We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab week away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Verseau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Le Verseau
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Brides-les-Bains
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“fab week away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

well starting with coach it is tiring but surprising it went quite quick really as we had some nice people around to talk with ,they played films,was reading, snoozing, breaks time soon passed.
when we got to hotel around 9am breakfast was waiting also we could go straight into our rooms! which was great. room was clean and warm with a great view from balcony safe is free of charge in room to put your valuables in which I thought was nice touch when we normally find hotel charge for that. staff were really friendly with us right from beginning found that the manager was always around if needed not hiding in the office etc. had a lot of space to lounge in considering size of place with big sofa in front of tv that was sky so all channels English you could whenever. pool table aswell. people that was on same coach were very nice spent evening chatting with each other. food was lovely 3 courses of homemade food by daz the chef who was friendly . we were lucky they did a curry/comedy night on chefs night off (Tuesday) for a few euros a head great night food was fab. ben the manager was normally always about not sitting in the background like most hotels, had live singer Thursday night who was good that was a great night too. skiing was great with free shuttle between certain times was walkable if you decide to have lie in.a little tabacco/cafe shop down road with good food if you want lunch or dinner on chefs night off friendly staff in there a little shop down road too. scenery around hotel is beautiful.just before we left hotel put on fresh made soup and bread which I thought was a lovely touch to the end of a good holiday. i read reviews before I went and all I can say is you have to make a holiday for yourselves if you join in with others nights are nice and for the price we had great week. we will be going back next year bonus prices of drinks really aren't that expensive in hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiweekends, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Verseau, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Hayley A,
Thank you for your feedback, it's great to hear you had a good stay and you enjoyed the entertainment and Daz's cooking! We will pass on your comments to the Verseau team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    72
    22
    11
    9
See reviews for
37
36
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Great ski weekend!! Our fourth trip to Hotel Verseau. Great Value skiing weekend. 3 star hotel with 4 star food, thanks Dan! Staff fab, happy to help, a great team. Ben the manager very helpful, a nice guy! A great night was had on Saturday with Jas & Phil, a fab band, what a laugh!!

La Folie Douce on the Saluire Express, ski run is a great place for 'Apri Ski', a must visit, dancing on tables at 2pm, fab food (pricey) and a fab atmosphere with music booming!

Will be back before season ends, Thanks to all at Ski Weekends!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiweekends, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Verseau, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Sarah M,
We're happy to hear you had such a good stay with us, we hope to tempt you again before the end of the season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Super hotel and week by skiweekend.com. i was impressed how smoothly everything went.
the coach trip was painful as im tall but once we arrive dropped our bags off to the slopes we went ( we were running a few hours behind but that really didnt both us, you get what you pay for and this is budget)
The rooms are clean and tidy with everything you need, a safe, shower/bath/hairdryer/TV.
the food was very nice in deed, with 3 courses included in the package.
The staff are brilliant going out there way to help

Having stopping in brides before i was aware of the 20min trip to the slopes but as you can tell if i'm returning it really didn't both us the slightest. people on here moan that you miss out on ski time...NO YOU DONT the gondola opens at 8:30am the ski lifts don't open til 9am, so if your like us u get up and go for that first gonola, every day we got to meribel before the lifts even opened.
the gondolas coming back can have a big que but they keep going until the last persons gone, the the staff at verseau will pick be there to pick you up at the bottom.
If however you do miss the mini bus to the hotel its only a short 5min walk ( we did this a few times as we stopped off at the shop or a bar for a drink)

If you do decide to eat out you must eat at a place called Pizza man, its hidden but ask around for it and youll find it, well worth a visit.

All in all i highly recommend here for a budget ski holiday! we met some fab people on our trip as this does pull alot on single travellers from all over the place. I will be back at christmas :)

thank you for a great holiday experience

Room Tip: Not above the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray_Travel1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiweekends, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Verseau, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Raymondage,
It's great you had a good time in Brides. If we can tempt you again before Christmas we are offering some loyalty discounts at the moment as you may have seen from our newsletter this week. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

The hotel is adequate, and the food sufficient to prevent too many grumbles, but expect no more than you are paying for. As mentioned, its location does not help, and a short trip in a minibus is required to the bottom of the long (25minutes) gondola to Meribel. This obviously can significantly reduce ski time.

However, of greater concern, and something which prompt this review, is that this hotel is used by Ski Weekends. The promise is of three days ski-ing in Meribel. If travelling by their coach, this will only happen if everything runs perfectly. For us, it certainly did not.

Due to predictable pre-Xmas delays out of London to the Tunnel (obvious on SatNav etc before we even left Victoria), and further long-known delays at the tunnel we were bumped to a 6am crossing!, and only after pressure from passengers and the driver (by then 11pm) we transferred to an early morning Channel crossing by ferry, arriving in France at 2:30am. Ultimately, driving with no further proper rest break, we found ourselves at a service station an hour north of Lyons, and three hours from Brides, at 11am with the coach drivers unable to drive any more. Mini buses were sent (or rather for us a converted van) but these arrived late and then became lost around Lyons. We did not arrive until 3pm, shattered, and had missed one of our three days ski-ing.

Our compensation. Our lift pass for that day would be refunded (but we had to arrange it in the morning). Abandoned by the rep, we lost another 45 minutes of ski-ing the next day, whilst we argued our case with the lift company.

Ski Weekends say that our experience was rare, a one off, and unpredictable, and offered next to nothing to compensate us. However, we know that the coach a week before, and the one after us also experienced significant delays with the time on the slopes reduced. They clearly have no plans to learn from these failures, adjust departure times, and reduced their advertised promises, and so, as mentioned many times online, simply be destined to repeat them. Skier Beware.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Visionary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiweekends, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Verseau, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Visionary S,
We are very sorry you had a bad trip and can only apologise for the problems with the travel. The teams both in the UK and overseas worked hard to try and do as much as possible and were in direct contact with Eurotunnel to try and find a solution as soon as we knew there was a problem. We are grateful for your feedback and do do what we can to improve our service for future customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clare
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Skiweekends have a good system & are very organised for a value for money break this was great. As per previous reviews the hotel is a bit tired but found it to be clean & warm at all times. The food was very good & wholesome.
The shuttle to the lift was excellent & available at all the stated times.
So thanks Skiweekends great value & service.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank shipclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiweekends, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Verseau, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Clare, thank you for your feedback. It's good to hear what our guests think, good or bad but we are obviously pleased you had a good stay! We don't pretend to provide a luxury holiday but do our best to offer good value ski breaks. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed over the Christmas period. Yes the hotel is a bit tired, but the service and the quality of the food is what you would expect from a far higher star rating. You can't pay £379 over a Christmas holiday and expect 5 star.

All the reviews state that there is between 25 to 30 minutes transfer time between Brides and Meribel, so why stay in Brides and then complain! It seems people want to pay less, but expect more! We did not have a plug in our bath, but we spoke to the manager and this was addressed.

We travelled by coach and knew the journey was going to be long, but we took this in our stride and reminded ourselves what we were paying. As the journey was overnight we managed to sleep, all be it not very comfortably. Not sure whether we would go by coach again, but saying that if the price was right, maybe.

Overall an amazing trip, good snow and excellent service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleH401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiweekends, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Verseau, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Carole
Thank you for your feedback, we do try to offer good value skiing.
We are glad you spoke to the manager and got a bath plug, we try and encourage guests to speak to resort staff so we can try and help before guests go home.
We hope to see you again soon.
Ski Weekends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed at the Le Verseau over New Year 2013/14 with my partner and our children on a package with the specialist ski company Ski Weekends. First the good points:

The Hotel was comfortable and warm, the food was good and more than adequate, and the mostly very young staff were polite, helpful and excellent. The shuttle minibus service to the ski lift in Bride was brilliant and we never had to wait more than a few minutes for a ride.

The negative points were that the plumbing was disgusting: our sink would not drain due to the huge amount of horrible gunge in the drain pipe which then floated into the sink and sat there until the water had slowly drained enough for us to wash it away.
The 'ski-room' was a tiny space at the bottom of the stairs which had soaking wet carpet on the floor, making your socks wet as you put your boots on each day. The space was totally inadequate for the number of people and pairs of skis it had to cope with. Also, we had some VERY long queues for the telecabin, both going up and down, and this took some of our valuable ski time away, unfortunately. On one day we queued for over 45 minutes to get the lift up and then an hour to get the lift down. This may have been due to the extra numbers staying in Bride over the Christmas/New Year holiday, but the extra time taken to get to the foot of the ski area at Meribel (35 mins from the hotel with no queuing) would prevent me from staying at the Verseau again.

With regard to Ski Weekends, again it is a matter of mixed feelings. The trip was booked very late (less than a week before departure) and as so often happens the prices advertised on their web page were not available, though places were available at the full price. Strange, that! We were quoted ski pass prices of £339 each but then researched buying direct on the internet and found we could get them for hugely less; a family pass for four is about £765 or £191 each, and a two person pass for the older children was £239 each. To be fair Ski Weekends did then provide the passes at these prices but it seems fair to assume they wouldn't have done so had I not done my homework. Similarly, the ski hire through the company is extortionate; they charge £103 for 6 days hire of intermediate skis and boots whereas we pre-booked them from the same shop (Precision Ski/Skimium) for under £60. Some people at the hotel had paid the full price in the expectation that the gear would be ready for collection in the hotel, but it wasn't and they had to collect from the shop like us.
On the outward trip we were delayed by the fact that at Victoria the luggage had been very poorly loaded by us (the driver took no part in the loading) so when we got to our last pick -ups it all had to be taken out and reloaded to get all the bags on. Consequently we missed our Chunnel train and that resulted in us arriving late in Bride. A long wait at the ski hire shop meant we effectively only had half a day skiing on day 1.
As previously mentioned the Ski Weekends staff in the hotel were excellent and at the price we paid we felt it was reasonable value for money for a ski trip. We probably would use this company again, but not this hotel due to its location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiweekends, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Verseau, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Adam,
We are very sorry to hear your stay with Ski Weekends did not meet your expectations. Please contact our team at sales@skiweekends.com to discuss these issues further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brides-les-Bains hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brides les Bains Grand Hotel des Thermes
Mercure Brides les Bains Grand H...
#7 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Bains
Hotel Les Bains
#13 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#2 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Belvedere Hotel
Le Belvedere Hotel
#15 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Verseau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Verseau

Property: Hotel Le Verseau
Address: rue du 8 Mai 1945, 73570 Brides-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Brides-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Brides-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Verseau 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite year after year, guests return and the new ones say "we can't believe its' this nice". Club Hotel Verseau is a truely sociable and relaxing place to stay. You'll be welcomed and cared for by our own 16 strong team. Our shuttle bus service is provided morning and evening to and from the Olympe gondola so you don't even have to carry your skis or board.Evening meal is a true restaurant experience, our stylish restaurant is open from 7.30pm each evening . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Verseau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Verseau Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing