We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay In This Town of Roman Ruins”
Review of L'Eveche

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Eveche
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Where better to stay in the famous Roman town of Vaison-la-Romaine than L’Eveche in the medieval quarter of Vaison la Romaine? L’Eveche, almost hidden under the vines is about as authentic of a French B&B you could ever imagine!

First of all, there’s the building, a former bishop’s residence from the 17th century that has been renovated into a series of lovely sitting rooms with 3 bedrooms and 2 suites and a huge dining room and study. Then there are the owners, Aude and Jean-Loup who could not be more charming and dashing if they came right out of a book.

Jean-Loup is intent on making every guest feel perfectly at home and will provide just the right amount of help that you need during your stay. When he gave us a tour of the house, I paid strict attention to the directions to get to/from my room as I envisioned being lost in the endless labyrinth of rooms at L’Eveche. Our room was small, basic and simple, with million dollar views of the Luberon and the old town of Vaison la Romaine.

There are fans, but no air conditioning in the rooms. Vaison la Romaine is a wonderful town that begs to be explored. When I return, I will plan to spend a long weekend here and explore the surrounding hill towns and the Roman ruins. Life is slow here, with market day the highlight of the week. Exactly my pace.

Room Tip: I love the rooms with a view over the town of Vaison-la-Romaine and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggielacoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 173 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I recently enjoyed a visit to Vaison-la-Romaine. While there, we stayed in the old part of the town....up, up, up the hill to L'Eveche. The bed and breakfast really has a lot of personality, not just the building itself, but also Jean-Loupe and Aude who make the stay so pleasant and comfortable. Breakfasts are fantastic and Jean-Loupe and Aude are attentive hosts. Our room had a super comfortable bed and huge bathroom. L'Eveche is also very unique since there is art and books everywhere. So much to see!

L'Eveche is a little hard to find and parking isn't perfect, but a very charming bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTravelers071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed with Aude and Jean-Loup for five nights while I was attending a cooking class with Patricia Wells in Vaison-la-Romaine.

They have a perfectly lovely, welcoming home and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Breakfast was served in the living and dining rooms during our stay, although the terrace is used when the weather is warm.

Our room was spacious, clean and homey, with a large en suite bath.

The location in the Medieval village is very atmospheric, with several nearby dining spots (including the outstanding Bistro du'O) within five minutes. The rest of Vaison is a 10-minute stroll across the Roman bridge.

NB: The streets are VERY narrow, with extremely tight turns. The road to the hotel passes through one ancient arch--take heed if your vehicle is wide or over size. Parking nearby is also a challenge, although ample public lots are located in the vicinity. Those with lots of luggage will need to strategize drop off and pickup at check in and check out.

I'd definitely stay here again, and would recommend L'Eveche to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I originally planned a trip to Vaison la Romaine for two nights and booked with Aude and Jean-Loupe. We ended up extending our stay because we truly never wanted to leave their gorgeous home and gracious service. Not only is the bed and breakfast comfortable and beyond beautiful, our hosts were the most accommodating and thoughtful of those we met in all of our two weeks in France. My husband speaks some French, and Aude and Jean-Loupe were happy to help him when he had questions about the language, as well as to make the best recommendations in the area. When we wanted to bike around the vineyards, and they provided us with the bicycle company, a map they drew us themselves, and towns we should not miss. When we wanted to drive through vineyards to do some tasting, they drew us yet another map and steered us clear of tourist traps. We loved going back at night to this beautiful and peaceful place.

We were also pleased with the location. Staying outside of the main town (it is less than a 5-minute walk) was very refreshing and quiet.

Breakfast on the terrace was a highlight, and for those who complain about an elevator not being present-we found it well worth taking the stairs in order to stay in the most gorgeous setting in Provence. I would highly recommend L'Eveche, and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, should have stayed twice as long. A beautiful property and friendly welcome. Wonderful breakfast and terrace. Much to do and see in the area. I would stay 4 or 5 nights next time.
A bit hard to access and parking is not perfect but the B&B experience and lovely hosts made it a highlight of our trip.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank BRCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

L'Eveche is nestled in the small winding streets of the old town, the best part of Vaison La Romaine. We were greeted by our hosts on arrival, a super welcome.. It didn't feel like a B&B at all, our room was large and full of character. Breakfast is included and they give you a little painted postcard of the house when you leave. I only wish we had spent a little more time there as both the lodging and the town were fantastic. I would definitely recommend if you are looking for something scenic, romantic, really French!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeriLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

An outstanding B&B with charming, spacious accomodations. Modern bathroom!! Wonderful, helpful, English speaking hosts who served breakfast on the terrace overlooking the village below. Our hosts were extremely helpful in helping us plan activities and sightseeing, also helping with dining and future vacation tips.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaison-la-Romaine
0.2 mi away
Hotel Burrhus
Hotel Burrhus
#1 of 7 in Vaison-la-Romaine
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
#3 of 7 in Vaison-la-Romaine
221 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Mas d'Helene
Le Mas d'Helene
#1 of 1 in Crestet
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hostellerie le Beffroi
Hostellerie le Beffroi
#2 of 7 in Vaison-la-Romaine
269 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide de Vaison
Hotel La Bastide de Vaison
#5 of 7 in Vaison-la-Romaine
23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Moulin a Huile
Le Moulin a Huile
#14 of 20 in Vaison-la-Romaine
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Eveche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Eveche

Address: 14 Rue de l'Eveche | Cité médiévale, 84110 Vaison-la-Romaine, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Vaison-la-Romaine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Vaison-la-Romaine
Price Range: $107 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B in the old bishop's hotel of Vaison la romaine. The guesthouse has 3 rooms and two suites in the old quarter of Vaison la romaine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Eveche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Eveche Hotel Vaison-La-Romaine
L'Eveche Vaison-La-Romaine, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing