We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay at L'Eveche”
Review of L'Eveche

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Eveche
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at L'Eveche”
Reviewed February 20, 2007

Perfect B&B for a visit to Vaison-la-Romaine and the nearby Cotes du Rhone wineries. Hosts are friendly if a little formal, inn is very clean and breakfast is good. Fans of well decorated places will love all the antiques, books and vintage posters. Plenty of sitting areas for relaxing and views from the rooms are scenic. Best of all the pillows are lush and there are extras. Parking is down the street but you can drop your luggage at the inn and then park the car. Town of Vaison-la-Romaine makes an excellent base for exploring this beautiful area. Roman ruins, a great Tuesday market and several worthwhile restaurants make this one of the better towns in the region. In the winter the smaller towns, though a must see, are dead. Few hotels, restaurants or shops are open so stay in Vaison if visiting in the off season. Looking forward to our next visit to L'Eveche.

  • Liked — Great location, unique decorations.
  • Disliked — Beds no better, or bigger, than any other European hotel.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Steelers126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
110
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colfax California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2006

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel L'Eveche in Mid May and found it to be the best value of any lodging on our trip through Provence. The Medieval part of Vaison is just a perfect romantic place to stay - lively in the day and quiet at night. The Inn has a little terrace draped in ivy and flowers, where breakfast is served with elegance and good coffee. The owners were kind and helpful, our room was clean and spacious and bathroom was spotless. The layout of the inn is confusing, but we learned our way around and all of the stairs, doors, art on the walls and books are part of the charm and character. We were invited to use the internet in the living room, the fridge in the basement and the bikes owned by the Inn. They also gave us good information for touring, answered questions regarding local hikes, best restaurants, and even the best driving route and hill town stops on the way to the Luberon when we left. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cameron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, KS
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2006

My daughter and I stayed at this charming B&B for one night, as we toured the area for wine tasting. It was a bit hard to find, but worth the search. Our adjoining rooms were very nice--good sized with comfortable beds and a view. We shared a bathroom, that although small, had a new, tiled, roomy shower. The common areas included living room, library and wonderful terrace. The proprietors were gracious and warm. We would definitely recommend it to others. (Note: There are narrow stairs, so it may not be convenient for a guest with any walking limitations.)

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Reginaroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2005

My wife and I stayed in this charming hotel for two nights during our two week trip through Provence. Our stay LÉveche was one of the highlights of our trip. We were given a lovely two-bedroom unit with a beautiful view. The hotel is up in the medieval old town. At night, you have the town's quiet medieval lanes and fountains practically to yourself. It's magic. Vaison serves a a great base for exploring the towns and vinyards of the Cotes-du-Rhone. The owners of LÉveche were very nice and helpful. We felt completely at home in their house. The owner even mapped out a driving tour for us that was perfect. He led us to a beautiful small hill-town that isn't even listed in any of the guide books. I strongly recommend this hotel to all lovers of wine, art, romance and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Miamiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2004

Booked 3 nights at L'eveche based on the website and the article in their website from Gourmet Magazine. I was very disappointed on arrival. The house is great, location is great, view from the balcony at breakfast was great but the room was extremely small and the bathroom was disgusting. Mould and soap scum in the shower which also didn't drain properly and ended up standing in water and shampoo up to my ankles and there was hair (not ours) on the bathroom floor. If you are picky about cleanliness in the bathrooms like me, then go somewhere else or wait until they've renovated. Maybe it was just our room with a bathroom in that condition, I don't know. Ended up only staying two nights - couldn't stand another shower in that bathroom!

Helpful?
10 Thank Canger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvkaude, propriétaire at L'Eveche, responded to this review, May 22, 2008
Hello,
I have only just come across this critical comment from 2004 (!) about our Bed and Breakfast in Vaison la Romaine. We are naturally upset that this customer had an unfortunate experience with us. But it might have been better if he or she had told us in person? Aude and I alone are responsable for the cleaning of the rooms. We undoubtedly forgot to rinse the soap off the shower base that day. W apologize for this mistake because, otherwise, the customer seems to have only good things to say about us: "The house is great, the location is great, the view from the balcony at breakfast was great...." If we had known about the dirty shower then and there, we could have corrected the problem immediately, improved the quality of her stay and preserved our pride. Sincerely.

Jean-Loup Verdier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaison-la-Romaine
0.2 mi away
Hotel Burrhus
Hotel Burrhus
#2 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
#1 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostellerie le Beffroi
Hostellerie le Beffroi
#3 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Le Mas d'Helene
Le Mas d'Helene
#4 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Logis du Chateau
Hotel Le Logis du Chateau
#8 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Bastide Bleue
La Bastide Bleue
#2 of 2 in Seguret
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Eveche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Eveche

Property: L'Eveche
Address: 14 Rue de l'Eveche | Cité médiévale, 84110 Vaison-la-Romaine, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Vaison-la-Romaine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Vaison-la-Romaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B in the old bishop's hotel of Vaison la romaine. The guesthouse has 3 rooms and two suites in the old quarter of Vaison la romaine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your L'Eveche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Eveche Hotel Vaison-La-Romaine
L'Eveche Vaison-La-Romaine, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing