We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going the extra mile...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Brides-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Going the extra mile...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

The hotel staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming. The rooms were very clean and well kept. The location was perfect for getting in and out of Meribel without having to get in the car.

I turned up without my luggage for a long ski weekend after (my bag having missed the connection), this meant that I would not have been able to ski. The Hotel Manager leant me his ski clothes without hesitation so that I would not have to waste half a day. A great gesture that saved my weekend's skiing.

Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orms114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena-Manager, Manager at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for your comment.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in the 3 Valleys and at the Hotel Athena.
I hope your return has been easier.

Thanks again for your custom. We are ready to welcome again your party next year if you wish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    53
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
24
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

It is easy to get to the hotel in Brides-les-Bains, in the winter I recommend snow tires and a four wheel drive though, as you need to get up and down steep, narrow roads. Free parking is provided.

The reception is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are ok, clean and well heated, perfect for a ski holiday.

We loved the restaurant. I can definitely recommend the daily menus, as they are the reasonably priced and offer the freshest and best quality. You always get the wonderful cheese selection with it! From the a la carte menu we tried a salad (very good), a tarte tatin (can recommend!) and a sirloin steak (slightly disappointing, especially the meat quality). The waiter (the young man) is super quick, professional and seems so effortless ("No problème, Madame"). The waitress seems to help out when he has his free days, but she does a good job as well.

The area is suitable for a rather quiet ski holiday, if you like a more exciting apres ski programme, there are other more suitable places. Dining is a lot cheaper in Brides than in the ski area itself. Getting to the cable car towards Meribel is easy and practical. For ski rental and accessories I can recommend Skiset, the first ski shop when you walk into the city.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sanninana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena-Manager, Manager at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are happy to know your holidays in Brides-Les-Bains and at the Hotel Athena were good !
For sure Skiset is a good shop to rent ski. We are also working with another ski rental shop offering 30% discount for the Hotel Athena's guest.
We are happy to make our customer benefit this offer.

Looking forward to welcome you again at the Hotel Athena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

The room was a bit small - especially for a 5-day stay and coming home every evening after skiing. The location is ok - an easy 5 minute walk to town. Had a car, but saw that a bus picked up skiers right at the top of the hill (and the gondola to the bases is only a 10 minute walk) so this seemed convenient to those without cars.

"Spa" facilities were disappointing and not sure they should be marketing this as anything more than a hot tub that's mostly likely full of kids.

Breakfast was standard but good with really fresh baked goods. The restaurant does not serve lunch. Dinner is fixed menu and a good value (approx 20 euro pp) and was really quite good - as good or better (and more affordable) than any of the restaurants in town so this was a real plus.

It's not a terribly expensive hotel. Felt I got what I paid for - but was left wondering how much better I could have got had a paid a little more.

The service was the best asset of the hotel. Great staff.

Oh, if you drive and park in their garage or lot - make sure you have snow chains and/or a good 4-wheel drive if a good snowfall is in the forecast! My all-wheel vehicle could not make it up the hill. It's a decent incline and I (among many others) was stuck when it snowed. Luckily, I was able to recruit a nice Frenchman who taught me to put on snow chains (getting them off is harder than getting them on - so make sure you're prepared!)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCSPOON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena-Manager, Manager at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for your review.

I'm pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Athena.
I do remember that the weather and so the road conditions were very bad on your departure and hope that didn't affect your journey back home.

We plan to refurbish the spa facilities later on during this year to change and extend the Turkish bath, change the Sauna and the shower.

Thanks again for your custom and we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

This is a great hotel for a ski break. It is within 10 minutes walking distance from the Olympe gondola and provides a quieter town for families and couples. The staff at this hotel were helpful in all occasions and eager to brighten up your day. The cuisine is typically French with dishes that are filling and yet not taxing on the stomach. I only wish the soups had a little more seasoning.

Following the rule of 'ski high, sleep low', Brides les Bains is only at 600m and guarantees a good night sleep for the a challenging day on the slopes. The only issue is that your day of skiing depends on the condition of the 20 minute gondola. Meribel had two days of heaving snow and caused a tree to collapsed onto the cable. As a consequence, I lost two days skiing.

It is a lovely hotel with great staff in a quiet town and at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the noise of the stream, you can get a room with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1650love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena-Manager, Manager at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for your comment.

Indeed the weather conditions are particular as we have a lot more snow than usual.
The good thing is the snow conditions are excellent and most guests are letting us know they encounter the best snow condition ever.
In the other hand, when we had this snow storm that night, a tree collapsed on the gondola cable.
There were some shuttle organized in Brides-Les-Bains, but to take care of everybody, it took some time and it's sad you couldn't ski that day.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed there for the first week of July this year whilst on a mountain bike holiday with friends. Very friendly and helpful staff, including the manager Gaultier who drove us up to meribel one day with the bikes.
B'fast and evening meals were OK and Good value, rooms were clean and bright, Typically French Alps layout, although rooms next to the fast flowing river are very nice for the views, but can be noisy at night.
Well positioned for the short walk into town and travelling up to the higher resorts and with its own car parking comes highly recomended for a mid budget hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve_wright2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

Enjoyed a one night stay before our trip up to Val Thorens. We had to wait for several minutes before anyone arrived to check us in. Rooms were small but clean and comfortable, and hotel is in a beautiful location by the river. We had to ask for a double though, as we were given a twin instead. Breakfast was not good value, very basic, not even fruit juice offered, just coffee, bread, butter and jam for 8€ each.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DurhamHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena-Manager, Directeur général at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

We thank you for having taken the time to give your opinion about our hotel.
As a family hotel, it might happen that the reception staff is away from reception for few minutes (in the floors...). In that case, we don't miss to leave a note on the reception desk with a phone to call the person in duty.

Regarding the room, it happens very often that on the booking (with certain websites), we don't have the type of rooms (double or twin) and are obliged to choose ourselves. However on request and depending on the availability, we always allocate the propoer room type the customer needs if we can.
The smallest rooms we have are 19 m².

For breakfast, we do have a buffet during the winter and the ski season, the from April, we are switching to continental breakfast as the specificity of Brides-Les-Bains from then is a SPA town specialised on diet. However our continental breakfast (for non-diet) contains an orange juice and pastries among other. Other items are also availabble on request (cereals for exemple). If our breakfast didn't reached your expectation, we apologise for that.

We thank you once again for your custom and hope to welcome you again at the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

We were very happy with our choice. The staff couldn't have been more helpful & cooperative. The room was very comfortable although not large. The wi-fi worked well & did not go off at 10 as other reviews have said. I do not ski so was around during the day but the room was still a comfortable temperature (although being March the weather was very reasonable anyway). The breakfast was adequate but there were no hot options. The coffee was very enjoyable, although I do like strong coffee, but if you don't then you can always add water. The evening meals were pretty good, a 4 course meal at this price was excellent value. For those who commented on cheese every day, that is a normal course to be expected in a french meal & they could always have left it out - we were always asked if we wanted cheese

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brides-les-Bains hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brides les Bains Grand Hotel des Thermes
Mercure Brides les Bains Grand H...
#7 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Villa Eureca
Residence Villa Eureca
#9 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Verseau
Hotel Le Verseau
#8 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#2 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Bains
Hotel Les Bains
#13 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Property: Hotel Athena
Address: rue du Pont Rouge, 73571 Brides-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Brides-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Brides-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Athena 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing