We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday”
Review of La Vanoise

La Vanoise
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Vanoise
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Brides-les-Bains
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Great hotel for a 2 star! We have stayed in the Amelie next door previously but cannot find a single complaint about The Vanoise. The rooms were big and warm at all times, with underfloor heating which helped with drying our gear through night ready for the next days snowboarding! The only thing i have to say was that you could not use the ski lockers which are provided with The Amelie but as i said the rooms were big enough and warm enough so it didn't really matter keeping our boards in the room. All meals are served in the Amelie which were great.
Overall a great holiday and would definately stay there again!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bekster8579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 51 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2012

Once again our party of seven spent 20th -27th December 2011at this hotel. We have all returned home having had a great time. We booked directly with the hotel and obtained a reasonable rate for three rooms, given the time of year.
We really appreciate the warm welcome from the owners and staff and the relaxing environment of this hotel.
We stayed half board with meals taken at the Amelie which is the main hotel and attached to the Vanoise. These hotels are really one. The meals were superb, with the chef clearly taking great pride in his work. The quality of the food and dishes improves each year and this year was no exception. The menu is fixed but some flexibility can be arranged via reception after breakfast each day. Some of our party do not eat fish and changes to accommodate this were made without us being made to feel
uncomfortable. The menu includes regional dishes prepared to local taste, basically the food is French and should be approached and appreciated with this in mind. The restaurant is lovely and the staff friendly and efficient providing professional service. One evening the restaurant was particularly busy and the staff did appear to be a little overwhelmed, which led to slower and less refined service than usual on this occasion.
The hotel owners are regularly present and go out of their way to check that guests are well and enjoying their stay. They seem lovely people and always remember us, which is very nice.
The rooms in the Vanoise are more basic than the Amelie, there is price difference to reflect this. The rooms are all large, clean, warm and perfectly adequate for our needs. We ski all day every day and look forward to returning to this hotel sure of a hot bath and relaxing room. The bar is also lovely and has had extra touches this year with new fluffy throws/cushions and natural log stools added, its a super place to chill out with friends with a drink après ski and after dinner.
Please look at our previous reviews for more details, we will keep returning here as it suits our needs well. After many years of skiing this place is a real gem and has all the convienience and ease for a happy, comfortable trip.
Thank you to all staff including reception, cleaning etc
Our group has skiers and boarders at all levels, this area is pretty snow sure at this time of year
and has plenty of variety to keep everyone happy.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms have pretty views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jodish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

This was our first stay here (Christmas 20th - 27th Dec 2010). We usually stay in the sister hotel Amelie, but due to the increased rates this season, opted for La Vanoise instead.
We were not disappointed, the two hotels are attached and linked by a small internal court yard. All facilities are at the Amelie - bar, restaurant etc. Our party of seven stayed half board and as usual the food was very good, we love the setting and ambiance of the place. The hotel accommodated our party's' needs well, as some of us do not eat fish. Just need to let them know at reception each morning when you see the menu and an alternative can usually be offered. Christmas eve we brought table gifts and crackers etc. which were accommodated well by staff who helped us hide them to surprise our party with.
The bar area with it comfy sofas etc is fantastic to retire too after dinner and for a hot chocolate when coming down from the slopes.
Our rooms were basic, comfortable, large and clean. Warm too and plenty of hot water for super bath/shower at end of skiing each day. The views front and back from this hotel are beautiful, due to Brides being down in the valley.
The lift is literally behind the hotel and involves a very short walk uphill. The ride takes 30mins. We tend to drive up each day, but either way we find the location hassle free and convenient. The hotel owners are very friendly and ensure they meet the guests if possible. They always remember us which is lovely and makes us feel very welcome! We always find the staff attentive, friendly and helpful.
We were blessed with fantastic snow conditions this season, in fact we think it has hardly snowed since. We loved the fresh powder and probably had the best conditions ever in many years of skiing.
All in all, we had another warm and festive Christmas, in the company of good friends and the setting of a super hotel and staff.
We are sorry for the delay in writing this review but unfortunately we returned to the UK to severe damage to our home caused by burst pipes, due to unprecedented low temperatures. As we slowly get our lives back together, we have the memories of our lovely holiday to cheer us up.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jodish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as an overnight stay, because the next day we traveled to Les Menuires to go skiing for a week. For this purpose the hotel is ok. I would not like to stay here for more than a day or two.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jethroborsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

This hotel quite surprising has good reviews on tripadvisor. I spent 1 night here, and that was enough. First of all we could not find the entrance to this hotel!! We spent about 30 mins walking around in circles. We thought we would go to the reception of Hotel Amelie next door and ask. It turns out you have to use their reception. They gave us our key and code. On entering there was no atmosphere since there was no reception within this hotel. It also had a synthetic overpowering smell. The rooms were extremely basic. I would not mind paying hostel prices for this, but we were definitely overcharged. The room was big and presented ok. But extremely basic. The bed was terrible to sleep on and its the worse nights sleep I've had. There was a plastic matress protector which meant we were very hot and sweaty and every time we moved it made a horrible sound. The toilet and bathroom overall was clean. But the shower head was flirty....completely full with fungus. The least they could do is buy a new shower head from ikea. The town itself was very quite with only 1 pub and a casino. At a weekend, we were lost for things to do in the evening. I would have picked the hotel next door, Amelie over this one. This place had no restaurant and we paid for breakfast and didnt even know where we were meant to have it? Maybe next door in Hotel Amelie? There was no reception to find out. There was no parking and had to use public parking, quite a walk away to take suitcases. It was ok as a base to go to Courcheval. However overpriced and not very basic. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Magnetic_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: côté restau soleil l'a-m et plus calmes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jocelyne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
2  Thank Eve6243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brides-les-Bains hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brides les Bains Grand Hotel des Thermes
Mercure Brides les Bains Grand H...
#7 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#2 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Villa Eureca
Residence Villa Eureca
#9 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Verseau
Hotel Le Verseau
#8 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel les Chalets
Hotel les Chalets
#4 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
170 reviews
0 mi away
Logis Amelie
Logis Amelie
#6 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vanoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vanoise

Address: rue Emile Machet, 73570 Brides-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Brides-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Brides-les-Bains
Price Range: $99 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Vanoise 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Vanoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vanoise Hotel Brides-Les-Bains
La Vanoise Brides Les Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing