We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb tranquility and fantastic food in the Provencal countryside”
Review of Le Mas d'Helene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Mas d'Helene
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Superb tranquility and fantastic food in the Provencal countryside”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was our second visit after being initially impressed in 2013 so we returned for three nights in June 2014. One regret was that we could only reserve a room facing the rear of the hotel which are not as good as the Ventoux Rooms at the front, which have shaded balconies with a great view, whereas, in the late afternoon, the rear rooms face the sun and the patios are very hot with no shade (but if you like to sunbathe these are ideal). If you want a Ventoux Room you have to book very early in the year as the hotel is always sold out.
The food here is superb, cooked by the owner / chef whereas his wife pampers guest with personal service in the restaurant. Halfboard is a must here as dinners are superb with an excellent choice.
There is ample car parking and an excellent pool with loungers around it.
Guest return here year after year so make sure you book early - the hotel has its own website that can be navigated easily.

Room Tip: Ventoux Rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swindphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    33
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
98
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This small hotel is a delight from the owners, to the rooms, the food, and staff all very good . We would certainly use it again as it provides excellent value in a good location and the food provided was excellent. My only small gripe is why is the water in the swimming pool so cold.

Room Tip: Have aroom facing Mount Ventoux
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaracenCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Le Mas d'Helene is a very nice hotel located in the countryside just outside of the village of Crestet (which we should add, should not be missed to walk around especially in the early morning). The hotel is charming and designed in light bright colors. We did not partake of dinner at the hotel, but dinner was well attended and the menu seemed to be very good. The problem with the hotel is that there is no air conditioning...we were there in June and had a west facing room so the room did not cool down until after midnight...we cannot imagine how hot it must be in July/August. The rooms are not that quiet as we had a very loud "snorer" in the room next to us that kept us up a great deal of the night. The shower was very awkward to deal with...hard to reach the controls for my wife as had to reach around the glass door...floor on tub VERY slippery and difficult to get out of...must be careful. The staff seemed very helpful for us. The hotel has a very nice pool and seems to be a nice place to possibly relax for a couple of days...but we only stayed for one night and did not have the best experience.

Room Tip: Nice location next to a wonderful village but rooms are very hot in the early evening with no A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst on a cycling tour through Provence. The mas is located well out of town so you will need a car (or bike in our case). On first entry the place looked absolutely charming, and it remained that way. Our room was upstairs overlooking the pool which looked nice, if we had had warmer weather. The room was very spacious compared to others we had had in France. The bathroom was clean and a good size also. Le wifi (free) was a bit tricky, particularly in the rooms. It was fine in the bar area and in the salon. The hostess was absolutely delightful, and the food in the restaurant was really just exquisite. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicGee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed her 1 night during a trip in the area during our easter holiday.
Hotel is clean and staff are very friendly.We decided to eat in the Hotel at night and it was the right decision as the food was very,very good.The menu was a little on the pricy side but we ate very well so don't mind paying a bit extra for well cooked good food.
We would have loved to spent the day by the pool but the weather was far to cold.
I would recommend asking for a room on the front of the hotel looking over the valley as we took 2 rooms and the one room at the back of the hotel was facing the steep hill and was not so nice.But the room at the front had lovely view.
A nice relaxing place to get away from the hustle and bustle of life and chill out.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the Hotel are much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Combination of white & blue, full of French style. Lovely room with ventoux view. Far away from hustle & bustle city life... So quite hardly to hear any sound but your heart beating. Breath in and out. Lost your thought but find your heart and soul finally.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

What a relaxing place! Friendly owners and staff, helpful. Clean and tasteful furnished.
Dinner is also very recommendable. A very quit place and a good base for trips to Mt. Ventoux, Vaison-La-Romaine or Nyons. Nicde swimming pool as well We stayed for two nights and we will come again to stay longer...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gr84all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaison-la-Romaine
2.6 mi away
Hotel Burrhus
Hotel Burrhus
#1 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
260 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel La Bastide
Hotel La Bastide
#6 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
15 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hostellerie le Beffroi
Hostellerie le Beffroi
#3 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
La Bastide Bleue
La Bastide Bleue
#2 of 2 in Seguret
66 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Le Logis du Chateau
Hotel Le Logis du Chateau
#8 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
142 reviews
2.8 mi away
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
#2 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas d'Helene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas d'Helene

Property: Le Mas d'Helene
Address: Quartier Chante Coucou - Le Crestet, 84110 Vaison-la-Romaine, France (Formerly Mas de Magali)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Vaison-la-Romaine
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Vaison-la-Romaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Mas d'Helene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas D'Helene Vaison-La-Romaine, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing