We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel in the medieval "bastide" with panoramic views of Provence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostellerie le Beffroi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This renovated medieval structure is ideally located (except for handicap access) inside the ancient fortress-like city of Vaison, with commanding views of the countryside.We stayed here for ten days last June with a bicycling group, and found the staff, the hospitality, the food, and the accomodation all excellent. The last word in luxury le Beffroi is not, but its ambience and value are unbeatable. The hillside location offers quiet and relative isolation for light sleepers. There is a very nice pool, and the garden patio overlooking the city is very pleasant. For those who travel by (small) car, there is adjacent parking if one is willing to negotiate the very narrow access portal.

Room Tip: the recently annexed building just uphill from the main reception is quiet and has excellent views a...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahardy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for Hostellerie le Beffroi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 250 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a large room with a bed in the living area. The "master bedroom" was teeny and it had bugs. To get to the bathroom, we had to cross the living area where our son was was sleeping. There were better rooms and we had asked to switch, but to no avail. Very cool at night, nice area, interesting history to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MellowTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This historic hotel offers charm and classical French decor surrounded by wonderful views of ancient farmlands and far off mountains. Parking is a little tricky and stairs are steep but well worth the effort. Beautiful garden restaurant with excellent French cuisine. Very well priced and terrific service. A lovely romantic hotel .

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freshygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We turned up without a booking, and from reception to leaving the following morning were met with helpful friendliness. We were given a room not too far up the stairs (my husband does not find stairs easy) with an amazing view over the town and, better still, two windows looking out onto the belfry tower. Not a room for those who do not like a clock striking the hours and half hours through the night! All was very comfortable and clean, although we felt that the breakfast was overpriced for what was offered. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzyCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed three nights at the beautiful le Beffroi. The setting high in the medieval city is really great. The staff were all wonderful. Our room was tastefully done, comfortable and quiet.
The restaurant is terrific. The service was impeccable and the food was both beautifully presented and prepared, we both thought it was the best seasoned food we had in France. The wine list is excellent as well. We really enjoyed le Beffroi and would come back happily.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nova R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed in this hotel as part of a small tour group. The hotel is clean, the rooms beautiful, and it's in a great location. The restaurant is also a wonderful place for lunch or dinner, the food was fantastic! The staff at the hotel was wonderful - warm and friendly. I would stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaZ_NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Some of my friends have never been to Provence. Where is the best place to start? In Vaison La Romaine. And where is a reliable place to stay? Hotel Beffroi the belfry

-- serene breakfast area
-- great food in the restaurant (I can eat it only once a week, it's so good)
-- friendly staff (Hi, Lise and Natalie!)
-- convenient to meet with the Association to Preserve the Haute Ville aphv.fr
-- the hotel proprietor supports the Old Town association...


We recommend this hotel. We've visited in 1994, 1999, 2006, 2009, 2011 and 2012.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveTLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaison-la-Romaine
0.2 mi away
Hotel Burrhus
Hotel Burrhus
#2 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Logis du Chateau
Hotel Le Logis du Chateau
#8 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
156 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Mas d'Helene
Le Mas d'Helene
#4 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Bastide
Hotel La Bastide
#5 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
21 reviews
3.7 mi away
Domaine de Cabasse
Domaine de Cabasse
#1 of 2 in Seguret
115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
#3 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie le Beffroi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie le Beffroi

Address: 2 rue de l Eveche | Medieval City, 84110 Vaison-la-Romaine, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Vaison-la-Romaine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Vaison-la-Romaine
Price Range: $110 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie le Beffroi 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Beffroi is situated in the centre of the medieval city of Vaison la Romaine. The atmosphere is more of a private home than a hotel. The location provides rest, stunning views, terraced gardens and also a swimming pool overlooking the town. Welcome to Provence !! L'Hostellerie "Le Beffroi" offers you rooms with such comfort that that you forget that you are residing le one of the most beautiful XVI century estates at the heart of the Haute Ville of Vaison la Romaine. The antique furniture and the domineering view of the countryside, the gardens let you imagine that you are in a different time. These surroundings allow you to truly relax and step back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hostellerie le Beffroi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Le Beffroi Hotel Vaison-La-Romaine
Hostellerie Le Beffroi Vaison-La-Romaine, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing