We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating transition from sun to snow!”
Review of Mont Ventoux

Mont Ventoux
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fascinating transition from sun to snow!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Visiting the summit of Mont Ventoux was an awesome experience. We did it by car, taking the highway that went through Malaucène. We were so impressed by the cyclists that were making the trip up (and down!). It's chilly at the top (-4C in May) so if you want to wander, make sure you are dressed for it.

It's important to note that there are two approaches to get to the summit along D974. We found the one that came through Malaucène to be the more stunning of the two, as the another approach had denser vegetation.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank robandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    686
    228
    32
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you follow the Tour de France you have seen Ventoux many times. It is the climb where you think they have all of a sudden landed on the moon. The trip up is steep, and on a foggy and windy day a little scary, but continue because it really is something that deserves to be seen. Besides the next time you watch the Tour you can say - I can't believe they are climbing and then tell everyone why!that

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Tom82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pernes-les-Fontaines, France
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly beautiful!!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

As avid Tour de France spectators, we were excited to be able to make the drive up Mont Ventoux. My husband will certainly come back to do the more traditional cycle but even driving up in a car is quite intimidating. We had snow at the top so we could not go all the up but the views are beautiful..

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arumlillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“On top of the world”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The roads are great ascending and descending. The view at the top is wonderful, very invigorating. Well worth the trip!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Have seen my fair share of lookouts on mountain tops, including in Nepal.
This has to be the best so fast, totally unblocked view 360 degrees.
On one side one can see almost the whole of southern france with its plains, cities, towns and fields. On the other side, the beautiful snow capped Haute Alps lines the horizon with mountains and hills in the foreground.
Far exceeded my expectations.
The place is atmospheric given the strong wind that blows almost throughout the year - very cold and a little frightening - Even at 30 km/h, which is nothing compared to the 90 km/h the wind can build up to certain days, I can imagine someone being blown off as even the car we were in was vibrating in the wind.
Very memorable and highly recommended!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jewel099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mont Ventoux also viewed

Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse
 

Been to Mont Ventoux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing