We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski weekend in Meribel”
Review of Hotel Le Verseau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Verseau
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Brides-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just returned from a 4 day ski weekend in the 3 Vallees with skiweekends.com It was my first package weekend trip . We travelled with skiweekends.com and they looked after us very well. We stayed in the Club Hotel Verseau in Brides Les Bains, (pronounced Breed la Ban) the staff in the hotel were great, really helpful. Hotel was clean and comfortable, food was excellent. Although Brides les Bains is a 20 minute gondola ride from Meribel, Ski Weekends ran a minibus to the gondola from the hotel from 08:15 onwards and from 16:30 back to hotel. (Although it was only a 10 minute walk.) I went in a group of 10 and nobody moaned about the Gondola ride, it was a relaxed way to start and finish the day. The timing of the weekend was very good as it meant I took only 1.5 days off work but skied for 4 days. I worked Thursday till 13:00 then drove to Liverpool Airport. Easy jet flight to Geneva. Ski Weekends met us then coach to resort, arriving about 22:30. Food was available for us on arrival. We then skied all day Friday, Saturday, Sunday and until 14:30 on the Monday. Coach left resort at 17:00 for Geneva, and we landed back in Liverpool at about 22:00. I would definitely recommend this as an option for either a cheeky weekend away or a main holiday because they also do full week breaks by coach or by air from UK. All being well I will be back next year. A tip for any skier. Book a locker on the piste in Meribel. (We used the one under the Saulire Express gondola) It cost us about 30 euros for a triple locker. We stored 3 sets of skis, three pairs of boots and three helmets, so we did the daily gondola commute in our après boots. A lot easier and it worked out about 10 euro's each for the 4 days

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Del Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 181 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

We traveled with Skiweekends by coach overnight and had 4 days on the slopes over New year and 3 nights accommodation. Our rooms and beds were comfortable. Their was plenty of food and the quality was OK. The staff were friendly and the transport up to Meribel and the ski area all worked very well, though it is 25mins on a gondola up from Brides and there is a considerable queue to come back down at the end of the day if you leave towards the end of the afternoon in peak season. If you are lucky with the snow (as we were in 2012/13) and you can ski red runs, you can jump the worst of the late afternoon homeward queue by getting on the gondola lower down than the main station.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is my third stay here with ski weekends and my first review.
The review should be taken in three segments - one fog the actual hotel, two for the service and thirdly for huge whole ski weekends concept...

Firstly the hotel - it's ok, bug in died need of a refurb. Bed are comfy, rooms clean enough bug cracked tiles and old furniture really starting to show. Food is pretty good, Mainz s bit stodgy but good skiing fodder.

Service is great and staff very helpful, generally couldn't do enough to help.

The whole concept of ski weekends is fan and this is one of the best ski areas in the world! Bubble from Brides to Meribel doesn't open until 21st December and this was an unexpected disappoinment, however snow in Meribel was exceptional this year. Could do without super loud films on the coach played until midnight on the way out though!

Overall hotel is a basic 2 star, but skiing at bargain prices is a real winner!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poppy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Just returned from a ski weekends holiday, This is the second time i have travelled with ski weekends staying at the hotel Verseau. The holiday was fantastic from start to finish and great value for money. The coach used was new and extremely comfortable for the overnight journey. Both drivers demonstrated professional safe driving standards along with keeping the passengers informed throughout the journey. They were also really friendly and fun to be with. The ski weekends overseas manager met the coach prior to the resort, issuing the lift passes and ski hire vouchers and communicated the itinary to get us out on the slopes as soon as possible. During our stay i found the hotel staff to be really helpful and made us feel really welcome. The hotel room was clean, spacious and looked out over the town. The restaurant food was excellent and the hotel bar had a lovely cosy atmosphere. The staff were well prepared and ready for the coming season. I really enjoyed the holiday and am looking to return to the hotel Verseau with ski weekends in February and again enjoy this wonderful area.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out towards the town have fantastic views and are really relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed at the Verseau on a Skiweekends long weekend on the 1st week of the season. Its a basic, ( tired ) place to put your head down. The staff were exceleent, the food was well above average for the price you pay. The rooms were adequate and the beer was cheap at 4.5e a pint. The only downfall is that it is 30 mins coach ride ( free ) to Meribel. If we had gone later in the season there is a chair lift from Brides to the resort that takes 17mins. I would definately stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath ( and a plug ) - I only had a shower in my room and would have loved to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpitMaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We went on a skiing trip with Skiweekends and stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. I could not complain, it really was a value for money we've paid. The room wasn't too modern, but it was clean, spacious, had a TV and a balcony overlooking slopes and the town. All staff members were British, so they could perfectly understand our requirements (believe me in other parts of France, it's a bit more complicated when it comes to communication). The breakfast was reasonable but would be glad to have more food for dinner (maybe because of our crazy appetite after spending a day on the slopes). Drinks in the hotel bar were cheap so we were having a good wine during the dinner time every night.
In the mornings, hotel staff was giving us a lift to the ski lift and picking us up after the long day of skiing.
There was nothing what was wrong so i would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darita_Lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Verseau in Feb 12 with our Family group of 12. To start when we arrived they had no record of a Family room and wanted to put our family of 4 in two separate rooms (children aged 5 &9), they did find us a family room by moving another older family out, the room was dirty with old creaky furniture no safety rails on the top bunk bed, the toilet would only flush once every 15mins (not great for a family of 4). They ran out of chips for the kids on the first night, all puddings on the second night, to give them their due the food was nice and the waiting staff were friendly and helpful.

On our final day Ski weekends again messed up and 4 of our groups ski passes had run out a day early, so they had to walk a mile back to the hotel with the kids spend an hour trying to sort out the passes which they did, however when we returned in the afternoon we were they presented with a bill for 434 Euros for the days ski hire and lift passes. After a heated agument and the threat of solicitors we eventually had to pay 150 Euros but this was the final straw. We will never book through Ski Weekends again and the Hotel Le Verseau has had its day and needs a serious update.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brides-les-Bains hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brides les Bains Grand Hotel des Thermes
Mercure Brides les Bains Grand H...
#7 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#3 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Bains
Hotel Les Bains
#10 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#2 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#1 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Centre
Hotel Le Centre
#16 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Verseau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Verseau

Address: rue du 8 Mai 1945, 73570 Brides-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Brides-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Brides-les-Bains
Price Range: $115 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Verseau 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite year after year, guests return and the new ones say "we can't believe its' this nice". Club Hotel Verseau is a truely sociable and relaxing place to stay. You'll be welcomed and cared for by our own 16 strong team. Our shuttle bus service is provided morning and evening to and from the Olympe gondola so you don't even have to carry your skis or board.Evening meal is a true restaurant experience, our stylish restaurant is open from 7.30pm each evening . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Verseau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Verseau Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing