We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mont Ventoux

Mont Ventoux
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

It is a special place, also with the kids as little bit down from the top there is an area with ponies, jumping castles, etc. it is a mytical place for cyclists, but on a good day (i.e. no wind and clouds) it is perfect for the views and a nice way to chill(10 degrees less than downstairs...). When around, certainly do this!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cis_Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    207
    28
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cracking views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Giant of Provence deserves its name. It stand clear of other mountains so can be seen for miles around. A fantastic climb to the summit is rewarded with amazing views. Walk, run, cycle, drive - the trip to the top is worth it. Go.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank satkin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An Eerie Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I viisited Mont Ventoux twice during our recent holiday in Provence. Firstly to cycle up it myself, and secondly to watch the Tour de France. It may be because I'd was reading a biography of Tom Simpson at the same time, but i found the mounting haunting and magnificent in equal measure.

I cycled up from Sault, which itself is a beautiful walled town, leaving at 7.00 a.m. in the morning. The ride up was naturally strenuous, but also beautiful as the scenery around me changed, and the view got more and more inspiring. I stopped at the Simson memorial to pay my respects (see photo). If you're thinking of doing the cycle, I would recommend starting very early in the day, for the coolness and because by the time your reach the summit it still won't be too crowded.

Six days later I returned to Ventoux to watch the Tour. Cycling from Bedoin this time, with a friend, we decided to stop and watch at just over the 3000 ft. mark. It wasn't crowded and at that point and we were sufficently high up that the riders had broken into small groups. Great to cheer on Froomey.

I don't think that any visit to Provence would be complete without taking a look at this strange and beautiful mountain.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rowdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“To all potential Summiteers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you are a regular cyclist and into hill climbing, then you are probably familiar with the history, reputation and awe this mountain holds. You possibly don't need to read on!
If you are not, then read on....
I trained for several months before going and am a regular cyclist. I would urge anyone contemplating this to do some training, if you really want to enjoy this punishing hill!!!

Playing host to the fabled mountain and lying at its foot, is Bédoin, a delightful little town with a lively atmosphere and several cycle hire shops. A Mecca for cyclists, it also hosts a big tourist market on Mondays. Beware of the prices, especially Nougat, you'd think you were in Richmond!!!
Bédoin is the starting point for most wannabe summiteers of Le Ventoux. Most people attempt the climb during the spring and summer months, as between September and April the route is closed. From Bédoin, the summit lies approximately 22 km to the northeast. The first 10kms or so up the hill start out harmlessly enough at about 3%, climb up to 4% and then to 7%. You pass through a small village, vineyards and slowly up into the trees, where the heat can be oppressive, depending on when you go. Over the second half of the climb, the gradient average steepens to around 9% occasionally reaching 11%. After the Chalet Renard cafe/restaurant, where you can replenish your water, the landscape opens out. The trees disappear and all you are left with are rocks, stones and the odd shrub, all the way to the top. If you are fit and lucky enough to reach the summit, you'll be greeted by a swarm of cyclists from all over the world, sweet stalls and tourists all admiring the view. There are actually 2 other climbing routes but this one is regarded as the classic, simply because of its historic association with the Tour De France. I was there on the mountain to watch those incredible athletes take on the mountain this year and can understand the magnetism. The streets and lanes all around the southern side of the mountain were filled with people, bikes, and all the paraphernalia of the well oiled Tour marketing machine. I'm told there were around a million people on the mountain that day. If cycling is your thing and you can incorporate it into a holiday, I would thoroughly recommend getting close to a mountain stage. The buzz is absorbing and there are few opportunities in sport now where you can actually experience what the professionals go through, ride the routes and feel the energy for free!!!!

For more detailed info on training, I would really recommend the following website:

http://www.climbbybike.com/climb.asp?qryMountainID=4

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vdubbman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“3 hours of pain to get to ecstasy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

relentless 7% - 11% climb for 21KM. The landscape and views were astonishing ! starting in Bedoin in lush forests that stopped at the tree line to become scrub before encountering the famous white rocks some 97Million years old with the iconic tower at the top. The giant of Provence, once you ride it, it is with you forever.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grant_Goodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mont Ventoux also viewed

Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse
 

Been to Mont Ventoux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing