time check out the next day was and where we could keep our bags (expecting it to be about 1000). As we had a 4 day ski break package as advertised with the last day being one of the skiing days before departure at 1600, we were extremely surprised to hear that we were to have the room vacated by 0800. (In 36 years of staying in hotels I have never been asked to be out of a room this early). However we were advised that we could arrange a late check out (as the room was going to remain unoccupied) for an additional 15 Euros. No reciept for this transaction was offered or recieved. Later we discovered that a bag room and shower facilities was available, this had not been advisd to us when the enquiry was made.
Overall very disapointing, and having wrote to ski weekends 3 days after our return and then contacting them again and advised that a guarentee reply would be recieved within so many days, I am still waiting for this reply. The extremely young staff who spent most of their time in the hotel bar, seemed more interested in getting up the mountain than interested in the customers! I for one will not be using them again!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlosondet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2009

Booked a long weekend with www.skiweekends.com for £200 including return coach from London and didn't expect much. All four in our party were very pleasantly surprised. Special mention goes to the extremely friendly and helpful staff who go out of their way to help and assist. In terms of the actual accommodation, it is a 3 star – nothing more and certainly nothing less. Reading the previous posts, I can only assume that some work has been done as it definitely didn't seem dirty. Biggest negative (and one of the only) is that when everyone returns from the slopes the hot water isn’t all that hot anymore. For the money you cannot go wrong!

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Lack of hot water when everyone returns from slopes
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Toaoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2008

My friend and I hadn't been skiing together before and thought it would be a good idea. As he lives in London I originally looked at short breaks skiing due to work commitments. I booked via lastminute.com and then found it was actually skiweekends.com

Hotel Le Verseau is ideally located with superb staff. Shuttles from from first thing in the morning until the last lift from Meribel stops. The staff are friendly, helpful and the place is far from the nasty place some of these reviews mention! If you want a great few days skiing in brilliant value accomodation then this is for you. Indeed, i am going back there in January (about 3 weeks tme)!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — No english tv in rooms!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougie_wh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2008

Club Hotel Verseau - I appreciate that the hotel is only a French 3 star but it was more like a hostel than a hotel and almost made our stay unbearable.

In short the hotel was very dirty, smelly, and unhygienic. It seemed that the only good thing about it were the reps Sam and Gus who were as helpful as they could possibly be. I personally stayed in room 42 which had an extremely nasty aroma of mould and it is easy to see why; I have attached a picture of the mould growing in our room. The bed linen and towels were filthy; again I have attached a picture of our ‘clean’ bath mat when we arrived. The beds themselves were no better than camp beds. The radiators did not work and simply made a loud dripping and gurgling noise constantly. In this environment you would have thought that leaving the doors wide open to the cold was not necessary – apparently not, each evening we came back to find our curtains billowing in the wind (I wonder too about security)! The plates, bowls and cutlery at breakfast were absolutely filthy and we chose not to risk dinner. The staff, (excluding Sam and Gus), were unorganised, unhelpful and utterly clueless.

The disorganisation of the hotel and sleeping on a camp bed I can live with, it is the filthy accommodation and misrepresentation of the hotel that is unacceptable. It is unrealistic to state that this hotel is a 3 star.

It is a huge shame as we had such a wonderful time out on the slopes and the hotel ruined our trip. When I booked I did not expect luxury accommodation by any means but I did expect my room to be clean and not mouldy, smelly and absolutely filthy.

  • Liked — leaving it
  • Disliked — unhygenic and filthy
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lindenladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

We recently stayed here after booking a week trip with Ski Weekends. We were a group of 3 (mum, dad & 15 year old son) and our friends a group of 4 (mum, dad & 13 year old twins) so accommodation is a big issue for us. The quad rooms we both had were more than adequate. The rooms were spacey, big bathrooms (the toilet was in a seperate room), plenty of storage space (we had 3 snowboard bags) and my son had a comfortable bunk bed. We also had a large balcony with a cracking view across the valley. OK, the room could have been cleaned to a higher standard, but as long as you didn't trash it, it was always tidy when you got back with beds being made for you. The breakfast was adequate, although you did have to chase for things like cups, spoons, bread etc as they were a bit slow replenishing stocks, but over all we ate enough to kick start us.

The bar is a wonderful area with areas beside a large fire, in a quite window area or in the main lounge with Sky tv & a pool table. However, the bar prices are steep. 6 euros for a pint or a bottle of beer! Happy hour takes it down to half price but is only on 5-6pm. The time when you're getting ready for the evening.

We didn't eat there in the evening as the kids didn't like the menu plus I'm a keen fan of eating out and enjoy looking for little gems of restaurants. Bride does have a few but if any families are reading this and their kids don't like pizza, there is only on restaurant, Bar Des Gourment, at the other end of the village. Other than that there are a number of restaurants to go to in the village. We did ask one night if they could do anything for the kids in the hotel and they offered to switch the main course to sausage or burger & chips. But we'd still have to pay 18 euro per head for the full 3 courses, so we declined.

Ski Weekends run a complimentary minibus to & from the gondola, which does save you the steep hill up to the hotel.

Overall, I'd be happy to stay there again, but their bar prices do scare me!

  • Liked — It did have a nice bar area to relax in in the evening
  • Disliked — Unless you were loaded the bar proces meant you couldn't really enjoy the bar area to it's max!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank theboybev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2008

Two of us travelled with Skiweekends in March this year and thought it was great value for money!! The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful (yes they are young but i think 'toy dogs' - see below - is totally incorrect) - we didn't know the area very well so asked if anyone knew how to ski from Meribel to Val thorens and got about 4 staff members offering us advice and pulling out maps to show us their routes. If you talk to the staff their skiing during the day can be helpful - a couple told us of their favourite skiing routes which proved to be the best skiing we did all holiday! Yes the rooms aren't cleaned to a meticulous level, but the room was spacious, we had a lovely balcony and the bathroom was massive with the hottest water i've ever found in a hotel - I had a bath every night! We had booked bed and breakfast so tried to find restaurants in town to eat in the evening - however be warned - we found ONE place and this seemed to have everyone in it, and there is practically nowhere to eat for under €18 for a main course. It was raining and we dejectedly headed back to the hotel where the manager immediately arranged for us to have a table in the restaurant and booked us in for meals all week for a special price for 3 courses that was less than any main meal in town. The food was great - hot and filling, exactly what we needed after a days skiing, although try to get down in time for the 'happy hour' as drinks are expensive after then!! Bride-les-bains is a cute little town, no real places to eat cheaply or clubs etc but the gondala ride up is great and you don't feel like your missing out not being in Meribel (apart maybe from no apres ski!) The staff waited for us to be ready to take us in the minivan to the gondala each morning - so much so that they were like our personal taxi! And the ski hire staff were very helpful too. I'd recommend this hotel to my friends, but it probably suits a younger crowd (although there were lots of older people who were having just as good a time) especially if you are expecting luxury - its not luxury but its great value and we had a great holiday and would definately go again!

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Not much apres ski
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lora842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brides-les-Bains hotels
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#2 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brides les Bains Grand Hotel des Thermes
Mercure Brides les Bains Grand H...
#7 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#4 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Villa Eureca
Residence Villa Eureca
#9 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel les Chalets
Hotel les Chalets
#3 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Verseau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Verseau

Property: Hotel Le Verseau
Address: rue du 8 Mai 1945, 73570 Brides-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Brides-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Brides-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Verseau 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite year after year, guests return and the new ones say "we can't believe its' this nice". Club Hotel Verseau is a truely sociable and relaxing place to stay. You'll be welcomed and cared for by our own 16 strong team. Our shuttle bus service is provided morning and evening to and from the Olympe gondola so you don't even have to carry your skis or board.Evening meal is a true restaurant experience, our stylish restaurant is open from 7.30pm each evening . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Verseau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Verseau Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing