We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Eveche

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Eveche
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My fiance and I came over from Washington, DC for a cycling tour of Provence. We stayed three nights at L'Eveche with Jean-Loupe and Aude. Both Aude and Jean-Loupe spoke English and made our stay extremely pleasant. Our room overlooked one of the ancient cobblestone roads in the medieval district. With a castle up the hill and town just across the bridge, the location was perfect. Our breakfast each morning was on the balcony overlooking Vaison la Romaine. We couldn't have asked for better hosts or a better location for our first three nights in Provence.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
110
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vaison-la-Romaine, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I started staying at the Eveche in 2001, after seeing a recommendation on Patricia Well’s website. The B&B is located in the very historic 17th century bishop’s home, which has been modernized but has kept all its old charm. Where else can you stay in a gorgeous, restored medieval village, and walk the cobblestone streets through many centuries of history? Access to the modern town is just 5 minutes away, down the hill and across the Roman bridge. English speaking Aude and Jean Loup, your hosts, are charming, intelligent, and thoughtful. The rooms have been tastefully decorated, and include lovely antique furniture. I often recommend the Eveche to family, friends and clients.

Vaison, being the largest archeological site in France, is the perfect spot to explore one of the main sites of Roman France. World class Rhone Valley vineyards are 10-30 minutes away; if you don’t enjoy wine, then explore Seguret, Crestet, Entrechaux, Sablet nearby. Less than one hour away are Avignon and L’Isle sur al Sorgue, and the amazing perched villages of Haute Provence—Brantes, Savoillon, Reilanette, Aurel, the lavender country around Sault—and of course, Mont Ventoux.

Hiking, biking and climbing trails are everywhere and you can easily rent bikes. There are stables near Vaison if you like to ride.

The Tuesday market is so well known that it attracts visitors from all over Provence. Be sure to also check out our well-known chocolate, cheese, and butcher shops. There is a cooking school in day for half day classes, tons of cafes and restaurants. Locals and visitors alike are attracted to the clothing, kitchen and design shops in town.

Room Tip: The room on top with a solarium is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhoneWineLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

The countless other excellent reviews of this fantastic B&B are completely spot on.
Jean-Loup and Aude were very friendly, welcoming and helpful and the overall atmosphere of their home was so warm and inviting. And what an incredible home it is - we absolutely loved everything about it. Located in the center of the old town of Vaison la Romaine was so ideal for exploring this entire village as well as the many surrounding towns and sights throughout Provence. The breakfast served here is very generous with such a great variety. To stay here was a real privilege so we would definitely give it a high recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChitchatCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We took 3 rooms for a couple of days to visit nearby villages, on our way down south. Auden & Jean loupe, the owners were among the warmest hosts I have stayed with in b&b s in France. They ensured a clean room(cleaned daily), great breakfast, and personal care to ensure we do not miss on any of the experiences of Provence. We could use their kitchen, lounge and any other facility even late in the night. My friends, who were first timers to Provence have promised to come back and stay here, and I will continue to recommend this place. The stairs to the first and second floors may be an issue with heavy baggage. There is reserved parking and many restaurants nearby. It's another experience to stay in a place of history.

Room Tip: The Rose room is the biggest !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DhirenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Two wonderful days here, could have spent several more. Jean-Loup was always on hand with a smile to explain or offer recommendations. Rick Steves calls it a mix of art gallery and bookstore, and that's about right. Our room (Vert Jade) had some interesting pieces on the walls, and while the AC didn't come on, it wasn't needed. Breakfasts were great. If you haven't tried creme fraiche on your granola, I recommend it. Jean's restaurant recommendations were right on, especially Auberge la Bartavelle in town. And his advice to reverse Rick Steve's Cotes du Rhone wine road drive was probably a good idea, for us, anyway, since you hit Gigondes early and can pick up info on the rest of the area there.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jfuquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

This B&B was a super location - living in the old Bishop's palace in the medieval city and a short walk into the lower city and Roman ruins. If you drive there, stop at the square with the fountain and walk the remaining distance - 100 m or so. Both Jean-Loup and Aude were extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was small (lower price) but completely adequate because there are common areas on the main floor with the breakfast patio available.

Room Tip: We had the "Jaune" room which was a little cheaper because it was smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryKinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, CO, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

L'Eveche B&B is located in a charming old stone building on a narrow cobble stone street in old town Vaison La Romaine. The rooms are beautifully appointed, clean, spacious, and packed with art. We had two windows in our room with wonderful views of the city and countryside. Our hosts, Aude and Jean-Loop Verdier were very friendly and helpful in giving us tips on what to see along with maps. A great experience!.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronbeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaison-la-Romaine
0.3 mi away
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
#1 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostellerie le Beffroi
Hostellerie le Beffroi
#3 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Burrhus
Hotel Burrhus
#2 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Le Mas d'Helene
Le Mas d'Helene
#4 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Bastide Bleue
La Bastide Bleue
#2 of 2 in Seguret
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Bastide
Hotel La Bastide
#8 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Eveche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Eveche

Property: L'Eveche
Address: 14 rue de l Eveche | Cité médiévale, 84110 Vaison-la-Romaine, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Vaison-la-Romaine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Vaison-la-Romaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B in the old bishop's hotel of Vaison la romaine. The guesthouse has 5 rooms in the old quarter of Vaison la romaine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your L'Eveche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Eveche Hotel Vaison-La-Romaine
L'Eveche Vaison-La-Romaine, Provence, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing