We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
16
28
8
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
16
28
8
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 55 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2017

Due to staying at the Hotel Vanoise being a very cost effective way of skiing the Three Valleys I have stayed there twice both times using Crystal ski Holidays. It is a budget hotel but there again I did not pay an inordinate amount for my package deal. The pluses definitely outweigh the minuses by 99% to 1
The pluses my room was massive compared to rabbit hutches at Chamonix Sud
The rooms are recently refurbished and spotlessly clean
There is a lift inside the building
The food is plentiful and I was served numerous Savoyard delicacies a stone’s throw away at the Amelie Hotel
The lift to the 3 Valleys is 150 metres all away
The Tarte Myrtlilles was very good ,all in a highly recommended place to stay
The minus was the Duck confits was over salted
and that me being picky

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2017

I stayed in February 2017 as a cheaper alternative to staying in Meribel. The hotel was perfectly adequate. I stayed in one of the superior rooms, a triple. It was clean and spacious and the room had a rather large balcony, approx 4m x 5m but other rooms had smaller ones.
It had a king size bed and plenty of storage. It had a TV with French channels only but had a USB socket that you could plug in a USB stick with your own films or TV programmes on.
I had only two gripes, one was that the shower head had no bracket at head height to fix it to so you had to hold it to shower yourself. There is a drying rack above the bath which I managed to wedge it into but it was a bit rubbish.
The other thing was that it was so damned hot. I turned off the electric heaters and slept with the patio door open.
The breakfast and evening meals were served in the adjoining Amelie hotel, just a little walk of a few metres across a walkway on floor 1. The food was good though there was no choice of dishes if you booked half board. If you wanted anything else off the menu you had to pay extra.
The bar had happy hour from 4 - 6pm where a bier was 4.5 euro.
Breakfast was usual continental style of bread, cereals, toast, cake, ham and cheese, yoghurt, boiled eggs, fruit salad. Plenty of choice.

There is a ski room on the ground floor. It has lockable fittings for skis but not boards. The hotel will loan you a lock. There is no secure storage in the ski room for boots but you could leave them in there should you wish.

The gondola was a couple of hundred metres away up a bit of a hill. It opens at 8:35am and takes about 25 minutes. The lifts in Meribel open at 9am so it gets you there for opening time. The last gondola down is at 5pm early season and 5:30pm later on. Not really much time to stay for apres ski in Meribel village but La Folie Douce at the mid station of the Saulire gondola has apres from 3pm.

There is a small Spar market next to the hotel and two ski shops directly opposite.
Opposite the hotel is the information centre where there are free activities most evenings with free coffees, hot chocolate and teas.

Room tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter than ones on the road.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2016 via mobile

This was our fourth year of staying in Brides for a few days before moving up the mountain to Meribel Village. We stayed in a superior room that had everything we needed and plenty of space. The hotel deal was great value and included Trois Vallées ski passes and half board for 3 nights. Unfortunately I couldn't ski due an injury but the hotel arranged for my pass to be refunded.
Of the 4 Brides hotels we've stayed at, La Vanoise was the best for all round value and comfort.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 885cb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2016

We've just returned from a fabulous week full of blue sky days and plenty of snow in the 3 valleys.
We booked last minute and for a double room in La Vanoise and we were very happy with our choice.
Bearing in mind it is just a 2 star hotel it was beautifully clean and warm and the room was huge, with a fantastic balcony and view up towards the mountains.
The hotel is joined to its 3 star sister hotel where the bar and restaurant are, and it was really no bother walking all of 5 mts across the courtyard to the restaurant.
The food was great - good hearty food perfect for when you come off the slopes after a full day skiing.
The only criticism, if I had to have one, would be the decor - it's a bit dated and the rooms are very plain. But taking into account the fact it is 2 star and very clean and comfortable, and a great bed, I wasn't really bothered by the decor.
Regarding the location of Brides les Bains - the big downside for us in choosing Brides les Bains is that the last gondola down from Meribel is at 5pm. This means that if you want to ski Val Thorens (and you may well want to if the snow isn't good in Meribel), you have to get the last lift out at 3pm in order to reach the Olympee gondola in time. Or you face a 50 euro taxi ride. There are no ski busses from Merible to Brides les Bains.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank clarechdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2015

I've just spent last week skiing in the Three Valleys area of the French Alps. Staying in the Grand Vanoise as part of a Crystal Ski package holiday. The holiday was arranged by a friend. To say I was initially concerned would be an understatement! I mean staying in what must be the lowest altitude resort within the whole area & then to top it off residing in 2 Star accommodation, not to mention the 20 minute gondola ride to the slopes every morning! Could it get any worse? Well much to my pleasant surprise, the Vanoise turns out to be excellent, the ski hire shops are all opposite the hotel, the gondola is only a 100 meters (maximum) walk away where you can arrange to pay €20 for a boot locker & secure ski storage for the week. Well worth it believe me :0) I digress, getting back to the Vanoise, the rooms are spacious though not the height of luxury they are comfortable with a balcony & en-suite facilities. There's a TV plus a safe which is free of charge. My room had a full size bath yet only a hand held shower. However there's limitless hot water on tap & the efficient heating made for a comfy situation. Oh providing you leave your towels either on the floor or in the bath, they will be changed daily, if that's your want! Now here's the best bit you eat & drink in the 3 star Amelie which is adjoined & twinned to the Vanoise. Breakfast is a cold buffet affair & though reasonably extensive you won't get porridge. The only hot items are boiled eggs & toast. However it's all very tasty. The evening meal is mostly a set three course traditional French menu, choice is pretty non existent, unless you make a specific request. The wine also appeared to be quite expensive in relation to the quality offered. Regarding the food don't be put off by the limited choice as the quality & flavoursome fare was a very pleasant suprise, way, way better than anticipated. There is an adjoining bar that has a daily happy hour from four thirty to six pm. This is very comfortable with leather sofas for you to fall in to & regale the days prowess on the piste. There is free wifi in the bar along with a computer linked to the Internet which is also free plus there are also large screen TV's showing sport on a loop oh & finally a pool table. My main criticism here would be the loud techno music that's used to attract the après crowd to the indoor & outdoor bar area. This really is not conducive to chilling out. Finally a big cheer must go up for the staff who are extremely friendly & hard working. All the front of house staff were amazing. Go stay & feel very smug at the bargain you've bagged :0) Happy holiday!

Room tip: There is Traffic noise to the front though not excessive, rear facing rooms tend to be quieter. I stayed on the fourth floor & felt that this was the best situation.
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Riftzoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews