We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Haven in the historic hills of Vaison”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of le mas de Sabine

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Didydoo
Upper Slaughter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Haven in the historic hills of Vaison”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

What a delightful place this was - beautifully decorated and extremely well equipped, the gite was both comfortable and stylish, airy and calm. Sitting outside on the patio was peace in itself. A ten minute walk down into Vaison was a daily delight and the twenty minute haul up the hill good for the legs and the soul!
Knowing the area well, we were able to explore old haunts easily from this central, but out of the way place. Sabine and her husband are very friendly but not intrusive. The gite is decorated to a very high standard and there are plenty of comfortable places to relax, with lovely views of the garden. The bed is very cosy and we slept well. Electric shutters on the lounge and bedroom keep the place cool, although there is air conditioning.
The kitchen is well equipped and has all the things that make life easy - washing machine, dishwasher, induction hob and oven, coffee maker, Nespresso etc - all up to the mark.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were delighted to become friends with the owners' charming cat, who visited us daily for a stroke and a purr!
Easy, secure parking is available at the side of the property and is in the shade.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location and modern, well equipped gite
Liked least: Little space to store food as self catering
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paddysinc...
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Could not fault this place. Everything worked, it was clean and in a very pleasant location right next door to a vineyard (and very nice wine). A 15 minute walk to town which has great shops and restaurants and the walking in the area is superb.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alis0nw15...
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location!”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This little apartment is perfect for exploring the area - it's well-equipped, really comfortable and incredibly clean and well-presented. Vaison la Romaine is a beautiful town - we did a lot of touring but found the old town there difficult to beat! Thank you Sabine and Laurent for making us feel so welcome - we will be recommending you!

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry H
New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing apartment”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Sabine and Laurent went above and beyond to make our two week visit to there beautiful apartment a memorable experience. The apartment is very well appointed. The gardens and view of the medieval town are spectacular. Thank you for making us feel like family and we hope to visit again soon. xx

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldergrov...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Everything we could have wished for and more”
Reviewed September 17, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We received a very warm welcome from Sabine and Laurent. The gite is stylish, spacious and has everything you could possibly need. The outside space is generous, private and very relaxing. It is a lovely location and the views of the tower and town are stunning. It is also a perfect base for exploring this beautiful region of Provence.
Vaison La Romaine is a very interesting town, with good bars and restaurants. We had a wonderful holiday, primarily because of this excellent holiday home.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious, modern, stylish
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
collector
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“What a wonderful month!”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had planned our trip of a lifetime! It started in April 2015 with trying to book a gite in Provence for a month. We really did not know where we wanted to be based, but when we saw the photos of Sabine and Lawrence's gite we knew this was the place we wanted to be. Sabine and Lawrence speak and write great English. We booked for one month and we wanted to have AC and a washing machine. Both of which are in the gite. When we arrived in Vaison, we called Sabine and she and her husband drove down to the Village and we followed them back to their home. This gite looks exactly like it does in the pictures. It is really beautiful. Sabine was so thoughtful as she had bought everything that we needed for a breakfast on our first morning. What was really great was the homemade jams. We felt so safe because we parked inside the property behind an electric gate. We thought of this gite as our home for a month. We loved sitting outside looking at the beautiful view and having our wine and dinner. Sabine gave us many useful tips on places to visit as well where to shop (especially the market on Tuesdays in Vaison). Lawrence gave us tips on what wine to buy. I now love Rose`. The gite has everything you would need, from the washing machine, great stove and oven, dishwasher, pots, pans, dishes, towels and sheets. As i said this is new gite, and the bed and pillows were great. Sabine and Lawrence had a very large garden and daily provided us with wonderful vegatables and fruit. Sabine also found us a young lady to clean the gite every week and we paid extra for that. It was very hot in Provence this summer so we were so happy that we had our AC. The entire area around Vaison La Romaine is so beautiful. Sabine, Lawrence and their family became friends and we hope to see them again. You cannot go wrong in renting this gite. Sabine and Lawrence made our trip of a lifetime come true. Thank you!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Meeting Sabine and Lawrence, then the gite itself and then the view.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marybH178...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

le mas de Sabine is a beautiful place to stay equipped with everything you might want. The setting is fabulous with wonderful views across to the old town, peaceful and quiet whilst being just a 5 minute walk downhill into Vaison (10-15 minutes back!) The house adjoins the owners home however enjoys a private outside space with lovely seating areas to enjoy the sunshine. You could not ask for friendlier or more hospitable hosts. A truly wonderful welcoming place to stay.

Date of stay: June 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing