We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel - don't believe the negative reviews” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Logis Amelie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Logis Amelie
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Brides-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel - don't believe the negative reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

Having read the reviews on this site before travelling, my girlfriend and I weren't quite sure what to expect when we went to Hotel Amelie for a Xmas / New Year skiing trip.

First impressions are not hugely favourable - the hotel isn't pretty and Brides itself is an unexceptional town. Our room was small and decor was a bit dated, although perfectly functional but certainly there wasn't a huge amount of space. On the plus side though, everything worked, and there was plenty of hot water for post-ski baths.

Where the hotel really does well though is the attitude of staff and quality of food. They couldn't have been more helpful, and the staff in the restaurant in particular were first class. We were on a half board stay - breakfasts were fine, continental style and perfectly adequate. Dinners were fabulous though - 3 courses of French cuisine painstakingly prepared each day. Not all dishes will be to everyone's taste, but if you want a taste of proper French food, well cooked and great service you will get it at Hotel Amelie.

The hotel also has storage for skis, boots etc in a locker room, and a bar which gets fairly busy for the apres-ski period.

The only downside of staying in Brides is that you have to get a 25 minute gondola to Meribel. Not a huge pain in itself, but the last one back down leaves at 5pm leaving you no opportunity for apres-ski in Meribel itself. Also, there is NO public transport from Meribel to Brides (although you can apparently get a bus from Courchevel to Brides which takes about an hour). So, if you stay in Brides, you are quite isolated from the ski area in the evenings, unless you get a taxi which cost us €45 on New Year's Eve. Having said that though, it is a lot cheaper than Meribel so swings and roundabouts.

All in all, if you do have to stay in Brides, Amelie is a great choice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0nners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    60
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
22
36
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed from Boxing Day and left just after New Year. We had lovely time. Food was very well presented, 3 course, delicious and great quality. There was internet acces and very plesant bar area, where you can relax. Hotel also has dry ski area, where you can lock up your gear. (do not overpay for lockers at the gondola station- 40-50 euros! there is only 5min walk. Rooms very clean, it would be nice to be able to make your own hot drink in the room, but on the good side there is little Spar shop 2 opposite the hotel, you can get all essentials there. All the staff was professional and friendly. We had special New years eve night organised-I can only say wow, 5 course meal, dancing (dj) and decorations, very nice atmosphere, we feelt very well looked after.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AniaandDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

We have just returned from a fab week in Brides. Hotel Amelie was excellent. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable and warm. We had 4 rooms between us and all were of a high standard. All the staff were friendly and most helpful. The meals were beautifully presented and more than adequate with the three courses. One of our party would have liked a few potatoes but just ate more bread!! The menu was in reception in the morning, and staff were happy to offer alternatives if it wasn't liked if you asked in the morning. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. The hotel was only a short walk from the lift. Everyone we spoke to from the lift operators to restaurant staff and shop assistants were very helpful and friendly, which has not always the case in other resorts we have been to in France. We will certainly be booking for next year, and may even return in the Summer. Thank you to you all.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skierLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

Reading some of the reviews I was a bit apprehensive but ended being pleasantly surprised. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Food was good though the evening meal portions were perhaps on the small size and some of the deserts were a bit 'basic'. Boot Room had lockable Lockers with forced air boot dryers. Free wi-fi with coverage throughout the building including bedrooms.
Probably wouldn't stay there again but only because thought the long gondola ride a bit tedious BUT if you want to do the Three Valleys on a budget would definitely recommend

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dougtucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

We have just spent our second Christmas at the Hotel Amelie. Last year we stayed at the hotel with our son( 21yrs), this year we had the priviledge of the company of family friends too, seven of us in total (four adults aged 46 - 50yrs and three youngsters aged 14 - 22 yrs).
We had three superior rooms between us - all overlooking the main villiage square, The rooms were spacious clean and well equipped. Up to date stylish furnishings which appeared new. Plenty of hot water each day etc. The heaters were fine in two of the rooms but struggled to heat one up as well, despite the efforts of staff.
We book all elements of our trips independently, we booked this hotel via Expedia, we had tried to book directly with the hotel but it was significantly more expensive to do so. We took half- board the food was excellent, freshly prepared food by the chef on the premises. Lovely self serve breakfast of bread etc preserves, fresh fruit salad, prunes, yogurts, cereals, meat, cheese, hot and juice drinks etc etc. Set evening menu was displayed on blackboard each morning. Five of our party do not eat fish/seafood - alternative of soup/ salad etc is available if booked at reception each morning. It is to be noted that this is real french cuisine and it is clear that great pride is taken by staff - if you want burger and chips , you should stay elsewhere and consider self - catering.The restaurant setting is lovely and allowed us to relax with our friends over beautiful meals and drinks each evening. We took crackers and table gifts with us and these were accomodated well by staff
The staff are very helpful and friendly and the owners/managers regularly check that guests are happy. (Last year our son had a nasty accident on the slopes and spent most of the holiday in hospital having major boney reconstructive surgery, staff at the hotel helped us with translation and comunication with hospital personnel, copying documents for us and they remained interested and concerned as to his welfare right up to his eventual discharge home to England).
Ski lockers are provided with air boot blowers in each. This is a much better arrangement than ski rooms as in others hotels, where everyones gear ends up in a heap.
This hotel is very close to the gondola lift reducing walking in ski boots, we didn't use it this year as we prefer to drive up but our friends did use it some days.
Hot mulled wine in the bar after a day on the snow before bath and dinner is heaven, the bar is great with large screens, pool table, playstation and leather sofas.
We had a great time and we will be back again Christmas 2010

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

After being offline for a while,this was my first port of call once my internet is back up and running.
I, my partner and a friend visited this hotel in Febuary 2009 and hand on heart this was probably one of the worst hotels i have stayed in,regardless of the bad location for the 3 valleys which i was prepared for,and after reading about it in other reviews and in the Crystal ski brochure.but lets face it if the hotel comes up to scratch all the rest you deal with...so i'll begin.
I totally agree with the bad reviews labeled against this place,i chose France / 3 valleys after staying in some lovely hotels and eating some fine French food [which is one of my favourites].
But i cant stress enough just how dissapointed we were,and we were not the only ones,almost all the people we spoke to felt the same.
The staff were very unfriendly,and didnt understand the basic requirements associated with running a hotel,i also caught a glimpse of the owner a few times,which was always met with a scowl on his face.The large broken window pain that greated us on our arrival in the main hotel lobby painted a picture of what was to follow!
The food was diabolical,utterly devoid of any taste , warmth or any of what french food is all about.
The room was at least clean,but the beds are very uncomfortable and the electric heating had a mind of its own,which left for wet skiing gloves and equiptment the next day.Please be aware there is also a very noisy fast flowing river and i mean river flowing right alongside the hotel,which i know is not their fault BUT....arrgghhh our window was broken and wouldnt close,so lots of sleepness nights followed.
There was no free afternoon tea or coffee / cakes served here,but overpriced crepes,i just felt every last euro was trying to be squeezed out of me.
I could write a page alone on the terrible food,but after putting up with it for 3 nights we couldnt take any more,luckily there is a very nice grill house next door serving lovely authentic french cuisine.
So came our happiest part of the week, departure day ,we checked out from the hotel AMELIE very disapointed all round,we checked out with a final scowl from the owner and only looked back on our exit to see the smashed pain of glass on the lobby window still stairing at us and knowing we will never return to this "hidden gem which serves Michelin tyres for food "

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marky1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmelie, General Manager at Logis Amelie, responded to this review, October 18, 2009
We thank our friend to give his opinion about our hotel.

However, there are few things we want to clarify.
First of all, we don’t really understand the point concerning the staff. We can’t accept such a critic. Our team is in place for a while and they are doing a great job (from the chamber maid, to the kitchen staff, the restaurant or the reception). We have every day congratulations about them.
In the other hand, we have as well every day congratulations about our food. We have people returning to the hotel every year for the food, the staff, the ambiance and the situation. If our chef is so bad in his cooking, we wouldn’t have kept him for 4 years !
Maybe our friend didn’t like some ingredients, but we can’t tell it’s devoid of any taste as our chef is cooking a lot of different spices (either soft or not).
We understand that the UK customers are used to get tea or coffee making facilities in the hotels across the channel however, we are not sure there are a lot of hotel in the 3 valleys offering tea and cakes in the afternoon.
For a year now, we are proposing some snacking in the afternoon at the hotel with some crepes. Those are sold between 2.50 € and 3 € each and I’m not sure there are overpriced as it’s cheaper than in Meribel for example. Moreover, the price of all our soft drinks dropped since the government cut down the VAT.
Regarding our heating system, it is working properly unless we are covering them with gloves for example. In that case, they are switching off automatically for evident security reasons…
Moreover, we do have a ski room with ski lockers where a system is blowing air to dry ski boots for example.

Indeed we encountered an incident during the winter as we had a big window smashed at the reception. We ordered a new one the following morning, but the time to receive it and the company to come and install it, they came nearly 2 weeks after it has been smashed.
We understand it is not the best appearance for a hotel reception and we apologize for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

Pretty basic but pretty decent.

It’s a 3 star hotel at the bottom of the valley and therefore you should be getting a good price. If you want to spend more money there are plenty of hotels in Meribel.

My room was in a separate block. It was reasonably quiet and had a functional little en suite shower room. I'm not sure the rooms in the main hotel are en suite.

The breakfast was fine. Croissants, hot chocolate. The basics. The evening meal was adequate, although there were times when I wasn't quite sure what time of meat in brown sauce I was eating.

My top tip is that if you miss the last gondola back, which is very early (approx 4.15pm) there is no buss back from Meribel but there is a buss back from Courchevel 1850 regularly up to about 11pm.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJBGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmelie, General Manager at Logis Amelie, responded to this review, October 18, 2009
We thank our friend for his comment however all the rooms of the hotel Amelie are in the same block.
Maybe our friend did stay in La Vanoise Hotel which is a 2 star hotel we manage as well (just next door).
Those 2 hotels are sharing the same bar and the same restaurant.

It can happens we are upgrading La Vanoise client to the Amelie, however, we never downgraded a booking from the Amelie to La Vanoise.

All our rooms in both hotels are en-suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brides-les-Bains hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brides les Bains Grand Hotel des Thermes
Mercure Brides les Bains Grand H...
#7 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#2 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Villa Eureca
Residence Villa Eureca
#9 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Verseau
Hotel Le Verseau
#8 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis Amelie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis Amelie

Property: Logis Amelie
Address: rue Emile Machet, 73570 Brides-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Brides-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Brides-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis Amelie 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Logis Amelie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis Amelie Hotel Brides-Les-Bains
Amelie Les Bains
Amelie Brides Les Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing