We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Up into the clouds !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mont Ventoux

Mont Ventoux
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Up into the clouds !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We drove up the mountain, from Malaucene, to enjoy the spectacular scenery and to see what the Tour de France cyclists face as they climb this steep mountain. There is a beautiful look-out just before you get to the top - best place to take photos.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BHF-13K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    187
    25
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fascinating transition from sun to snow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Visiting the summit of Mont Ventoux was an awesome experience. We did it by car, taking the highway that went through Malaucène. We were so impressed by the cyclists that were making the trip up (and down!). It's chilly at the top (-4C in May) so if you want to wander, make sure you are dressed for it.

It's important to note that there are two approaches to get to the summit along D974. We found the one that came through Malaucène to be the more stunning of the two, as the another approach had denser vegetation.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank robandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you follow the Tour de France you have seen Ventoux many times. It is the climb where you think they have all of a sudden landed on the moon. The trip up is steep, and on a foggy and windy day a little scary, but continue because it really is something that deserves to be seen. Besides the next time you watch the Tour you can say - I can't believe they are climbing and then tell everyone why!that

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Tom82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pernes-les-Fontaines, France
Level Contributor
167 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly beautiful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

As avid Tour de France spectators, we were excited to be able to make the drive up Mont Ventoux. My husband will certainly come back to do the more traditional cycle but even driving up in a car is quite intimidating. We had snow at the top so we could not go all the up but the views are beautiful..

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arumlillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
275 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“On top of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The roads are great ascending and descending. The view at the top is wonderful, very invigorating. Well worth the trip!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mont Ventoux also viewed

Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse
 

Been to Mont Ventoux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing