We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveler rating
75
71
19
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
75
71
19
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel amelie ski lockers happy hour an alternative ham croissants ski area bread euro deposit set menu good size gondola station expensive taxi ride worked fine approx minutes don t miss bbc world
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 176 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here on half board basis. Breakfast was standard continental offering but dinner was brilliant every night. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Would stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Davieforro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2019

Just returned from taking our ski club here. Hotel Amelie, a gem in Brides Les Bains, was lovely and staff/manager VERY friendly and accommodating. Perfect location near the gondola to ride up to the base of the middle valley (Meribel). Brides Les Bains is much more affordable than any other 3 Valley towns. The nightly dinners were scrumptious! There is also an awesome new health spa across the street from hotel.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GreenKayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2019

Our hotel host, Sylvan, was gracious, helpful, and welcoming. The Hotel staff, and dining room wait staff were efficient and the kitchen was up to French cuisine expectations. Easy walk to ski gondola to the best ski area I have seen and I have been all over the Western US areas.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2019

We have just returned from a week at Hotel Amelie, booked via Crystal.

For skiing, this is a great value option, but I would not recommend as a place for beginners. From the hotel, you can see the gondola lift which takes you into the heart of Meribel. It is not possible to ski back down to the hotel. From the hotel, it is a walk up a hill, which is more than doable if you are reasonably fit and certainly warms you up. The gondola journey takes just under 30 minutes. From the gondola exit, it is a small walk and then skis on to take you into the heart for Meribel, where if needs be, you can meet up with ski school etc.

Regarding the hotel, from the very outset, there isn't enough the team can do for you. Very welcoming and full of information. The room was comfortable and I had a room overlooking the river, which I found very enjoyable and not at all distracting. However, I think in the Spring months, I may feel differently. I liked the fact that the hotel is kept at a moderate temperature. There is only one UK channel on the TV, BBC World, but that wasn't a problem.

The bar is a great meeting place for many people but after around 9pm the nightlife went dead, so this isn't the place if you are looking for a party scene.

The hotel food is a fixed menu, and was mostly to my taste. Very well thought out menu and enjoyable and reasonably priced wine list. Breakfast is continental with boiled eggs. The croissants and bread are all fresh and very tasty.

The hotel has an excellent deal with the ski shop over the road, so I would recommend getting your skis in resort.

For the amount we paid, this hotel represents exceptional value for money. As stated earlier, the staff really make this place.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Distinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2019

This Hotel is in a great location , less than 10 minutes walk from the lift to Meribel, this means much lower prices.The hotel is also close to a number of bars and ski shops.
We found the staff to be friendly, helpful and always approachable. The food is first class and the service in the restaurant was very good. There is a good Apres ski bar that has some sensible prices and a good selection of snacks.
All in all this is a little gem. and the savings made in the cost of the holiday, compensate for the walk and lift ride up the mountain.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank andysutherland2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews