We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute B&B”
Review of L'Eveche

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Eveche
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in May. Great location; nice, clean rooms; reasonable prices; warm hosts who are very eager to assist with questions. We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank J_and_B_in_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 173 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

Based on recommendations in the Rick Steves Provence guide, we booked at charming L'Evêché, a B&B in the medieval sector of Vaison. It is a lovely old house and the hosts, Jean-Loup and Aude Verdier, are warm and welcoming. They serve the best croissants and pain au chocolat we have tasted anywhere (they have lived in Vaison for 35 years and likely are close with the best bakers).

We stayed in the Bleu room, our friends in Rose. The two rooms sit at either end of a hall and there are no other guests on that floor. Bleu has a very nice view over the old and “new” towns.
Read the TripAdvisor reviews--people rave about L'Evêché and so do we. L'Evêché does not accept credit cards, only cash, so hit the ATMs early.

L'Evêché B&B
14, Rue de l'Evêché - Cité Médiévale
F- 84110 VAISON La Romaine France
t. +33 (0)4 90 36 13 46; 33 - (0)6 03 03 21 42
eveche.free.fr/uk_index.htm
eveche@aol.com

Avoid driving into Vaison’s medieval village, especially from the eastern end of the road (near the Roman bridge). Entering the village that way you’ll encounter many tight spots, difficult turns, and loads of tourists with running kids, making driving hazardous, especially if you have a larger car.

Instead, approach the medieval town from the west, near the end of the longer bridge across the river. Parking is easy on the western road--there are several large lots just before the road narrows, and it is not difficult to wheel bags to L'Evêché from the highest place a car can easily stop. In May there always were spaces for us to park overnight, for free, with no security problems (we left nothing in the car).

Photos: http://faculty.washington.edu/swittet/France2013/

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamWoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We loved our 2 day stay at L'Eviche and wish we had planned for a longer stay. All previous comments regarding the ambiance, location, and charm are right on target. The second night I kept waking up to look out the window at the lighted walls of the ancient town and feeling fortunate to have found such a jewel. Our hosts, Aude and Jean-Loup Verdier, made us feel like guests in their home, right down to a gift of a small sprig of Muguet (Lilly of the Valley) on May 1-traditional gift of a husband to his wife on May Day. Merci to both Jean-Loup and Aude.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katheriner766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at L'Eveche and we immediately felt welcome and at home with a very warm welcome from our hosts!!
The room was comfortable with a typical small but well appointed bathroom. Our only comment is that our mattress seemed a bit old and slanted toward the middle ( we are not large folks). Otherwise, lovely accommodations in an historic and warm home. Breakfasts are elegantly served and a lovely assortment of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, croissants and abundant coffee!!!
Jean-Loupe went out of his way to make us feel welcome and was enormously helpful when our rental car had a flat tire. He sent his charming older son to help us and we truly felt this was an extraordinary courtesy not easily found anywhere!!!!!
Staying in this historic town was a memorable experience and we will long remember the pleasure of our stay at L'Eveche!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sastillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We just returned from almost five weeks in France and L'Eveche was our favorite lodging in 11 of the eleven we stayed in all over the country. We made a circle around the country and loved each place, but Vaison-la-Romaine in the Cite Medievale was just what you imagine France to be. Aude and Jean-Loup Verdier were the most welcoming of hosts as we settled into their beautiful home and our comfortable room upstairs. With two lovely rooms downstairs for guests to enjoy their collection of paintings and antiques it is easy to relax from a day of touring the vinyards. We were fortunate to arrive during the grape harvest and loved seeing the small vinyards and activity. The market in the new village below was our favorite in the four we saw in France. We loved l'Eveche so much that were able to change plans a bit and extend our stay from three to six days. We easily found interesting sites to see and enjoyed just walking on the ancient streets around l'Eveche.

Room Tip: The web site is quite helpful with room selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deertracksColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Provence France offer wonderful food and beautiful wine country. This is an amazing B&B in the old walled village of Vaison la Romaine. It is a short walk down the hill to the newer, more lively portion of the town which is across the old bridge.The old towns are always beautifully lit at night highlighting the amazing architecture and historical sites. This is one of the smaller more peaceful old towns in which we have stayed. We had the entire upper floor apartment of this amazing home. Our suite consisted of a huge bedroom with windows overlooking the town below and the hillside countryside in the distance. There was also a sitting room with balcony and an upper loft with terrace overlooking the rooftops and narrow street below. It would be perfect for a family or longer stay. We only had one evening. This has been the personal home of the owners for years and is filled with wonderful art and antiques. The owners are gracious, welcoming and excellent guides to the area. The food is good and served elegantly on their patio courtyards in good weather. This home was not just a place to stay but a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We loved the upper apartment but was much bigger than we needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ducksinarow-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

If you are going to pick a unique, warm and inviting spot to begin your visit to France and Provence, choose L'Eveche in the medieval village of Vaison-la-Romaine. The hosts, Aude and Jean Loup Verdier have owned this historic home for decades and have obvious pride in welcoming guests. Without exaggeration, we were treated like family from the moment we arrived. Unique village; dramatic location with territorial views; generous breakfast and an abundant amount of help on request. Cozy and warm, complete with library, artwork and fireplace. Who could ask for more? Thanks you, Verdiers!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaison-la-Romaine
0.2 mi away
Hotel Burrhus
Hotel Burrhus
#1 of 7 in Vaison-la-Romaine
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
#3 of 7 in Vaison-la-Romaine
221 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Mas d'Helene
Le Mas d'Helene
#1 of 1 in Crestet
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hostellerie le Beffroi
Hostellerie le Beffroi
#2 of 7 in Vaison-la-Romaine
269 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide de Vaison
Hotel La Bastide de Vaison
#5 of 7 in Vaison-la-Romaine
23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Moulin a Huile
Le Moulin a Huile
#14 of 20 in Vaison-la-Romaine
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Eveche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Eveche

Address: 14 Rue de l'Eveche | Cité médiévale, 84110 Vaison-la-Romaine, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Vaison-la-Romaine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Vaison-la-Romaine
Price Range: $107 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B in the old bishop's hotel of Vaison la romaine. The guesthouse has 3 rooms and two suites in the old quarter of Vaison la romaine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Eveche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Eveche Hotel Vaison-La-Romaine
L'Eveche Vaison-La-Romaine, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing